We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good 'first time'....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coral Way Ave, corner Seaside Blvd, Pasay, Luzon 1308, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not so good 'first time'....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall it was a good experience, the service team is very accommodating, helpful, friendly and courteous, it makes you fell at home right away.

The room we had for 2 nights is spacious with 2 queen size beds and a high ceiling, with enough entertainment facilities and a nice toilet and bath with a big shower area.

Conveniently located near the biggest mall in Manila, the Mall Of Asia (I’m not a mall person but my spouse loved this), and there’s a church nearby that we were able to go on a Sunday service during our brief stay.

Likes

…it’s clean.

….the hot and cold water dispenser at the lift lobby, which is very convenient any time of the day and night. The availability of ice dispenser on every other floor is also a plus.

…complimentary breakfast is excellent.

…the gentleman on duty who attended to us when we arrived at around 2am of June 1st was very helpful and kind to provided me with some very useful information most especially regarding late check-out which he said we can do it by 1pm on the day of our flight, but I found out later that he failed to take note that I’m going to avail of it.

…getting a taxi is quite easy.

…the availability of things like flat iron and ironing board when you need it.


Dislikes

…it’s a bit pricey.

…no cups for the use of hot water.

…we were not able to avail our second day breakfast because of a long queue, there was a marathon that Sunday and lots of hotel guests are participants on the said event and that morning everyone is heading to the breakfast buffet to eat. Events like that doesn’t happen everyday, the management could have extended the 6-10am breakfast hours to accommodate more guests. And probably one reason for the long waiting time is that guests are staying longer during breakfast because the lobby and the restaurant is the only area where you can have a free access to Wifi to connect to the internet.

…during the check-out day at around 11:30 while I’m packing our things I called the front desk to inform them that I’ll be checking out at 1pm that Sunday as per arrangement made with the gentleman during our check-in. The lady informed me that there is no such arrangement made and I have to check out by 12pm otherwise I will be charged by half of the regular day rate. I was surprised as I’m very confident and sure that the 1pm check out arrangement was made upon our check-in. I’m sure that I wouldn’t be ready to check-out by 12, so I asked the lady if I could then make such arrangement and she said no, as the next occupant will move in by 2pm. She then gave me until 12:30 to be packed, at this point I’m starting to get upset so I told her to stop wasting our energy arguing about it because it’s not my fault in the first place that the gentleman from yesterday failed to take note of it. She said she will call me back but the call never came. I decided to make a second call to the front desk, and this time I was speaking to the ‘other’ lady on duty. I told her about my concern, and surprisingly she quickly said ‘no problem sir’ and that I can check out at 1pm.

…twice we asked the front desk for massage booking, twice the front desk officer told us they will call back to check the availability of therapist, twice, the call never came.

…the drain of the shower in our room is clogged and it will take a while to drain the water, and the bowl cover keeps on falling.


Improvement in the following areas should be made:

…free Wifi access should be made available on all floors of the hotel.

…local calls, while it’s not that expensive @ php15/call, should be free of charge, most hotels nowadays don’t charge them.

…the toilet paper dispenser (it’s impossible to reach them while sitting), should be mounted in a proper place. It could have been better if it is placed at the apron of lavatory counter by the side of the water closet where you can reach it with ease.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on the right side facing Coral Way Street has a view of construction sites on both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your very recent stay with us. It nice to know that generally you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to notice what Microtel is all about. Microtel is about providing clean, comfortable, convenient and safe accommodations to all our guests. We provide the bare essentials like a comfortable and clean room as well as a hearty breakfast. It is also with deep concern to know about your negative experience with our front desk people. We apologize for these and rest assured that we will look into it accordingly. We value your comments as these will help us improve on our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in Microtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    262
    166
    51
    25
See reviews for
225
149
49
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koror
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were on our way from Palau to the UK and had an overnight stop over in Manila. This hotel came recommended and so we booked it on line.
Not the closest accommodation to the airport. It took around 20 min to half an hour to get there In heavy Friday night traffic (still very busy at 10:00 pm). If you are going to be late recommend ringing ahead prior to arrival. Had no problems with Reception and we were in our room within 15 mins after arrival. The room was ok although there seems to be a thing with some hotels in Manila with air conditioners. They do the job but ....so noisy! Unfortunately there is no other ventilation so you have to put up with it. There is a "fun park" across from the hotel which was still open when we arrived. We were up on the eleventh floor so we could not hear it however it may have been noisier on the lower floors. There is major building works going on across the street and although there was no construction going on while we were there, if you were in the hotel for an extended holiday once again it may be noisier on the lower floors. The room was clean and had most of the bits you get in hotels (no ironing board or iron for quick touch ups). The bathroom was clean and fairly well maintained. The beds in our room were hard and the pillows soft. Not a good night's sleep for us.
Breakfast was ok with a buffet available in the restaurant located on the ground floor. We thought they must have run out of space inside the restaurant as the servery was located just off the reception area. Western style breakfast (eggs and bacon) available or you can go the full on Asian style meal with fish, rice, veg.
Overall no major issues with the hotel and it was ok for the price and overnight transitting.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors to see the view of the Bay and avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your very recent stay with us. We are happy that generally you had a pleasant experience during your visit. We appreciate you taking notice of the cleanliness of our room and its maintenance. We take pride in our cleaning standards and we strive to provide consistently clean accommodations in all our properties. We are in a generally peaceful environment even with the fun park and ongoing construction near the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in Microtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is strategically located near the premier mall in Manila the Mall of Asia (MOA). The hotel has the Best view of Manila Bay on its higher floors choose the Sunset view rooms. The double room with two beds is ideal for a Family of 4 persons. The hotel front desk and room service staff is good and accommodating willing to help on your needs and queries. The complimentary breakfast buffet is excellent the menu changes in a daily basis which differentiate its breakfast service compare to other hotels. The water dispenser per floor and the hand sanitizer gel are good complimentary items.
The area for improvement is to provide free Wifi per floor. So that customer need not go down at the hotel lobby or go to poolside. I believe if hotel management will provide free Wifi per floors the lobby will not be crowded with customers browsing.
Keep up the good service. Kudos!

