We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of People's Palace

People's Palace
Greenbelt 3, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
632 729 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 914 Restaurants in Makati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Thai place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was looking for nice place to eat after ruff work day, and by accidentally found this excellent restaurant. The place it self was beautiful and atmosphere friendly. I ordered green shrimp curry and I it was delicious.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    172
    39
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty awesome food, beware of the service though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

People's Palace was recommended to me by a colleague. I have to admit that the food was great; however, the service was lacking at times.

I tried a number of different dishes, green curry, pineapple fried rice with chicken instead of seafood, chicken curry & panaeng curry. All were great, spiced to my liking and super filling. They definitely give you more than your money's worth! My only complaint is that each time we went (on week day nights), we seemed to have the same server who wasn't friendly, at times he was completely inattentive and was quite direct with his tone. I was surprised to experience this kind of behavior because all other restaurants I visited in the Philippines, the staff was overly accommodating, offering food and wine recommendations as well as making small chat about where we were from.

All in all, People's Palace is a good place to visit if you are in the Makati area!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great Thai food.worth a visit. Perfect location and lovely atmosphere. If a green curry is good....and it's great here

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoied the diner, I tried several different dishes, all of them were good! The best dish that I tried are the noodles.
The place itself is very nice and in a beautiful square.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food quality has deteriorated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This used to be my absolute favourite Thai restaurant in Manila. It has always been a bit expensive, but you couldn't fault the quality so it was worth it for a special treat. Unfortunately, on my last visit it was obvious the food quality has gone down. They used to use Thai ingredients that are not normally available in Manila, and I assumed these were specially imported from Thailand. This no longer appears to be the case, and as far as I could tell all the vegetables were local. For example, the Green Chicken Curry used to contain miniature aubergines, which you can easily find in Thailand but not in the Philippines. That chicken curry dish no longer includes them, and it makes all the difference.

The other problem I have is the horrendous price they charge for drinks. P1,700++ for a quite ordinary bottle of white wine is way too much.

The food is still good, but it's no longer the special restaurant it once used to be.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's Palace also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to People's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage People's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.