We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to go for a few hours, to pack and shower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sogo

Hotel Sogo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sogo to your Saves list
Hotel Sogo
F. B. Harrison Street | On EDSA, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
Malveira, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A place to go for a few hours, to pack and shower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there twice, once for 5h on a drive-in executive garage/room (no vacancies on the others), and a 2nd time for 3h on a premium room. The first time it was after a long bus ride and before a flight, and the 2nd time, just before a long haul flight, to return home.
As for cleanliness, it needs a huge improvement - the linen and towels were clean and smelled good, but the bathroom and the floor, in both times, were next to bearable.
The staff was efficient and competent, with average friendliness - this is understandable, as they have no time to be friendly with the number of people checking in and out, and they keep doing bows (japanese way?). Definetely efficient!
We saw a lot of food going up (room service) while we waited, and it looked good - the prices were ok for the amount that we saw, but we didn't try it.
There was always a lot of people waiting for a room, and they are very quick preparing the rooms - one of the reasons why we think that the cleanliness is so weak.
Good location if you have to take a flight, either domestic or international. You can get a taxi out on the main avenue. It's also easy to get to Mall of Asia - just cross the main avenue, and get a jeepney for 8 php.
Ok just for a few hours, maximum one night, if you have no other choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
2
9
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was not listed in the travel brochure but as I arrived asked a local taxi driver and he directed me to this hotel. I cancelled my booking at another hotel and stayed at a third of price and a much cleaner room. The hotel was reasonably modern and the food and service was great, the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is close to airport and transport this is a hotel worth considering.

Room Tip: I stayed on the fourth floor and it was reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallauris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you have no place to stay late afternoon and all you favourite hotel are fully book then this would be the place to stay. Just eat before you check-in and stay at the more expensive room. Even so you still be disappointed.

Room Tip: get the expensive room if you are staying for 12hrs
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

we were checked in in a room with pubic hair on the bathroom floor. Toilet was dirty. It's like they just gave it a quick wipe for the next guest. Plastic bed and hard pillows twas very uncomfortable. Will never stay here again

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

check in on 12/22/2011 ,visiting SMA, panpamga philippines, as tourist from australia, pay for top of range room, given a filthy room with fresh vomitus on carpet, given another room down grade, lights did not worked,request for one off complementary service? declined , staff in reception can speak english and gaved nothing away, nor even an apology, as done in western societies when a wrong has being committed, not recommended for families or decent people, is a cheap sex gallery,
towels and linen are grey ( once white ) , stench of other people prespiration,
gregorio naranjo sydney australia

Room Tip: so filthy so bad,stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay, Philippines
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I left my newly bought starbucks tumbler when we checked out of the hotel. The next day, we reported about the lost tumbler. They said they will just text us about the update. It took me many phone calls before they texted us about the update. My tumbler couldn't be found anymore. I hate this hotel. I will NEVER RETURN HERE!

Room Tip: Look for another hotel:
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
1 review
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Me and my friend tranferred to stay in Sogo Hotel in Edsa Harrison Pasay from Copacobana Apartment Hotel coz i was intrigue by their slogan that quotes "So Clean So Good" and it js a lot cheaper, for a 24 hrs of stay we only paid Php1,400. So i thought at first it was really clean, but then when we actually stayed there, i just found out how dirty the room was coz' there are strands of hair everywhere including the CR, i really really hate it, it looks like they just have to change the beddings or the towel for the next guest without sweeping or vacuuming the whole room especially the carpeted rooms. The most disgustingly part was i couldnt eat inside the room because i can imagine how disgusting it is, what we did is that, we went out for the whole day and just return to the hotel when we feel very sleepy so that we can really sleep without thinking of the filthy linens they have or the beddings and the towels that looks like it was not being laundry for several years. I dont want to stay there anymore even for 1 hour!
TO ALL SOGO PERSONNEL OR EMPLOYEE:
PLS. ALWAYS USE VACUUM CLEANER OR AT LEAST SWEEP THE FLOOR SO THAT THERE ARE NO STRANDS OF HAIR THAT THE NEXT GUEST COULD SEE EVERYWHERE.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo

Address: F. B. Harrison Street | On EDSA, Pasay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Pasay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sogo Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sogo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.