We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good room. but not much variety in breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Suites to your Saves list
Discovery Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 ADB Avenue, Ortigas Centre, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
PHP4,800 (PHP)
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pasig
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good room. but not much variety in breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

i m staying currently here. and writing this from one of its room. this place is much better than other around here.
its value from money. room interior is good and so is gym and room service.
but very less option for veg food

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear NITINKATIPN,

Thank you for your post. We appreciate your comments about our rooms, our gym and
room service.

We will share your comments about adding vegetarian dishes in our menu with the chef and see how we can add these to our usual offers.

We look forward to welcoming you at Discovery Suites very soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    120
    46
    15
    12
See reviews for
85
32
13
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
qc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent new year's weekend in this hotel with family (dec 30-jan 1). We occupied two junior suites and were given a room facing the Podium. Enjoyed the view specially during new year's eve fireworks display as we can see the fireworks all over the metro. Though one of the suites was quite small compared to the other suite given to us it was clean and not cramped.
Breakfast was ok but not something you will look forward to. But the staff were very attentive to the guests needs. Same thing with the hotel staff. They are very courteous and helpful, unlike in other hotels I've stayed in.
Location was great as it is very near the malls. Plus they even had New Year's Mass service at the Penthouse which was really convenient for us.
Minor downside were: that the elevator was too slow specially when there are a lot of guests. It took about 5-10 minutes of waiting for the lift. Also, you could smell the cigarette smoke while you are at the hall.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Corner suites are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Caramelmacchiato,

Thank you very much for your post. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

You will be pleased to know that changes are underway that will greatly improve the breakfast experience in the hotel. Issues concerning the slow elevators have been resolved and will not be a problem when you return.

Yours sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I have just left after three nights on a business trip. I have stayed at discovery in the past and if I had a choice again, I will not return.

The staff are typical of most Manila hotels, always calling you sir and checking on your well being, thus hard to fault. But the facilities are not good. There was a rattling noise in my room, the same noise that was in a similar room two years earlier - my advice is it avoid rooms overlooking ADB avenue. The plumbing needs fixing and the Internet unreliable.

For me the biggest disappointment was the breakfast. When compared with other similar priced hotels it was not good. No fresh eggs mad limited options for the health conscience.

I must say the gym is above the standard you would normally expect. It has real weights and good machines.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sam S,

Thank you for your constructive inputs about Discovery Suites. With regards to the state of our rooms, you may be pleased to know that the renovation of our guestrooms is ongoing. We have been implementing a “roll-out” of our accommodations called the Serendipity Suites, for quite some time now and a lot of our regulars are very happy about this development. We hope that we can welcome you again at Discovery Suites and book our renovated accommodations. About breakfast, our kitchen team is now on top and devising ways and measures to make this a much more pleasurable experience. The results have been more than encouraging.

