We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“used to be better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Manila to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Manila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay, Luzon 1305, Philippines (Formerly Traders Hotel, Manila)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
san francisco, ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“used to be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

been staying here since the 90s when it was holiday inn. for last close to 20 yrs been coming back for main reasons : close to airport, inexpensive, great health spa. some 5 yrs ago it was renovated to look more upscale but the rooms are somewhat old. staff usually friendly and fast. i stay in traders club floors and get free breakfast, internet and lounge. i never eat in the restaurant which is so-so. this place could be better but it's ok for short stays. the health spa has declined. hot tub been broken for 8 months now. but massages still the best. no prostitutes hanging in lobby but loads of middle aged men from all over the world bring their filipina gilrfriends here for the night and you see them at breakfast. a little unsightly to see esp in morning.

  • Liked — close to airport, rates, spa massages, club lounge
  • Disliked — rooms a little shoddy, boring neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    183
    55
    21
    16
See reviews for
57
95
79
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed here for a week - both in a standard room and then upgraded to a suite. Hotel is pretty basic and could do with some refurbishment. Staff were always nice although the receptionists weren't totally gifted in the cranial area. Rooms were clean and functional. Cerainly Ok for the business traveller - having said that next time I have found a much better hotel at a quarter of Trader's rates - but thats down to my (new) local knowledge. Food was good although expensive. Hardly ever ate at the hotel though - food in local restaurants is excellent and cheap (I never spent more that $8) and local beer is <$1 per bottle. If you need a base that is central and clean, Traders is OK.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

My recent stay in your hotel TRADERS MANILA...was nothing but disaster. I've been to hundreds of hotels and therefore know what service to expect. BAD SERVICE was all i got. The receptionists were mean and condecending to one of my muslim colleagues. Not giving proper respect to her title of Doctor and just calling her by name is just one of the blunders! Imagine!

BUT my main complaint is they made me wait OVER 5 hours for a room transfer request (which they never assissted me anyway). Granted it was not allowed or nothing was clear, someone should have called me sooner or from time to time and explained instead of dodging my calls and "connecting" me to another department that don't answer anyway! NOBODY COORDINATED WITH ANYBODY!

And the rooms we stayed in was ugly.. BAD PLUMBING AND RATTY FURNITURE ... they need to refurbish everything... by the way all this inconveniences happened with my 1 year old daughter with me.. she was so sleepy and tired and cranky and i couldn't properly put her to bed because of the stupid room transfer. Nobody even offered to help me.

I am really really disappointed. I did not expect this treatment from a 4 star hotel...I am still shaking thinking about that horrible experience. This is the FIRST 4 star hotel ive seen that acted like a 1 star motel probably would. Im so upset that i cannot elaborate on the story ...I called them a million times on the phone following up my request that never came. Bribing me with HOURLY complimentary fruit baskets do not make me less upset. I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO YOUR HOTEL AND WILL TELL ALL MY FRIENDS AND RELATIVES...DOCTORS AND ALL!!!

They should be reprimanded.. This is the kind of service that makes bad business!

  • Liked — free internet access
  • Disliked — everything else!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea_mastellone, General Manager at Hotel Jen Manila, responded to this review, May 19, 2008
Thank you for giving us this opportunity to reply to the issues raised recently by one of the Trip Advisor’s users.
The standard greeting of our receptionist is “good morning, Sir/Madam or Mr. followed by the guest’s surname. If they are aware of their title, the guests are greeted by their designation, Hence, this is the first time we received such a complaint. Our staff is well trained in the aspect of courtesy. We strictly adhere to our core values and respect is one of them. We are constantly reinforcing the greeting standards to our team members.

The thorough investigation we conducted, reveal that our guest raised her request for a room transfer to the host company coordinator and not directly to our Manager on duty nor to any other hotel personnel. We learned that it took a while for the company coordinator to respond to her request because he had to seek the approval of higher management which we learned later, was disapproved. Hence, our receptionist was unaware of the situation until a few hours have passed. After receiving her complaint, our Manager on duty acted upon her request immediately.

Regarding the state of the rooms and furniture, while it is true that the hotel has already mapped out a full renovation plan which is actually ongoing, some rooms have not been fully refurbished yet. Having stated that, we do however try our utmost to maintain our facilities. The plumbing problem, on the other hand, has already been rectified.

Traders Hotel Manila would like to reassure Trip Advisor’s users that we take all matters concerning guest complaints very seriously. We welcome criticisms as opportunities to improve our product and services.

With best regards

Andrea Mastellone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Very nice place in a central location. The service here was excellent, the rooms were clean and well appointed. We didn't try the house dining options, but they looked very very good. It's a short drive to the historic part of the city and a very short drive to the huge 'mall of asia'. Also close by are the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the Coconut Palace. A very good choice for a short stay and an excellent choice for any business traveller.

  • Liked — Great Service, good location, very clean, well known.
  • Disliked — hard to find much to complain about.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Stayed there many times and have never been disappointed. Great views! The rooms are also clean and spacious. OK, drainage may play up now and again (when you're having a shower), but that can't be blamed on the hotel. Staff are most courteous without being servile. 10/10 for these guys. Great location for the Cultural Centre/Marina/restaurants and a leisurely stroll/fast cab ride to Roxas Blvd where you can enjoy live bands performing.

Pics/vids to follow once I get the hang of tripadvisor :¬)

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

I will never stay at Traders Hotel again! The hotel has a mildew smell and mildew on some areas of the hotel as well. The bathtubs were clogged and had rust around the metals. My children even found roaches on the walls. The hotel lobby is swarming with prostitutes waiting for business men. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, but it doesn't make up for the unpleasant experience staying at Traders Hotel.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The roaches and the smell of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall Islands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I have been to the Philippines six times now. I have stayed every where from Baguio to Mindanao, and I usually can say good things about all accomodations I have stayed at..except for this one. First off the room..no light bulbs in two lamps, towels frayed at the edges as if they were 10yrs old, the phone in the room did not work and the help in this matter was dismal. I waited over an hour for my luggage after check in, then went down on my own to the bell hop area and brought my own bags up. Finally, I noticed in the morning that there was what appeared to be blood from previous guest smeared on the corner of the white bed comforter..it was not mine. I came back to a made up room, with the bed made up with the same comforter..once again bloodied in the same spot.

Never, I mean Never even in distance provinces have I ever stayed in such a shotty hotel. What is really perplexing is that this is a shangri-la affiliate. I have stayed in their hotels all over Asia..and they are wonderful. This is an embarassment to that organization.

  • Liked — The coffee shop out side
  • Disliked — Blood on the comforter
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Manila

Address: 3001 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay, Luzon 1305, Philippines (Formerly Traders Hotel, Manila)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes from Ninoy Aquino International Airport, Traders Hotel, Manila offers 312 spacious rooms and suites with panoramic views of Manila Bay and the Roxas Boulevard. The hotel is adjacent to the capital’s premier conference and exhibition centers, a few minutes from Manila’s finest leisure, entertainment and shopping districts and a short drive to the business district of Makati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jen Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Manila Hotel Pasay
Traders Hotel Pasay
Hotel Jen Manila Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.