We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Cafe

Marriott Cafe
Manila Marriott Hotel, 10 Newport Boulevard, Pasay, Luzon 1309 , Philippines
2 988 9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 302 Restaurants in Pasay
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We had breakfast buffet at Marriott Cafe recently. Though food choices were less compared to other hotels, nevertheless, they're still delicious; they have Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, and western food. They had a cozy ambince so somehow it was a relaxing morning. I find the service great as we dont need to call the server to give us coffee. They immediately approach us as soon as we took our seats, and ask what drinks we like, automatically refill our coffee cups and they would remove our used plates so as not to crowd the table.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    43
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A pleasant dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I tried the lunch buffet last September and the dinner buffet last Dec 8. On both occassions, I was celebrating and it's good to know that the food was consistent. I am a regular fan of buffets as from time to time I want to go on a food binge. The choices in the buffet here are varied, i.e. Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Filipino etc. They have a teppanyaki station as well. Seafood was plenty, i.e. crabs, lobsters, prawns, mussels. However, I didn't see oysters during my last visit. Dessert options were diverse, i.e. from fresh fruits to cakes, pastries and gelato.
Drink of the month came with a cute giveaway, a smiling elf stuff toy dressed up for Christmas. My food experience was indeed pleasant. The next time, I will try the other Marriott Restaurnat, i.e. the Cru Steakhouse which is just around the corner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast buffet. They offer international fare so there's something for every body and every age.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I appreciate that they offer other foods or drinks that are not on the buffet spread, like "buko juice" served in real coconut husk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Awesome staff - Too much fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) is always great. The staff is excellent. But the buffet has way to much fish and seafood. It is hard to find something nice on Friday or Saturday except fish and if you don't like seafood you are a little bit lost.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The best prime rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

For my birthday dinner with my son, he suggested that we try Marriott's Resort World Manila buffet. The food choices are not as wide as Circle's but the price is considerably lower. It has about the same number of dishes as Paseo Uno but Marriott's Cafe has more space between tables. It has the usual open kitchen theater, chocolate fountain, Japanese food, Asian and Western fare, seafood, fresh fruits, salads,and sinful desserts. It has more gelato and ice cream options than the other buffets.However, Marriott's prime rib seems to be the best we've had; it is definitely better than Circles, Paseo Uno and Hyatt's.

The surprise of the evening was a birthday cake with a single candle and the waiters and waitresses singing happy birthday as they brought the cake to our table. I asked my son how they knew it was a birthday celebration and he recalled that when he made a reservation, he was asked if the dinner was to celebrate a special event -- a birthday, an anniversary, etc. He told the cafe staff that it was a birthday celebration for his mom. I touched by Marriott's act of kindness. It was a small rectangular cake with icing and all and we asked the waiter to kindly pack it for us.

I must say that our buffet dinner at Marriott's was a success and we shall return for the Sunday brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marriott Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Marriott Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.