We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Shangri-La Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edsa Shangri-La

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Edsa Shangri-La to your Saves list
Edsa Shangri-La
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another great Shangri-La Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was at EDSA Shangri-La in October 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the property. It's close to a mega mall and grocery store, the hotel is immaculate on the inside, the staff is friendly as with every Shangri-La property & the restaurants are awesome.

I spent most of my days at work, but my evenings were spent enjoying the hotel & all the amenities it had to offer. The rooms were extremely spacious, offering a good amount of room for a business traveler like myself who came to the Philippines with lots of extras! Make sure to ask for a room in the "new" tower, they're much nicer than the old tower.

One thing that I've noticed about many Shangri-La properties is that their breakfast buffet is insanely awesome. They offer a very international breakfast that is fitting to many cultures. In addition to their international breakfast buffet, the staff in the hotel speaks multiple languages making it a very traveler friendly location.

I would definitely recommend EDSA Shangri-La to anyone who is looking to travel to the Philippines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    292
    85
    45
    24
See reviews for
229
127
48
483
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had my wedding here.
Wonderful hotel, you feel like you are outside of a metropolitan city.
We planned our wedding from another country and the personal at the hotel was always very helpful. The location is very nice and the surrounding area is very nice.
At our arrival, everyone was always trying to help, doing the extra job for you. Our rooms were upgraded to suites and they were magnificent. The quality of the room is outstanding and the quality and warmness of the people is very comforting.
We had minimal stress during the wedding, because the personal at the hotel were available 24/7 via phone call.
The food at the Heat restaurant was great. We had, breakfast and dinner buffet. They had a small representation of a lot of international foods with a great local selection. Filipinos love to eat, ergo they love this buffet. A bit pricey but the quality is outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been here several times, but the room seemed less nice than before. Stay is super helpful and attentive though, and there seems to be many of them just waiting around to help.

My room has a leaky toilet, water on the floor every day. I'm not sure what's going on with the system but it seems too humid and chilly, not very comfortable. I cannot even pull the drapes together properly. I like the hotels with overlapping curtain rods like this one, but the right curtain doesn't pull to the end so there is a gap.

The room doesn't live up to the Club level expectation. I'm disappointed. However the Club lounge is good and the complimentary high speed internet in the room is good. You will need an adaptor as the voltage is not 110 but the hotel will loan a convertor to charge your phone, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area are a very nice view. They're doing renovations now, so the Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Love the location, the hospitality, the rooms, the housekeeping, HEAT,(breakfast) you have all the food you want to eat. Meat, Japanese, local, seafood. YUM. I would definitely come back. Connected to Shangri-la mall where you can find a drug store, groceries, food court. Stayed two years ago. Also walking distance to SM Megamall which is one of the biggest malls in Manila. Can`t go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Instead of going out of the country to celebrate our anniversary, my husband and I decided to stay at Edsa Shangri-la instead. Being a member of their Club Gourmet i was able to get my room with a huge discount. The stay was as usual, great! Although the check-in process took me for almost an hour. I pity the three staff who was on the front desk at the time of my check-in. The very looong lines and the not so friendly, irritated guest (foreign and local) waiting to be served. i commend Ms. Malen of the front desk for doing her job well and the housekeeping at the 10th flr of Garden Wing (Mr. Mike) All in all, the hotel staff are very friendly, courteous and accommodating. Food was great at Heat restaurant. Definitely, will come back if my time permits.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Garden Wing are quieter and less people in their front desk than the main lobby. For e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Its a good hotel in Manila or I must say in Phillipines, Best part of my visit to Manila was only hotel stay. Staff is very good, many things to do in hotel itself, rooms are big. The best thing is wine collection in bar, they are having separate wine bar with a very good ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

More than anything else, this hotel has the most amazing breakfast buffet spread. Literally cuisines from anywhere and everywhere in the world. I would stay there again longer just to spend more time at the buffet! :-)

Other than that, a good hotel, good location (right in the middle of the city, and next to the Asian Development Bank and two huge malls). The lobby area is super crowded all the time though and makes it obvious that this hotel is the place to hang out for a lot of meetings social or professional.

Service is very good, rooms are comfortable, well appointed, and the swimming pool area is a real oasis. I shall stay here again if the occasion ever arises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edsa Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edsa Shangri-La

Address: 1 Garden Way | Ortigas Center, Mandaluyong, Luzon 1650, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Mandaluyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mandaluyong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edsa Shangri-La 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Philippines’ foremost deluxe city-resort convention hotel. It offers 632 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, dining choices, and CHI, The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Edsa Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edsa Shangri-La Hotel Mandaluyong
Edsa Shangri La Mandaluyong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edsa Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.