We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad experienced ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Edsa Shangri-La to your Saves list
Edsa Shangri-La
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Malolos, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really bad experienced ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Terrible service. Un-polite staff. Lazy house keeping staff. Uncleaned room and bath room. our dining experince is not good because of this impolite staff. They ruined my birthday. I will never ever go back here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at Edsa Shangri-La, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Ms RiolynValdez,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incident in the service, which we are addressing with our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage Departments. Please know that we value you and your comments very much. Please know that your feedback is duly noted and reviewed so we can improve our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at esl@shangri-la.com, or you may call 633 8888.

We hope you allow us another opportunity to demonstrate the Shangri-La hospitality you have come to expect in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,
Patrick Schaub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    292
    86
    45
    26
See reviews for
230
128
48
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We are regular clients of EDSA Shang. Going to Shangrila Plaza which is in close proximity to the hotel is so easy and hazzle-free. An elevator at the Garden Wing connects the hotel to the East wing of Shangrila Plaza. The staff are very friendly and always ready to assist hotel guest. The lobby and the pool are under renovation and we are expecting for a grand and impressive lobby this month. The room service staff are very efficient; they go around twice a day replenishing toiletries, drinking water, coffee, tea and other coffee condiments. Daily newspaper is readily available at the door early in the morning. We heard mass at the St. Francis of Assisi Parish which is a few meters away from the hotel. We passed by the garden wing and the guard at the side gate politely opened the gate for us. HEAT - SUPERB, we enjoyed and loved the food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxas City, Philippines
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were looking forward to staying in this hotel and spend some time in the pool ... Only to discover that there are major renovations in the property, including the swimming pool! They offered the use of the pool in the near-by condominium though, but it wasn't the same. Anyway, we got the newly-renovated room in the 15th floor - finally, they made the room BRIGHT, with many sockets everywhere for our gadgets. We had a problem with the wifi signal in the room - so they placed a repeater in our room! Great. The breakfast buffet was still good, but the breads and pastries were not as good as we remembered them to be. We will be back here again, but will ask if the renovations are done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a luxurious complex into metro Manila. Connected to a Very big mall where you can find everything you Need. Very luxurious hall, nice and efficient staff, good position to go around Manila. Obviously the price is Very high but if you want the luxurious experience this is exactly the place...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

It lied on big and busy street of EDSA, but we can't heard any noise at all from the room. It have a conjunction with Shangri La Plaza and near Super Megamall in walking distance. Great experience exploring the city of Metro Manila (Pasig-Ortigas).

Room Tip: For me, better took a room in Garden Wing then in the Wing where the view we see from our window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a true 5 star property in Manila, which is worth every penny spent.

The hotel is located in the shopping hub of Manila and is quite a treat staying there since it's surrounded by 2 very large malls.

Hotel is very neatly maintained though it's old but staff compensates with their service and smile. Rooms are neatly appointed and are large enough with all the amenities required.

The breakfast spread is one of the most lavish one I have seen so far, and one can spend hours sitting at the table trying all the different delicacies.

Would love to come back and stay again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellence in everything they do and some of the friendliest people in the world. The Heat restaurant is one of the finest in the city. The room was perfect, well kept and fresh. Check in and out were handled with great courtesy and promptness. Very relaxing stay for a business trip!


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines’ foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 632 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri La Mandaluyong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edsa Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.