We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Eastern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Great Eastern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Eastern Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7842 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 72 Hotels in Makati
epsom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I knew after paying 1500 peso (£25) a night for a room in Makati, especially along Makati Ave I wasn't going to be over whelmed with what was a head of me. Check in went smoothly enough after booking through "Aisarooms" although the young chap who arrived to take me and my luggage to the room was casually dressed in jeans and t shirt, no ID & no name badge he could have been anyone. The room was very much like the hotel foyer which is located on the 4th floor, dark & dank although brightened up by a well decorated Christmas tree, the carpet in the room looked as if it could have done with a shampoo and showed signs of server wear & tear around the bed area, air con was ok, TV ok, bed comfortable, but laying on bed ones eyes wondered around the room where I could see signs of damp & dry rot. There were no light bulbs in the two bedside lights and the main light wasn't that bright, I as unable to draw back the curtains in order to gain more light as these were fixed and when I did manager to look outside the glass was that dirty that any view was obscured. The bathroom was clean and pleasant and all was fine with the facilities , shower had good pressure and a good mix of hot & cold water, the shower curtain had mould around the bottom which was a put off.
Buffett breakfast is severed on the ground floor or what appeared to be the basement, very limited choice and cold, but for 203 peso it was expectable, filtered coffee is served but if a coffee is ordered from the Café through room service one is given 3 in 1.
The staff are pleasant enough as one has come to used to when in the Philippines and being located along Makati ave makes this a hotel within easy reach of all local amenities, you get what you pay for here!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    22
    24
    28
See reviews for
17
21
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

You could probably get a better hotel for the same price as this place. Though the service is at an ok level, the hotel building itself needs some work done. I've gone to this hotel a few times with some years in between, but this place never changes. And I mean this in a not so good way. Though it was a pretty nice place the first time I stayed there, over the years it just started to lose its touch. It's lagging behind. An ok place for 1 to 2 nights, but if you're staying for more, I advise you to find a different hotel. Even investing in a little more money to get a better hotel would be better than spending a week at this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I may stay there again. I would for sure if rooms had fresh air. Maybe they could get a ventilation system or windows that open. Nothing fancy, but a good deal for Makati. I met a guy in the elevator I am doing business with. Pretty cool!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel's exterior and interior are old and musty. The pool is not so nice as it has a strong smell of chlorine. Though the staff are really nice and friendly. I booked a superior room. The regular stuff you usually know that is included like the toiletries, are for sale. The location is great and the price is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I came back because the first time it was fairly new Hotel and I liked it then. This time I find it was run down. Looks like they fix nothing and when they do, it no longer looks good. the carpets were wore out. You could see the Jude back showing in spots. We had 2 nails sticking up in the floor between the beds. We only stayed 2 nights and I did not have the family. I would not take them there. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very cheap hotel in Makati area but you get what you paid for. Clean rooms and good comfort rooms but the blankets, towels, pillows look very used and dirty. Usual hotel stuff like tooth brush and tooth paste are for sale. I will never go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel has a great location in Makati. That's the only nice thing one can say about this place really. Once you see it, you'd know that it USED to be a classy place, but right now there are pension houses that are better than it. You have moldy and worn-out carpets in the rooms, while the showers have marble flooring the towels are so old and worn-out you can almost read a newspaper thru them, the bed smells and feels like an antique and the pillows and blanket were so horrible looking and thin. They should just tear this place down and make a new one.

Room Tip: Stay away. Tune hotel is better and just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Eastern Hotel

Address: 7842 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Eastern Makati
Great Eastern Hotel Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Eastern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.