We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid choice for a midrange hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durban

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Durban
Save
You added Hotel Durban to your Saves list
4875 Durban Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Makati
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“solid choice for a midrange hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My room was nice and clean, everything was working well. The staff was very helpful. Windows however could be isolated better against street noise. Due to its central location, it is not one of the most quiet places.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    68
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
49
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little bit old but very well maintained! Room is nice with comfortable bed and quite clean. The bathroom is running down a little bit but still acceptable. The staff are friendly.
The location is quite good as taxi in Philippines is affordable and fast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time to stay in Hotel Durban and each time has always been a very good experience.

Gerry is the best doorman/bellboy! He looked after all our needs, took our bags to our rooms, adjusted our aircon and fridge, etc.

Front desk staff speak good English. Check-in and check-out are a breeze.

For the price and location, this hotel is your best bet, value for money!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the third trip to the Philippines during which we've stayed at Hotel Durban. The last was two years ago and they've renovated and added additional rooms. The rooms are clean and small with a queen size bed but my wife and i don't spend much time in the room anyway. The sheets were always crisp and clean and the shower always provided hot water. We had a premium room which includes AC and a TV and fridge. Price ran P1600 (around $40US) which is hard to beat. They have security cameras throughout the interior but no room safe. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located on Durban St. and a half block off Makati Ave. so taxis were readily available. Greenbelt mall is within a 20min walk if the temp is reasonable. From NAIA airport, it should only cost 200-300 pesos for a taxi. Don't let them charge more and always tell them to use the meter and that you'll give them a tip. Our rides were always around 200 pesos so we would round up to 300-350 if they helped with the bags.
You can contact them via email to make a reservation durbanstreetinn@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room away from the street. Rooms must be paid for in advance and are cash only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KualaLumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel durban is located in Makati area. It is walking distance to Greenbelt Commercial Center, Ayala Museum and Shopping malls. The nearest MRT station is Buendia Station. You can take a jeepney with 8 peso per person to the station. Hotel room is clean but small. Queen size bed is hard and small as well. The price is around 1600 peso per night for a premium room. It is considerably cheap as its location is strategic. The receptionist service is good.

Room Tip: Get a Junior suite and it is just 1800 Peso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very cheap.

That's what it is. Cheap. Not in a bad way, not good either, but just right.

Here's the thing, when in Makati and you're looking for a room, anything south of 2500 PhP will usually land you in a raggedy kind of accommodation. Anything north of 4500 PhP is standard 4-star/5-star hotel fare. So paying less than 2000 PhP, I wasnt expecting much other than the basics - had to have its own shower, a tv, a/c, and above all must be clean. It's not expected to be spacious or sprawling, nor should it be expected to have the luxurious pluses of a 5-star hotel. Truth be told, that's what I got, a good enough room, a clean room, a tv, a shower, and a/c.

One thing, the location is a double-edged sword: if you're the kind who like them creatures of the night, consider yourself lucky as this is smack in the middle of Makati's red-light district. If you're in town for meetings and the sort, its a few blocks away from the central business district. If you're a foodie, there are several good finds around the area. However, if you are the kind of person who might be overly-sensitive to seedy establishments (to each his own, of course, i am not one to judge), who hates traffic (it can get pretty clogged there at times), or just someone who isnt too adventurous, find yourself another hotel. Also regarding the location, since it is a nightspot, living on the lower floors might be too noisy for you, and living on the top floors might be quiet but is a workout in itself just to climb up to (i had to do this a couple of times just for water).

Another item, the lack of room service. Well they do say that it isnt a 4-star or 5-star hotel, but if your hotel has no elevator, and some of your guests have to climb 4-5 steep flights of steps just to get to their room, it would have been a nice touch to have room service available for even the simplest of things. Or maybe at least some water dispensers on each floor. But then again, its cheap already as it is, so who am I to complain?

All in all, it was a good stay. The room was clean, the room was quiet, I had several workouts, and I didn't have to break the bank just for some solitude.

Room Tip: Get the bigger rooms. It's cheap anyways so a little bump in the price for some extra space isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We’d like to thank B-Fabregas for the review.

