We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Restaurant facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Suites

Save Saved
You added Jupiter Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jupiter Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Jupiter Street | Bel Air, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 62 hotels in Makati
Tokyo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor Restaurant facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed several times here over the years the last being five years ago. The rooms and reception are in need of an upgrade. The worst change since last here is relocation of the restaurant from ground floor (now a pizza joint) to the second floor where guest room used to be.

The breakfast choice is very poor - Filipino or pancake. That's it. Take it or leave it. Room internet is by LAN cable which you have to rent for 100 pesos. Better solution is to bring your own or buy for 15 pesos in the computer shop round the corner.

Unlikely to stay here again as there are better options nearby for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
9
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opole, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel is conviniently located in Makati district, which is considered to be safe as per Manila standards. The staff are helpful and nice. The only minus were loud ventilators, despite closed windows. Clean and spacious rooms were decorated with a bit 'old' charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS FR VANCOUVER CA MANILA PH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Hotel is a small inn that we, my wife and I, like to stay at, every time we come back to Manila.
It is not the type of classy hotel certainly, so don't expect the Shang-..., but the staff is genuinely very friendly and professional. Almost all of them are very helpful and smiling. Henry and the security guards are adorable. They help you with your luggages.

Good points:
Comfortable
Good price/ value/ quality
Next to city center and near conveniences.
Rooms are big.
Free news paper in the morning.
Internet LAN connection in room for free.
Good channels selection.
They recently started to change the old crappy space taking televisions by flat screens.
Now they just would have to fix the flat screens to the wall in front of bed, that would be better.

Bad points:

Dated hotel needs outside and inside refreshing.

This hotel is victim of it's location next to a hookers part of town so a lot of old single guys are coming in alone but later they bring in those lick lizards, that don't even respect the hotel staff, in their room, and this is sad.

No Wifi.

The street side rooms are noisy better ask for rear side rooms, the view is better and more quiet.

Inside the room the bed is old needs to be changed, but comfortable, it lacks few more led light bulbs, specially in the bathroom above the sink as it is hard to shave without proper lighting.
In the bathroom the stench of cigarette of the smoking rooms are passing through the ventilation fan above the shower and gets in the whole room so we had to close our bathroom door. The bathroom fan needs to be changed as it's dirty and noisy, we had to switch it off, and the ventilation system needs to be cleansed, sanitized!

We, like said by other reviewers, smelled a strong smell (stench) of waste sewer coming from the hole of the overflow in the sink and from the floor shower drain! That means the canalization system is not purged regularly, not sanitized! And also maybe that the city sewers are not checked like in a lot of parts of Manila.
The air-con is very efficient, but very dirty. We looked outside and there was a big molded towel on the air con, the air conditioning units need to be checked and cleaned regularly and changed when to dirty not only when it broken or dies!
We confirm having seen some cockroaches, like said by other reviewers, crawling in the bathroom, I suspect them to come up through the shower drain, sometimes we saw some in the room.

The elevator is old, it needs to be changed for safety matter!

The breakfast is OK but they serve it with regular water I wish it would be bottled, not opened, mineral water like Evian or Volvic!

Finally security guard should check the taxi drivers if they are trustworthy or not. Take the license plate and name of driver before the clients gets in

All in all: Perfect for us. We are definitely coming back every time we are in Manila. They are more friendly than at the Intercontinental or Dusit Thani so we prefer to stay at Jupiter Suites we feel welcomed, even if the standard is really not the same!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

