We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dusit Thani Manila to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Makati
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Lovely warm and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed in a room that had access to the executive club lounge. Talk about a sanctuary and a lovely place to chill out or have a relaxed meeting. First class.

The view looking East from the club lounge was stunning and its easy to forget that you are actually in a very busy CBD. It close to all amenities and its the easiest 5 star Makati hotel to get to the airport. The service and the staff that provided it show that the senior management of the hotel are totally professional and understand how to breath life into the promise of an outstanding customer experience. No lip service here , this was the real deal!

I highly recommend the hotel for any executives visiting Manila.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room with the view looking East, as you can see distant volcanos and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Martin C

Thank you for you r wonderful review following your recent stay with us and delighted that you enjoyed the Club Lounge and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Manila in the near future and wish you well.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    414
    150
    58
    39
See reviews for
158
194
116
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went for a meeting at the end of March 2014.
Hotel staff were friendly and genuine, doesn't look fake.
They had sniffer canines for security before entering the hotel.
Buffet breakfast was good with a nice spread.
Rooms had very fast WIFI and LAN connections.
Rooms were clean, no cigarette smell. However, noted the sink was rather low for a 169cm adult like myself.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear RKHB

Thank you for you r wonderful review following your recent stay with us.

I have noted your comment on the height of sinks in guestrooms and we will review this as we undertake our renovation of guestrooms during the course of this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Manila in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Rooms are ok size, staff friendly and quite helpful and efficient, good choice at breakfast. Quality of fittings old (all lamps have different switches!, no hot water in sink), can hear every word spoken in the corridor with the door shut, melons were spoilt at breakfast and muesli looked dry and unappetizing, don't expect a fresh juice for a welcome drink (even in the tropics!), mattresses and pillows can give you bodyche/ headache...

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and your own travel pillow for a good sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Rajee R

Thank you for your review and the comments regarding the condition in some areas of the hotel. I am pleased to announce that we will start our major renovations across the hotel which will incorporate the guestrooms, outlets and other public areas.

We fully understand the need to uplift the property and restore the hotel to its former glory over the coming months ahead. You will be able to follow our progress on Facebook by liking our page, Dusit Thani Manila.

We look forward to your returning to the hotel in due course.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed five nights at this hotel and found the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff to be exceptional! Our room was a bit noisy for my husband as it faced a major street but he is very sensitive to noise, I am not.

Eric was very helpful in planing a couple of day trips, arranging cars and advice. We very much appreciated all he did. The entire staff were always welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the major intersection, if you have sleep sensitivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear DennisandLaurie

Thank you for the lovely review and I am sorry that your husband suffered with noise from the street and we shall be sure to take note of this to allocate a room away from that side of the hotel.

We look forward to your returning in due course.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Greatest hotel in Manila to stay at, when u first arrive u are greeted by the staff, the staff is very kind, professional and polite. The rooms are beautiful, beds and pillows will put u to sleep instantly, great food and everything else in the hotel. If u ever visit Manila u have to stay at Dusit Thani AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME V/R MR PHILLIPS

Room Tip: Every type of room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Terrence P

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we hope that you will again visit us soon.

The comments in regards to the staff is indeed a pleasure to read and I shall ensure we share this with our staffs for such high recognition.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Dusit Thani makes you feel really comfortable, almost like home. Some of the rooms would benefit from some refurbishment though.

I stayed here multiple times over a few months due to work, so already the fact that I happily came back is proof of Dusit's quality.

The service is outstanding, they really try to make everything possible and convenient for you, from luggage storage and delivery to taxi service, lost and found, everything.

The rooms are nice, but vary a bit from room to room and I once had one with very limited lighting, and when requesting additional lights I got quite old shabby ones. The King Size beds and the pillows are fabulous.

The breakfast is superb and while they close the buffet pretty much on time, they let you sit until they really need to prepare your table for lunch.

The hotel is in walking distance to Glorietta, Greenbelt and other malls, so shopping or food is never far. Which is good as the hotel restaurant, shop and in-room facilities are somewhere between expensive and a rip-off ($10 for a 1l bottle of Evian). Also they charge you 10% on SIM card credit purchased at the shop, a practice never seen anywhere else in the Philippines.

One thing that is remarkable is the fluctuation in prices. I stayed in one and the same category for 6,000 PHP, but another time they asked for double that. And were not willing to offer any discounts although I had stayed over 10 nights over recent weeks. So I moved out as the Dusit is great but not worth over 10,000 PHP for the King room.

Maybe the best is the crowd: A nice mix of tourists, business travelers, wealthy locals, and Filipinos from abroad on a home visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear GSH_1975

Thank you for your review and comments following your most recent stay with us. It is great to read that you have been staying with us on several occasions and that the staffs and service have been first class each time.

I have noted the comments on the different rooms and I am please to announce that we will be starting a programme of renovation of all our guestrooms over the coming year ahead.

I have also noted your comment on the different rates for the same room category which would be due to the seasonality and demand which changes on a daily basis. What I would suggest is that as a frequent traveler to Dusit to join our Gold Card Loyalty Programme which can be done by visiting Dusit.com and completing the application form online. This will not only give you access to our members rates but also additional privileges and stay bonuses the more you choose to book and stay with Dusit International Hotels and Resorts.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Manila in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My overall stay at the hotel was satisfactory. I commend the staff for being very efficient, warm, and very attentive to my needs.

The room was clean but outdated. The cable tv provider was substandard (no HD channels). The beds were excellent but furnitures were worn out. The bathroom was acceptable but the towels looked worn out as well. The toiletries, especially the body lotion was lovely.

I was very disappointed in the venue of our meeting which was the Poolside Pavilion. Considering that I attended an international event, I did not expect that our venue was just a makeshift tent. Though the set up looked nice, we were easily distracted by sound of bus horns, MRT passing by, and I think we even heard an airplane flying over. Being Filipino, I felt especially embarrassed when two of the international speakers made sarcastic remarks about the disturbing noises on EDSA in the middle of their lectures.

The hotel is on a prime location and I'm pretty sure that you get to host numerous international events. I am optimistic that you will address this issue in future events.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit M, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Noelle R

Thank you for your review following your stay and attendance at the event over the last few days. Indeed the Pavilion does incur some external noise distractions for which we do not have control sadly and indeed we do not usually make this venue available for events such as this as it is more suited to exhibitions and social events which do not demand such a high level of noise control.

We shall have our newly renovated Ballroom available from the end of April this year and I am in no doubt that this world class venue will be more akin to the hosting of events such as these in the future along with the 12 other meeting venues we have at the hotel. Indeed we have already discussed this with the meeting organisor to see what we can arrange for a future event at Dusit Thani Manila.

Thank you once again and I hope we will see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#7 Business Hotel in Makati
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#8 Family Hotel in Makati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is situated in the heart of the Philippines’ premiere financial district located 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country’s major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 538 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, seven bars and restaurants – Basix, Benjarong, Dusit Gourmet, Pool Bar, Lobby Lounge, Tosca and Umu; DFiT Fitness Center and Devarana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.