We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey & Yummy. Definitely worth revisiting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa San Pablo B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pablo City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa San Pablo B & B
Save
You added Casa San Pablo B & B to your Saves list
Brgy San Roque, San Pablo City, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Metro Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Homey & Yummy. Definitely worth revisiting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is my second visit to Casa San Pablo and its definitely worth coming back to. Why?

1st - It's not very far from Manila as a weekend getaway (only about 2 hours) and CSB will give you very clear directions on how to go there... so its very convenient. A good alternative to Tagaytay.

2nd - The food is just YUM (at least for me). When we booked our accommodations, its inclusive of lunch, dinner & breakfast. We were worried that we were going to miss our lunch because we were running late so we texted them if they can pack lunch for us. Instead, when we got there they served lunch on our table (with generous servings) and guess what? we finished it all. Food is buffet style so if you love good food, this is the place for you.

3rd - It just makes you feel at home. Whether you're at the dining area, your room, the hammocks/cottages outside... its very homey.

We met the owners again and this time around they shared CSB's vision on making it a destination wedding venue... they now have a Gazebo which they can dress-up and place where you prefer within the CSB grounds.

They also now offer cooking classes (Laguna style dishes) as well as pottery lessons which are great activities to do with your friends/colleagues/ or family. Check out their website for schedules.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for coming back to Casa San Pablo again! It's really the best compliment when our guests come back. We hope next time you can join our Native Cooking Tour. It's so much fun (and educational!). Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
14
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Casa San Pablo and we felt so at home. The place is wonderful and the hospitality of the owner and the staff is incomparable. Sir Boots shares us a lot of stories and we were treated like family. Each room in Casa San Pablo is unique and each nook and corner of the place is interesting. You can just stroll around and wander or borrow one of their bikes and have fun biking around. Nighttime is a delight while you relax on their hammocks and savoring the cool breeze. As for the food, home-cooked goodness and served and we suggest you try their leche flan! It was sooo good! We would definitely go back to Casa San Pablo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about Casa San Pablo. We're so happy the leche flan hit the spot for you. Many of our guests rave about it because it is so creamy. We're also glad you biked around the property, just biking around brings was back to the simple joys in life. We do hope to see you at Casa San Pablo again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Casa San Pablo is a very serene place. We love it there! Food won't make you go crazy, but I guess it's an acquired taste since it's cooked "Laguna-style" as they put it. =) You feel close to nature with the rambutan trees all over the place. You can have them served to you after each meal and buy some for a cheap price. Rambutan is in season between June and August. Staff are very warm and friendly. If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Manila, this is a great place to be. =)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Casa San Pablo offers that exclusive feeling of being in your own property whilst offering the comfort of a bed and breakfast. I remember failing to deposit for our reservation the day before we arrived but still they were so thoughtful to accept us and even gave us the best room. One thing that I won’t forget about this place is the hospitality of the owner Sir Boots. The beauty of the property is just the tip of the iceberg; it’s the owner and the comfort that makes for the whole experience. When we arrived were originally placed in the upstairs room (Room 5) which is fine and perfect already, but while having merienda, Sir Boots greeted us and informed me that he had asked that we be transferred to a lower room (Room 1) which is way better. He had thought it would be beneficial if we transfer because there’s a large group that’s staying next to Room 5 and they might make some noise that night and he don’t want us bothered just in case. We thought that was really kind and sweet. And it was actually a very good decision because I remember having one of the best sleeps that night in Room 1. The following morning he gave us a tour of their private house and showed us some of his art collection. Sir Boots was a very interesting guy. He felt like family to us and honestly, all the other owners I’ve met from previous places I’ve been on fall short of Sir Boots hospitality and kindness. He even gave us a tour of the property and a history of the place and even showed us some of the best rooms. We only stayed here one night and we had difficulty leaving so we opted to extend for a few hours after our check out schedule. And they gladly allowed us to stay in our room without having to pay any additional charges. We were only at Casa San Pablo for one night but it felt like home. We’re definitely going back here soon and will stay for as long as we can. It’s one of the best places we have in the south and I don’t see why you shouldn’t experience Casa San Pablo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Boots was very happy to go out of his way to make you feel at home. We are not always there to reach out to all our guests, but when we do have the opportunity, we like to make sure that we make you feel welcome. It warms our heart to hear from you that our efforts made an impression on you. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We felt most welcome despite the depressing weather which accompanied our trip to Casa San Pablo. An was extremely accommodating and greeted us warmly upon our arrival. She introduced us to her husband Boots who regaled us with how CSP came to be. We were fortunate also to have met the matriarch, Tita Vin who equally treated us like old friends.

The location of CSP is perfect because it's in the heart of San Pablo - easy access to other destinations along the Viaje Del Sol route. They made it more convenient for us by sending detailed directions via email to Ugu Bigyan Pottery, Tito Patis Cafe and Cafe Lago . Since it was based on odometer reading with easy to spot landmarks, it was a breeze driving to these places.

Unfortunately, we weren't able to make a reservation ahead of time, so we had to settle for Room 8, which isn't the best room in CSP because it's located in the main pathway where most guests and staff pass. The food is not pretentious, just very good home cooking but we would have appreciated an "unlimited hot coffee" where breakfast is served instead of requesting for refills.

We plan to return, hopefully in a more cooperative weather, and we would definitely book in one of the better rooms as described in An's "welcome album" each room we were told are provided. We'll also make room for the plants we hope to buy from their greenhouse.

For those of you, who are always disappointed with the kind of B&B you usually find in key destinations, CSP is definitely a lot, lot better starting with the family and staff behind it.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get the casita or room of your choice. The stand-alone casitas at the south side are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. You are right: Room 8 is at a busy area of Casa San Pablo so it is not conducive for just vegging out in the room. We promise to explore ways to improve the privacy level in the room and, while we're still working on that, we will recommend it only for guests who don't mind being at the center of the action. We do hope that when you come back, we can offer you a casita or other rooms in the far end of the property, which are much quieter. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

CSP was the PERFECT venue for our balikbayan family reunion. We had the best time! The rooms were just right- charming and reasonably priced. The grounds were perfect for our young children to explore and run around in. The meals were delicious, varied and plentiful; it was nice not to have to worry about meals for our large group. The staff was incredibly accommodating. CSP gave as a home away from home. Thank you to Boots and his team for making our visit in the Philippines one we will always remember!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We enjoyed having your family over. Your presence warmed our hearts. We are glad you found our rooms charming and that the kids enjoyed the garden. It's families like yours, who are looking for another home away from home, that find the most fun and comfort as Casa San Pablo. We look forward to seeing you again at your next reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The best thing about doing the Viaje Del Sol, as I've recently found out, is that you get to talk directly to the owners and they actually take their time to get to know you. That's how I felt after I traded stories with the owners of Casa San Pablo. They're extremely accommodating and they made me feel at home right away. We didn't stay overnight but we reserved a table for 8 to try their dinner buffet at Php435/head.

The meals were superb except i find the pork ribs (?) too sweet. The place is very homey, and I spent most of my time looking at the different artworks displayed all around the place, even the guest rooms! It's a very relaxing, peaceful and unique place. Great for any occasions like team building, weekend getaway, weddings, birthdays, reunions etc.

Spend the night or two... or more. It will be a time well spent away from the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa San Pablo B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Pablo B & B

Address: Brgy San Roque, San Pablo City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > San Pablo City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Pablo City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Pablo is a bed & breakfast at the heart of San Pablo City, Laguna. It is run by innkeepers devoted to making you experience the hospitality, warmth, and creativity of their hometown. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa San Pablo B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.