We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old church, good location..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guadalupe Church

Guadalupe Church
Bernardino Street, Makati, Luzon 2004, Philippines
63 2 895 4001
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Attractions in Makati
Type: Religious sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old church, good location..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I grew up coming to this church to hear mass or to pray and meditate. There have been a lot of big improvements to this place, like the huge stained glass windows and a mausoleum just below the Church's park. Lots of seating areas at the mezzanine. This church is close to main highway (EDSA) as well as the wet market and ABC mall at Guadalupe.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful old church accessible by MRT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister got married in this church, so I have rather fond memories of it. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is quite charming and the fact that it sits amidst the hustle and bustle of the city only highlights how quiet it is once you get inside the church. It isn't quite a tourist attraction yet but with the Philippines aggressively promoting itself as a tourist destination I expect that church built in the 1860s will soon have more foreign tourists visiting. The fact that it's relatively accessible via the MRT (maybe a 15 minute walk from the MRT Guadalupe station, though admittedly through some dodgy areas) is a plus, since public transit is mostly a pain in Metro Manila.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“my chapel away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I went to early morning services each day here. I just say outside while mass was said. And then I also would catch the mid week service. It was a very nice setting, and a beautiful little chapel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
181 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want to pray or be in a solemn athmosphere away from the crowds and traffic you will enjoy this church. Rare tourists, usually only locals.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Solemn place to pray.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A solemn place to pray. It's quite and not too big and have ample parking place. Going there might be stressful because you have to pass narrow streets.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalupe Church also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Guadalupe Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guadalupe Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.