Yours sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago/Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I probably shouldn't write this review before I've checked out, since things could still go wrong, but I'll amend it if that happens.
I have been very impressed with this hotel since before I checked in almost three weeks ago. I am here in MNL on a short-term project that has me working overnight hours at a call center about 15 minutes away. I emailed requesting a quiet room away from elevators and other noise since I knew I would be sleeping during the day. They responded immediately, assuring me that they would do whatever they could to minimize noise. I'm in a suite, at the corner, and I have had no issues with noise whatsoever. That's partly because of the excellent design of the suites, which have a back bedroom, with a door that closes, and a wall that baffles hallway noise. Nice, well-equipped small kitchen, for those who might want to cook, a TV in the living room and bedroom, tub and shower in the nicely tiled bathroom, and separate a/c for living and sleeping areas. In short, the suite is perfect for a long-term stay.
I have used their in-house transportation to get to work at night with pickup every early morning, and the drivers are always on time. I've gotten to know many of them, and they have been a source of history, local culture and politics, and helped with my Tagalog. Front desk staff have been extremely helpful, and everyone in the place addresses me by name every time I see them. I've used the laundry, and one shirt that didn't come back had been returned to the laundry to get a stain out---that had been in it for years--and they got it out! The room service people know my schedule and are careful not to make noise around my room or interrupt during my daytime sleeping. Perhaps the best example of their service is the early morning hostess at their breakfast buffet. One of the other waitresses approached me with a coffee pot, and she jumped between us, put up her hand and said, "No coffee---Mr. Greg has to sleep in the day and can't have coffee in the morning". Excellent!
So, while I've been working long hours and living like a vampire, I have been as comfortable as anyone can be not living at home, and have nothing but praise for the staff and facilities here at Discovery! I guess I forgot to mention that the Podium mall across the street has many restaurants, including a very good 24 hour restaurant, and there is a 7-11 and a Starbucks right outside the entrance. Very convenient.
P.S. To the reviewer I saw who complained because this wasn't the best place for a party, if I had been staying next door to him, I would have called the police. This is a business traveler, long-term hotel, not a party flop house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here because Shangri-La and Oakwood were fully booked during a work trip. I think this place is okay, but it's certainly not a hotel for foreigners on business trips, nor is it for tourists that aren't looking to sort of rough it. The corporate rate I paid here was about $130 which is way overpriced for what you get here. The staff were very nice, of course, but the rooms are so old and outdated. I can imagine when it was first opened it was wonderful. But, no renovations seem to have been made. My one-bedroom suite looked okay at first glance. However, the entire living room smelled of curry, as though someone else had cooked curry there for several weeks (or months) - it seeped into the walls and to the air. The bedroom did not smell as strongly, but I had to blast the air conditioning as soon as I got in and close the door between the bedroom and the suite to be able to sleep....because of the terrible smell, I did not spend any time in the hotel room except to sleep. I luckily only had to stay there 2 nights and got to check back into my original hotel. The breakfast was also pretty gross, with very little selection. The yogurt I had was very sugary, and the other options did not look appealing. It looks like most of the hotel now is domestic travelers visiting Manila on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Discovery Suites for 2 weeks over the Christmas period and the high standard of the rooms (recently renovated I think) was matched by great, friendly service from all the staff (special mention to Robert and to Marge but really all the staff were great). The location is pretty good across from Podium and a stone's throw away then to Mega Mall. The breakfasts were suited our family well from a 3 year old up although the only knock would be on the Filipino breakfast meats (the longa was good but the tocino was average and I was dying for some tapa). I would definitely recommend this as a base in Manila. The pool suffers from being too much on the cool side but the gym is well stocked with helpful trainers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We rented out a 3 bedroom suite to celebrate a special occasion with some cousins and spent $300+ for the room. We were about 12 people in the room, having drinks and talking, with only 8 people staying over. We were called because of a noise complaint around 10pm, so we toned it down, although we were in no way particularly noisy. However, what we were very disappointed in was how we were dealt with by management.

Upon checkout the next day, we were told that we'd have to pay for the extra few people because the 3 bedroom suite was only good for 6 people, and that was fine. But then we felt that Ray, the manager was trying his best to charge us more as punishment. They made us pay corkage for the vodka and wine we brought in, which I find unusual for a hotel, as well as numerous little things, like a parking slot which was supposed to come free with the room.

One of the worst things he tried to charge us for was a bed sheet because someone had a nose bleed in the middle of the night. I'm sure bloody sheets from menstruation and other reasons are common but they wanted us to pay for the entire bed sheet worth 3000 pesos. When we refused because obviously, a dab of blood should wash off easily, they wanted us to pay for the laundry, which is stupid because hotels are supposed to take care of laundering on their own.

Basically, we felt like we were treated very poorly, especially for the luxury and treatment we were expecting to get from paying for their expensive suite. If we were having a full blown party with loud music and everything, it would have been expected that they'd be angry, (although we weren't a lot of people and we weren't particularly rowdy or anything), but the backhanded way they were trying to overcharge us was just wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Suites

Address: 25 ADB Avenue, Ortigas Centre, Pasig, Luzon 1600, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pasig
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 45 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and 30 minutes from Makati City, Discovery Suites is centrally located in the dynamic Ortigas Business District. It is also within walking distance from the Asian Development Bank, BPO companies and upscale shopping malls. The all-suite property features One, Two and Three-Bedroom accommodations, each furnished with modern hotel conveniences such as air-conditioning, cable TV, iPod docking stations, internet connection and fully-furnished kitchenettes. Other amenities include an exclusive gym, a business center, meeting and function rooms, 24-hour security, laundry, car rental and housekeeping services. Restaurant 5 offers food fare for casual dining, the award-winning 22Prime features U.S. Prime streaks, and the Serendipity Lounge offers cocktails and relaxing lounge entertainment with a panoramic view of the city. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided in all restaurant outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Pasig
Discovery Suites Metro Manila/Pasig, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.