We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with good food & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau 1771

Chateau 1771
Greenbelt 5 | Ground Level, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
729 9760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,056 Restaurants in Makati
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, French, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Acclaimed for its famous patented "No Borders Cuisine" - exquisite innovations on well-loved Swiss, Italian, and French creations, Chateau 1771 features an ambience that evokes the charisma and glamour of chic Parisian cafes and matches it with genuine Filipino warmth and hospitality. Menu favorites that have carried on through the years include Potence - beef tenderloin flambeed on metal gallows with a heady hint of brandy; Lemon Chicken - crisp morsels of chicken spiked with the sweet-tangy taste of honey and lemon; and Tomato-Cheese Fondue. Today, as it has been for almost twenty-five years, Chateau 1771 remains an important meeting place for discerning minds and refined palates.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had dinner here with a group of friends and enjoyed the meal and the feel of the place. Had the Caesar's Salad which could be shared and then the Ragu Pasta. The pasta could have had more sauce and needed a bit more seasoning. The Lemon Chicken which my friend had was really tasty and glazed nicely. The Gambas was also very good as well as the Ravioli. The house Red and White wines were also decent. For dessert the Coffee Sans Rival is delicious and enough for 2. Nice restaurant to enjoy long dinners and conversations over wine and coffee. Overall a good choice, even if it is a bit pricey.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    52
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, slightly slow service but didnt mind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Food was very good... the restaurant was very busy and we were a party of 12. There were other big tables also, overall good experience and what impresses you is that they remember what you all ordered. Great choice on the menu too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good menu. Upscale ambience but friendly service. When we didn't finish our beef fondue, they cooked it in the kitchen so we could take it home.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent continental food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely upscale restaurant serving excellent seafood in the Greenbelt. The salmon was delicious. A bit more pricey than other Greenbelt restaurants, however.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I keep coming back! A plus side there's a new Menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love this place, it's my go to to impress in the Makati and the Fort Area. My ninang (godmother) and her husband are visiting from the States they were craving non-filipino and non-american, so this is it. They loved it soo much as much as I that they went back 3 times within a week. I mean these guys know their food they eat at the best restaurants around the world and he said this is one of the best places you dine in Manila, for quality of food, service and ambiance as well as the fact that the price you pay for the fine-dining experience is extremely affordable. They informed me that they have new menu and the the Vanilla brick chicken is great!! you can really taste the vanilla infused in the chicken, their Ganache tart is also a must try for dessert!
By looking at the the recent review from Gustypants, sounds like the guy had his panties in a twist when he went to visit! O.K. in fairness the service may seem quite stiff but that's fine-dining for you.
The food looks and tastes as it does, freshly made full of flavor, so if your looking to veer away from asian cuisine, or the fast-food chains, honestly this place a must try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau 1771 also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Chateau 1771? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau 1771, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.