Room Tip: Choose the Sunset room in higher floors for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your stay with us last April. It is nice to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are happy that you appreciated what our location has to offer. We at Microtel strives hard to pick the ideal location for our properties. We would like to ensure that all our guest will have a convenient and comfortable stay. Your comment with regards to our food and beverage service will be passed on to our restaurant team. We would like to offer as much variety in our breakfast buffet to enhance the experience of guests especially for those who are staying for more than one night. We value your comments as these will make us be consistent in our service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I recently booked a 1 night stay for myself and my family (3 rooms in total). The location is perfect, close enough to the airport that traffic isn't an issue, it's a short walk to Mall of Asia and right next to an amusement park with plenty of restaurants on the coastline. The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast spread was fairly good too. Some slight downsides were that the AC units are a bit on the noisy side, some complimentary bottled water in the rooms would be welcome, the wifi is extortionately priced and the a la carte dining wasn't that great, but with the mall nearby, that shouldn't really be a worry anyway.

Room Tip: Choose a corner or sunset view room, the city view room just looks over a dirty canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your stay with us. It is nice that you had a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overall good experience with exception of restaurant cashier (1st occassion she couldn't be found and then no change; 2nd occassion no change; 3rd occassion gave wrong change; 4th occassion no change). No coffee/tea or cups in room. Hot/cold water dispenser in hallways but water so hot it melted a plastic bottle (kids could easily be scalded). Except for the cashier and the water and coffee issue this was a good place to stay and quite accessible to everything. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your very recent stay with us. It is nice to know that aside from the restaurant cashier and water dispenser concern, that you had a pleasant stay with us. We would like to apologize for the experience you had in the restaurant. It is with deep concern to know that it happened several times. Rest assured that we already informed our restaurant manager to make corrective actions accordingly. Our water dispensers in all floors has warning labels as a precaution to all users. We value your comments as this will help us improve on our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in Microtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed there May 24, 2013

The people in the room, nextdoor were partying & drinking
Unfortunately the hotel had cardboard thick walls...
I made my firtst complaint to the front desk at 2am
Followed by a couple more...
But the partying continued, the hotel staff was not able to do anything,
Finally at 4am the party stopped, maybe ran out of booze,
That was the time i was able to sleep....
I had a sleepless night...
Unless you sleep like a log, better think twice
The Manager Mr.Cid was good kind enough to
Make ammends after a few days,
They offered me a complimentary stay
Would you take the offer?


Theodore Ong

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your very recent stay with us. Again, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We admit that our team could have handled the situation in a much better way. Is our responsibility to provide a peaceful and quiet accommodation to all our guests. Rest assured that we have called the attention of all concerned for us to do better and prevent such incidents from happening again. We would like to inform you as well that this is an isolated incident and does not reflect the overall atmosphere in the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in Microtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for one night so that we could be close to the airport. It's OK as far as airport hotels go and you are close to the Mall if you want to shop. The food however is very poor (we had breakfast and dinner) so we would recommend eating at the mall. Unfortunately there were lots of flys in this hotel and we found this particularly bad in the restaurant - why can't they use one of the blue light machines instead of letting us put up with fly’s landing on our food?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelMallofAsia, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your stay with us last April. We have taken note about your concern with our food and beverage service as well as the flies in the restaurant. Although we have a regular pest control system in place, we will use your observation to review our pest control procedures. It is nice to know that you appreciated what our location has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in Microtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia

Address: Coral Way Ave, corner Seaside Blvd, Pasay, Luzon 1308, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This economy class hotel is convenient to a myriad of popular tourist sites in Manila. The hotel offers 150 clean and comfortable rooms that are adorned with modern amenities such as chiropractic approved mattresses, color television and cable channels, window seating for relaxation, built-in desk and furniture and wireless Internet access. Guests will also find a restaurant and outdoor pool which offer a perfect place to relax after a long day of exploration. The Microtel Hotels & Resorts Mall of Asia is the perfect property for guests that want quaint accommodation in a prime location with signature Microtel quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Manila Mall Of Asia Hotel Pasay
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Manila/At Mall Of Asia Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manila/At Mall of Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.