While Hotel Durban is a value-oriented establishment, we work hard to give our guests more than just the basics. We have a reputation for our exacting standards of cleanliness, and our café brings a filling American and Filipino breakfast for an unparalleled value – in addition to our a la carte offerings.

Hotel Durban is a family- and business-friendly hotel. We have been a favorite hotel of families and single women travelers looking for a safe, clean, brightly lighted place that delivers the best value in its class. Our all-glass lobby is always brightly lit, as are all our public spaces. We have installed no fewer than 24 CCTV cameras throughout the property in order to ensure the safety of our guests. Our security team is vigilant and works in close collaboration with local police to discourage human trafficking in all its unfortunate forms, and we do not admit known-prostitutes as guests. Our team also actively discourages street-side vendors and mendicants from bothering our guests having a sit or coffee on our terrace; we also ask our guests to not entertain or encourage any offers. We work hard to protect the security of our guests while they are with us.

Although our hotel does not have an elevator, none of our guests ever carries their own luggage once they arrive at our doorstep, as our staff gladly does all the heavy lifting. While there is a filtered, hot water dispenser on the second floor, we acknowledge that some of our guests would prefer to have one nearer their rooms on our other floors. To this end, by the end of March, 2013, each floor will have its own hot water station. In the meantime, guests may always order room service supplied by our café for a nominal service fee. The entire menu is available until between 6AM and midnight every day, and beverages – hot and cold – are available around the clock.

We are glad that B-Fabregas had a pleasant stay, enjoying our superb location, exceptional cleanliness, comfortable rooms, and excellent staff. Come see for yourself why Hotel Durban is ranked Number One for hotels that give the best value, according to TripAdvisor’s users. In the meantime, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for 3 nights and were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. It would be nice to have a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries on- maybe this is something small to look at.
We arrived after a long day of flights and airport sitting and were delighted to be asked to join in and share the staff Christmas party food, saving us from having to roam unfamiliar streets on our first night.
Breakfast from the coffee shop was delicious and well priced.
We enjoyed sitting on the verandah outside the cafe, having a beer and watching the interesting events in the street!
The hotel is well placed as it's only a short taxi ride to shopping centres and Intramuros for some sight seeing.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldurban, General Manager at Hotel Durban, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Many thanks to Kathy C for her wonderful review. We remember her and her party well from our Christmas party. While it is, indeed, a party primarily for the staff, we traditionally hold it our on our verandah and invite all the guests who are staying in the hotel that night. We've been doing this for as long as we can remember, and we make sure that we have an impressive spread, especially Filipino specialties like "Lechon," a whole pig, spit-roasted until its skin becomes a cracker-like golden brown.

We appreciate her comment about the need for a bathroom shelf on which guests may place their toiletries. As we mentioned in our reply to the previous review by Pacohonollulu, we have begun work with our design team, so we can integrate something that guests will find both useful and elegant.

Our cafe has gone through a series of expansions to its menu. In addition to a typical Filipino breakfast, we now offer Steak and Eggs, Filipino-style, and a typical American breakfast with bacon and eggs cooked to order. We're also diversifying our lunch menu with local favorites and have recently brought an up-size option for all our sandwiches, just in case a diner would like a little more of one of the best chicken salad sandwiches in town. In the coming months, we hope to expand our bar offerings, too.

We're glad the reviewer enjoyed our hotel and its excellent location. We look forward to hosting Kathy C and her party again on their next trip. Come check us out. In the meantime, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durban

Address: 4875 Durban Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Durban Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1975 on the principle that comfort and elegance need not be expensive, Hotel Durban is a small oasis tucked into the heart of Makati. With a refined but relaxed ambiance found in elegant and modern Filipino homes, many of our rooms overlook a quiet, garden courtyard. The hotel is furnished with antiques from the owner's collection, as well as pieces of her own design. Our rooms adhere to exacting standards of cleanliness and have many of the amenities expected of a modern hotel, including air-conditioning; flat- screen, cable TV, and complimentary, wireless broadband. Our café serves a choice selection of hot and cold beverages, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Durban Street Hotel
Hotel Durban Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.