We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel in Manila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossroads Hostel Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crossroads Hostel Manila to your Saves list
Crossroads Hostel Manila
76 Mariveles Street | Highway Hills, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1550, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lund, Sweden
1 review
“Great Hostel in Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Unfortunately only stayed one night there, because the hostel is really great. Crispy clean, airconditioned rooms with private lockers, full kitchen facilities, free fast wireless everywhere and a beautiful commen room area with games and even a koi pond.
Location is great, there is a big local food market for your foods and fruits and Megamall Ortigas is only a 5 minute walk.
Staff is very helpful and friendly too, allowing me to make a late check-in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

How do i expound further the phrase home in the metro? I have returned to this hostel not just because its close to my business point, but, because of its homy atmosphere.
The staff makes you feel at home, not just just a special guest. I have to agree with all the previous comments and reply of the management.
To backpackers, this a great way to experience living in a bungallow Filipino house. This means from the house structure, set up and the whole ambience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was at crossroads for a month and found the staff without exception to be kind and helpful. The place is immaculate. The local road is an interesting hive of activity with a local market. And the hostel is very conveniently placed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krisatienza, Manager at Crossroads Hostel Manila, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this feedback, TomsW3280HN. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We really appreciate the positive feedback you gave and our staff are surely inspired once again for reading how good they have made all their guests comfortable and feel right at home.
We hope that more visitors like yourself will get to enjoy the experience you felt while saving more money in the process while relishing the sights and sounds of Manila.
Mabuhay to you and we hope to cross paths once again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Based on the great reviews I decided to stay here one night. The hostel is really pretty; one of those features is an indoor koi pond. Well, the pond attracts thousands of mosquitos! In the common room! I had to deal with a lot of bugs in my trip to the Philippines, but never inside a hostel. Needless to say, I went to bed early and left as soon as I could the next morning.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krisatienza, Manager at Crossroads Hostel Manila, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, FordW.

We are so sorry for the mosquitoes. For months on end we've been trying to figure out how to eliminate them, if not reduce them greatly so they won't go inside your rooms but unfortunately they're a tricky bunch. On top of the frequent bug spraying we've been doing daily (which we do not like but have no choice), we bought an army of Citronella plants to reduce their numbers greatly, the tall grass-like leaves you saw when you checked in so it would be more guest-friendly. No luck. As soon as they got a whiff of the plant, they only transfer to other places.
We'll also be doing the following immediately, adding more Koi Fishes and to lessen their feeding so they subsist more on mosquito larvae. We'll also install window screens to greatly reduce bug visits from our neighbor's gardens.
We're not about to raise the white flag, FordW. We've been dealing with this issue because of the non-stop rains since mid-June.
We are and we will continue to address the issue until we finally eliminate the critters in our hostel for the convenience of our guests.
Once again, we deeply apologize for the much inconvenience these bugs caused and we will inform you of our success down the road.
We hope this didn't dampen your spirits in touring The Philippines. We wish you well and we hope for your safety in all your travels elsewhere. Mabuhay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanning, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although the area seems a little sketch, the hostel is in a pretty good location. The hostel itself is really nice and clean. The staff is ridiculously friendly and really made our brief stay in Manila incredible. The common area is quite lovely and the rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. I never felt like i needed to lock up my stuff or like i wasn't safe, regardless of the surrounding area. Enjoyed our stay, would easily return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krisatienza, Manager at Crossroads Hostel Manila, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Laurels88 thank you, thank you, thank you. We're glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and it was even more remarkable for us that you took time to write a review. Your post will not just make more people curious but overall help them save more during their travel here in this part of the Philippines. For that, thank you so much. We hope to have you join us next time. So until we see you back here, please take care and enjoy your travels. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naga, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I told everybody I know about this place. Such a budget friendly place to stay while in the metro. The staff are all accommodating, the place is clean and tidy. I stayed for 5 nights and my experience was all good. It's like your home away from home. Looking forward to coming back again. Oh, I almost forgot, for the benefit of people who might not know, they need a security deposit (1000php) it'll be returned if you didn't break anything upon checkout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krisatienza, Owner at Crossroads Hostel Manila, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Greetings HenryOnins! Thank you for choosing Crossroads Hostel Manila! Your effort in making a review is something the hostel’s staff are really grateful for; all their effort paid off knowing you appreciated their hard work. They told me that sharing your experience with your friends keeps them motivated so they can improve their service more.
We hope to see you again soon together with your friends so they’ll experience the same things that you felt during your stay.
Once again, sir, thank you! God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacoor, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here from july 3-5 because i just need a place to sleep for two nights. I never thought that there was a nice, very clean and decent budget place like this for people that needs a place to sleep..
I was amazed how well maintained the place is, from beddings and pillows that looks and smell new, the bathroom that surpasses my expectation and a very accomodating attendant, Francis.
wifi is free and fast. i slept well, and even let me use their garage since i brought a car with me. That was very hospitable of them, especially the owner.
Im not overrating my reviews, budget travellers should experience it by themselves. Overall, i am so happy with my experience!! would highly recommend to every one. a real deal and value on your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krisatienza, Owner at Crossroads Hostel Manila, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi kristine u. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here. I couldn't meet you any longer but I'm pleased that Francis took care of you. We're very thankful that a parking space opened up on the last night of your stay so we made sure you and your baby were cared for by parking in our garage that evening. We hope to have you once again with us in the near future. Best regards to you as you reach full term in giving birth soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossroads Hostel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Hostel Manila

Address: 76 Mariveles Street | Highway Hills, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1550, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATIONCrossroads Hostel is located right at the heart of Metro Manila. It's literally the name of the area where two major roads of Metropolitan Manila converges and this is where your adventures will begin. The hostel is about fifteen minutes (on holidays!) away from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport but literally seconds away from street food fare and the Metro Rail Transit (MRT) where you can go to your destinations in Manila like Fort Santiago and Quiapo in Manila.ACCOMMODATION INFORMATIONOur Hostel consists of 6 dormitories/rooms and each room has bunk/double-deck beds. Our smallest rooms can fit four travelers. We have three rooms that has four beds; Another one has six beds and our biggest room can have eight guests.Each room is air-conditioned and the whole place is wifi-connected. We will serve you breakfast - ala Culinary style — and even have you use our lockers for free (just bring your own pad locks). Meet other travelers in the common area and watch cable television all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Crossroads Hostel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossroads Hostel Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.