We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shogun Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shogun Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Shogun Suite Hotel
2867 Zamora Street Rotonda, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I just needed a place for a night before catching an early flight. Free airport pick up. Nothing special but ok for the night. Elevator and air conditioner. Private bathroom. Staff were all pleasant. Manila is the kind of city that the less time spent there the better.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    54
    20
    15
See reviews for
27
45
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The 'Shogun Suite Hotel' in Pasay City,Metro Manila is situated in Zamora Street which is a side street situtated around 50 metres away from the busy EDSA highway with its two light rail stations(Taft Avenue & EDSA stations) from where frequent train services operate to most parts of Manila. Both these stations are connected to the Metro Point shopping mall which has an entrance situated adjacent to the 'Shogun Suite Hotel' in Zamora Street and this is a medium sized shopping centre containing many eating establishments and there are around three or four floors comprising of all kinds of shops ranging from chemists to mobile telephone repairers and clothing outlets,and one of the entrances to this mall is located virtually next to the hotel's main entrance in Zamora Street.
In the streets outside the mall everywhere is extremely busy with a multitude of shops,banks and other businesses to be found, with great numbers of pedestrians walking here there and everywhere!

My wife and myself decided beforehand to stay at the 'Shogun Suite Hotel' for three nights during mid January due to its proximity to the airport & bus stations and to allow us the opportunity to explore Manila prior to travelling north to Baguio City to visit my wife's family a few days later on an eight hour bus journey starting from the 'Victory Liner' bus station on the EDSA highway which is around half a mile away from the hotel.

We booked our room on a bed & breakfast basis through the hotel's own website(paying 5700 PESOS/£80 GBP for 3 nights) which was simplicity itself, and we considered that their rates were most reasonable considering all the facilities which were provided together with the hotel's most convenient and central location, and we availed ourselves of the hotel's airport pick up service which was free(although a reasonable charge was made for taking returning guests back to the airport) and which turned out to be an efficient service.

We were very pleased to discover that we had made the right choice and had chosen the 'Shogun Suite Hotel' for our Manila base as our en-suite fourth floor room(No.408)was clean and most comfortable with all the facilities to be found that are generally expected of hotel rooms nowadays being provided and which were of a high standard too - even slippers were provided in our room. There was no need to get out of bed to switch the lights on and off, as there was a lighting control panel by the bedside controlling all the bedroom lighting, and a remote control television was provided as well as a fridge containing chilled soft drinks and beers priced at 50 pesos a time which was all to the good. Wi-Fi facilities were provided as well.
Two lifts provided access to the 4th floor.

A breakfast buffet was served between 6am and 10am and this was of a very good standard with plenty of choices available and which set you up well for the day's sightseeing to follow.
We chose to eat in eat the hotel in the evenings at the pool cafe/restaurant which was situated on the 8th floor of the hotel underneath the hotel's swimming pool(the water of which was quite warm when I dipped my hand in one evening)on the roof which gave splendid views all over Manila.
Our meals there were varied and tasty,and once again proved to be excellent value for money.

Every member of the staff was courteous and extremely helpful to us during our stay,and as we enjoyed our short stay so much we did in fact stay for an extra night which the hotel arranged for us quickly and efficiently..

The 'Shogun Suite Hotel' although not a four star hotel is nonetheless a jolly good budget hotel offering comfortable rooms together with good food,courteous service and high security. Should you be a budget traveller much like myself, I am certain that you will be very pleased with the high standards to be found at this exceptional and reasonably priced city centre hotel which is most certainly one of the best hotels that I've ever come across within its price bracket.

++++ Highly recommended ++++

Room Tip: There are differing prices for rooms - obviously the more you pay,the better room you get. We had R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tjome, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

ok but be aware that the hotel looks greater than it is on hotels.com, agoda or booking.com.
Simple place, nothing special, ok pool - after all this is a city hotel.
Recommendable if you want a nice price hotel near NAIA airport - maybe to have a day shopping in Manila or spend the night before you go further to your next destination

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just an average hotel for backpackers. Price for a standard room on a promo rate is ok but buffet breakfast with salad and self-service coffee is a plus points. Will recommend to friends on a tight budget. Very accessible to a mall with convenience store, pharmacy and shops to eat. Near is the MRT and LRT stations as well for easy access to Makati Mall, which is just two stops away from Taft MRT station.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little confusing with small passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located next to MRT station, and it is very easy to go to Malls.
The rooms were clean and big enough for us.
When we arrived, we waited for someone to accomodate us, but all the staff were busy doing their own thing!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

First stay, chose because of closeness to airport. Price was good, had promo for 10% off during Xmas, Included breakfast which was pretty good,choice of Filipino style or vegetable omelette which was good. Finally got a decent room after looking at 3 different rooms on different floors. !st room on the 7th floor smelled a combination of old, musty and smoke, plus loud music from outside. 2nd room on the 6th floor was noisy from the street noise. Chose another room on the 6th floor that was quiet, room seemed a little more modern and fresher feel and smell. Was disappointed with their airport shuttle service. They had mentioned they only do pickups and don't take people to the airport, as was my case. I personally don't see what the difference is, in order to pick someone up, they need to go to the airport anyway and then come back. Same if they dropped me off at the airport and then had to come back, i think more of a marketing thing for them. They also said the night before they would arrange a taxi for me the following morning. So, of course when morning came and i finished my breakfast, i asked for the taxi.. But they had not got me one as i had requested. One of the bellboys went outside and looked for one as i was checking out, but to no avail. He even had the balls to tell me to go down the street and get one for my myself! Very bad idea to tell your guests that, so i had tow and carry my luggage down the street to the corner to get a taxi on my own!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we were not able to have a good nite sleep because the ac unit was creating an irritatating sound. hotel needs to check facilities regularly...we complained to the front desk all they said was we are sorry. the best they could have done was give an extra complimentary breakfast to compensate for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shogun Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shogun Suite Hotel

Address: 2867 Zamora Street Rotonda, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shogun Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shogun Hotel Pasay
Shogun Suite Hotel Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shogun Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.