We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Stretch of food to cook” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tong Yang

Tong Yang
4th Floor, Building A, SM Megamall | Corner EDSA and Julia Vargas Avenue, Mandaluyong, Luzon, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 302 Restaurants in Mandaluyong
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long Stretch of food to cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a place where you can choose what to eat and cook it yourself in your own table from fish to meat and the best of all street food available like isaw .. that's cool. It's on my list again when i came back for holiday in the Philippines again .. ( ;-P

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    9
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“buffet with shabu-shabu and smokeless grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Their lunch buffet costs P399. The choices are quite limited and some of the meat/seafoods items are no longer fresh so you have to be careful when getting your food. For the shabu-shabu soup you can choose 2 flavors per table (I recommend their sinigang and spicy soup). Some of the meat/seafood selections that you can grill or cook includes porkchop, chicken, isaw, shrimp, squid, salmon head, salmon belly, sausage, hotdog, siomai, dimsum. Also, dont forget to get the beef or pork belly slices because they are one of the few selections that I can recommend. They also have wide selection of fresh vegetables that you can put in your shabushabu or grill like kangkong leaves, okra, corn, mushrooms, taro, pechay, etc. I also love the fresh button mushrooms which i usually grill with butter and teriyaki sauce. If you dont feel like cooking, they also offer fried rice, pancit canton, steamed dimsum, siopao. They also have bottomless drink (soda, iced tea, orange juice, mango juice, and beer!). Desserts includes ice cream, halo halo, some fresh fruits like banana, cake/rolls, pastries. I usually top my meal with their brewed coffee and a slice of small cake. =)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Shabu-Shabu and hot pot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the first time that me and my GF ate at this restaurant. We went during weekdays because it is much cheaper but you can only stay for half day because they will have to re-stock at around 1 pm then resume at 3 pm. For me it was a very great experience. I like the hot pot a lot because I am a noodle guy. The shabu-shabu part is also good there so many variety of meat and fish also shelfish like crabs plus beer all you can. This place is almost amazing....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good choice for buffet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We reserved a day before in order to have seats when we drop by for lunch. Upon seating, we immediately sampled their food choices. There were a lot! What made it even more worthwhile was their Beef Belly slices, which was included in the buffet price. We didn't avail of the other U.S. Beef selections for those were added extras. We also sampled their meatballs, other choice meats, seafoods and veggies. Some of us also tasted their fried rice and sushi to complement the buffet experience. One problem though was their ventilation, for it was a bit too hot in our place.

Overall though, the food choices were more than enough for the P399 we shelled out per person. This price, however, is only during lunchtime on weekdays. The price goes up to around P585 after 2:30pm on weekdays, and the whole day of weekends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Tong Yang has been one of our favorites. In our previous visit, we had the set menu, this time we tried the buffet. We thought that we wouldn't be able to eat much, but with the wide variety of food to choose from, we enjoyed our late lunch and were satisfied. Seafood, meat, veggies, fruits, sushi, desserts (ice cream), etc, all that you can think of plus unlimited drinks. Though we needed to wait for a few minutes to be seated, it was all worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tong Yang also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 

Been to Tong Yang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tong Yang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.