We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Edsa Shangri-La to your Saves list
Edsa Shangri-La
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mandaluyong
united states
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Homey hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I keep coming back to this hotel, especially during the holiday season. I feel at home every time I stay at Shangri La. The lobby is nice. Security is high. The heat restaurant has an extensive selection of delicious food. Easy access to Shangri mall and walking distance to Mega mall. I would caution you though choose a room in the tower wing where the rooms are newly renovated. The garden wing room I stayed at was a disappointment. Too old and needs to be renovated. But overall the hotel is a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Happy T,

We are thankful of your kind words and have taken into consideration your suggestions re: our Garden Wing facilities. We remain humbled and appreciative of your considering Edsa Shangri-La, Manila as your home away from home and look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    245
    73
    38
    18
See reviews for
201
100
46
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Having stayed at other Shangri-La properties before, this is our first time to stay at the EDSA Shangri-La Hotel. And it turned out pretty fantastic! From our welcome at the reception, with attention to our little kids (having received small care packages) to the wine buffet with good entertainment and friendly staff, to providing croissants and/or apple juice while waiting in line for breakfast or the reception desk, the staycation was truly enjoyable. The rooms at the tower wing were newly renovated which was nice. We would've preferred to have been assigned to a bigger bathroom with a bathtub and a view of the pool though as this is a bonus for the kids. Overall, it was an very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Bambi_Sia,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience during your stay at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. We are very much appreciative of your comments and delighted to know that we were able to extend the kind of Shangri-La Hospitality that you have come to expect to you and your family. We have shared your feedback with our team and look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A newly furbished classical 5 start hotel that will answer most of your needs. High security. Staff is very kind and friendly. The tropical pool looks really very nice but did not have time to try. Room is not small, not big. Windows are sealed - cannot open. Air conditioning works fine. Airport transfers are handled well with different price options. Room service is excellent. Free and good wifi. Big safe. Strong shower. Strong room light.

Room Tip: Floor 6 was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Levent T,

We are enamored to read about your experiences during your stay at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila and sincerely wish that you visit us again soon. On your next stay we invite you to take a dip in our newly renovated free form swimming pool, one of the largest in the Metro, and to have some fun with the young ones at the aqua play facility to complete your Manila staycation.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balanga City, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've stayed in Shangri-La Edsa every year for a convention and loved everything about the hotel...the rooms, service, and the food. Now they even have a new mini waterpark for the kids, which my children enjoyed so much. It's location is also very good for shopping and dining out. It is one of favorite hotels!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Lenglu,

It truly warms the heart to know that we were able to extend you and your family with our brand of Shangri-La hospitality you've come to expect. Our team is even more delighted to hear that your children were able to have fun at our newly constructed aqua play facility. We look forward on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Fantastic hotel, the staff is outstanding. Everything was a level above most other hotels, from the airport pickup to the check-in in the room. The breakfast buffet at the Heat restaurant is one of a kind. I really enjoyed my stay at the Shangri-La!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Fzuerche,

Thank you for your kind review of your experiences during your stay here at Edsa Shangri-La, Manila. Please be assured that we have shared your comments with our team, specifically our airport representatives and HEAT all day dining staff. We look forward on your next visit.

Best,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager

Fantastic hotel, the staff is outstanding. Everything was a level above most other hotels, from the airport pickup to the check-in in the room. The breakfast buffet at the Heat restaurant is one of a kind. I really enjoyed my stay at the Shangri-La!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Since I've stayed in Shangrila Edsa hotel so many times and loved their service and rooms, I had very high expectations for Chi spa. We got a couples room, got a ying yang treatment and booked at 1030pm.

The interior itself was impressive but there were cleanliness issues that were just too many to let pass.

1. There was a used towel hanging behind the door
2. The sauna was filled with a muddy colored scrub ( probably from the previous guest)
3. The shower stank of mold and was already wet.
4. The room overall felt unclean, dated and not luxurious at all
5. The hair dryer was not working!

To top it all off, we had to wait 20 mins to get out of the spa parking since the guard on duty was nowhere to be found.

The massage was so so and not worth the hassle.

Our experience was very disappointing and for the price we paid we walked out disgusted and angry. I will never go back to Chi in Shang. Sad to say, I had a much better experience with The Spa villas in the fort. Chi cannot be called a luxury spa at all.

Room Tip: Stay away from this spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Patricia D,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the numerous challenges that you experienced during your treatment at CHI, The Spa. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with our team and are conducting a thorough investigation on the matters that you have raised. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this unfortunate experience has caused you. Should you wish to discuss your challenges in detail, please do not hesitate to reach me through (63 2) 633 8888 or email patrick.schaub@shangri-la.com

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is amazing. The staff here is so friendly and attentive. When you first walk in, you can immediately sense the pride they take in this hotel. I saw someone on their hands and knees spot cleaning the carpet on my way to my room today. The rooms are very spacious. Most of the outlets are universal and suited for electronics no matter what part of the world you're coming from. The curtains, when drawn, block out every ounce of sunlight durning the day. A fresh apple, banana, and 2 water bottles are left each day. The gym is a complete facility filled with free weights, machines, and cardio. There's even a dance room in the back. Dumbbells range from 5 - 100 lbs. The pool is fantastic as well. The hotel itself is within walking distance to the mall, so anything you could possibly want to eat or buy is only a couple minutes away by foot. I'm coming back here next week and can't wait!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear FitnessTravels,

We are delighted to have hosted your stay in Manila at Edsa Shangri-La and know that you had a great time with us. We have shared your kind-hearted comments with our team, specifically our peers from Housekeeping and the Health Club. We look forward on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines’ foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 632 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri La Mandaluyong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edsa Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.