+ My stay at Jupiter Suites was good. The people working there were superbly and naturally nice. They were prompt in responding to my needs and queries. Everybody was just all so willing to help even though it was not their responsibility. The housekeeping staff from Dumaguete helped me with my luggage on the way down as there was no elevator on the 4th floor, only until the 3rd floor. Aside from that, he found a taxi for me while I was at the reception settling my dues. With the guard always ready to open the door for the hotel guests and having the hotel entrance smelling so good, oh! That was already a plus! In addition, I love the clean stain-free fragrant good-smelling linens. They have a big TV, too. Bigger than Caravelle Hotel (HCMC). There were so many cable channels to choose from. Also, it was quiet (facing the residential area). Thanks to that reviewer at booking.com who gave that advice. The hotel is very close to restaurants, banks, embassies, etc. The aircon was quiet. The free wired internet connection was fast. The hotel provided me a newspaper every morning. The room was very spacious and was clean though it didn't look so spic and span with the dark lines of the tiled floor. The check in and check out was done fast. Lastly, there was unlimited smiles and hellos. I found the atmosphere of the hotel very healthy and positive because of that. Unlike Sky Hotel in Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia which is just on the opposite extreme!

- The room was dim for working or reading. Maybe 2 more lamps would make it better. The toilet looked moldy. The fridge looked horrible yet was functioning well. The housekeeping staff failed to clean my room once even though I put the "Please make up room." To be certain they clean your room, you got to ask/call them. Anyhow, the evening staff (not the housekeeping but the guard on duty and somebody else) provided me clean towels and new linens. Another thing that's a bit of an eyesore was the old elevator. Further, there was no safe in the room. Maybe with the price I paid, it's too expensive for the room that I got. Well, with the good location and with it in Makati (expensive area in Manila) expect to get something like that unless you stay outside Makati. Lastly, I had to pay P100 rent for the internet cable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Jupiter Suites are located on the corner of Jupiter St by the intersection with Makati Avenue, right next door to a Japanese/Korean restaurant and less than 50 yds from KFC, McD and Jollibee. They are also very conveniently located for the restaurants and entertainment along Jupiter St, and less than 10 minutes walk along Makati Ave to Ayala Triangle and Greenbelt.
The building itself looks quite new, the rooms are very large, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The reception and security staff are very friendly and helpful.
Prices range from 2500 PHP a night upwards, which isn't cheap, but by Makati prices, they are reasonable. If you deal direct with the reception, you might get a few hundred pesos knocked off.
I've stayed there a fdew times on short breaks in Manila/Makati and am happy to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as there isn't any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenSan, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed in this small inn for 2 nights while on a business trip in Manila. While the room given to me was spacious, it was old, dated and really wanting refurbishment. The bathroom
was small and not tidy. I've seen some crawlers. The hot shower was also not working. Lighting was poor and not good when you need to read and do some writings at night. I requested for a room at the rear side of the building though so I wasn't really bothered by the noise on the street outside. One area in their narrow hallway was used as some sort of storage which is a bit dangerous especially when there is an emergency evacuation like when there's fire , etc.. Breakfast was also so-so. For the price I paid I could have gotten a better accommodation in the Makati area.

The positive point is the location and, yes, the friendly guard who was always ready to assist you.
I would look for a better accommodation next time.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this inn, ask for a room at the rear side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

wow what i can say is very nice hotel especially the staff very accommodating when i get off in the taxi the guard assist me immediately even if he doesn't know that i'm the guest. And when i finally reach the frontdesk all the staff were smiling at me as if they know me.. they assist you on your luggage even the girl staff and when i saw my room it was big and clean they satisfied my expectation.. The breakfast have 2 choices between continental and filipino i chose filipino for experience because im a foreigner.. its good.. whenever i go to philippines i promise i will go back to Jupiter Suites.

Room Tip: If you want a view of jupiter street the consequence is you have to endure the car passes while if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jupiter Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Suites

Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Suites Makati, Metro Manila
Address: 102 Jupiter Street | Bel Air, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jupiter Suites - A best choice budget hotel rate deal in Makati, Metro Manila, assures you of a stay that’s extra special. With the hotel’s location in the heart of the Makati Central Business District, you’ll be a stone’s throw away from the city’s finest business, dining, entertainment, and shopping areas. Newly renovated rooms Moreover, our reasonably priced rooms are spacious and cozily fitted with a cable TV, Wifi connection Internet access, and refrigerator. Jupiter Suites combines such remarkable comforts with hospitable services, promising an urban retreat that is simply extraordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Jupiter Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.