We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Save Saved
You added Dusit Thani Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dusit Thani Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Business Special
Ranked #11 of 62 hotels in Makati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel was very nice. It's located near beautiful sites and a shopping district. The service was very nice. They even have a swimming pool. The only thing was that the Internet and tv sometimes didn't work well but I had no major complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shariza R, Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer2001,

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a lovely stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you appreciate everything about the hotel, from the location to the service and amenities. We apologize for the Internet and TV inconsistencies; rest assured this has been duly noted.

We hope that you can visit us in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Shariza Relova
Director of Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    366
    138
    48
    37
See reviews for
138
169
107
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here in August 2013 for two nights. Usually I stay at the Ascott but was full so elected here as close to airport and free wifi. Rooms are ok -pretty much what you would expect from this big chain - carpet and fixtures getting worn and dated etc but clean enough and very quiet. I would stay here again if I had to for work but otherwise little to credit it with.

Room Tip: Go for non smoking - heaps of smokers frequent this hotel so if a non smoker be sure to request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora O, Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Ms. Chica497,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to the Philippines.

It is our commitment to provide our guests with the utmost quality service that we can provide to ensure their satisfaction. As part of our continuous commitment, we are now undergoing extensive renovations, which will include guestrooms, a new All Day Dining Restaurant as well as a new Lobby Lounge and Bar. These facilities will surely delight business travelers like you.

Thank you very much for your continuous patronage and we look forward to being of service to you again very soon.


Warm regards

Shariza Relova
Director of Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After being in the province for a week I wanted to treat myself and wife with a nice Hotel and not take any chances so I booked a room in the Dusit Thani in Makati. The Pros: Staff were very nice, the English garden was also very nice. The Foyer was impressive and the check-in and out was fast, the bathroom had a good size with hot and cold water,the Italian restaurant was very noble but the food really not that special and way overpriced (I've been to Italy numerous times ). The Cons: The rooms were very damp eve the clothes hanging in the closet and in the suitcases became damp, the carpet was damp and so the room always had a mildew smell to it.The fridge gave up after a day and water poured on to the carpet but was exchanged with a working one. The TV is tiny and the picture not clear.Wifi was o.k. The gym was efficient , the sauna a rundown joke. The room lighting was way to dimm, I prefer a well lit room with white bedding so you can see where you will sleep in. The beds were made but the sheets were not changed! same old damp sheets!! All in all no way near a 5-star hotel , The breakfast was the same everyday typical Fillipino/Chinese breakfast . I resided i the Joya Lofts a couple a months ago and the rooms were much better and more modern . I would not go back or recommend this Hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora O, General Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Runningback22,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations and review of our hotel with the trip advisor community and we thank you for pointing out some of the facilities and services that made your stay with us extra special. We would however like to apologise for those issues you encountered and which are not usual of a guests experience at Dusit Thani.

It was surprising to know that we did not meet your expectation with our Italian restaurant, Tosca as we have been receiving rave reviews on the food prepared by our Italian chef who hails from Milan, Italy.

Just the same, we shared your feedback to our culinary team as it will help us improve the quality of our service and product and please accept our apologies that it was not to your liking.

With regard to the comments regarding the condition of your guestroom, we have instructed our team of decorators and engineers to renovate and rectify these issues to avoid any possible repeat in the future.

We would also like to share with you that we are currently undergoing extensive renovations following the successful launched of our Dusit Club Lounge which will include guestrooms, a new All Day Dining Restaurant as well as Lobby lounge and Bar. These new facilities we are sure will more than meet the expectations of international travelers.

Mr Runningback22, It is our hope that despite your unfortunate experience should you be traveling to Manila in the future you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and demonstrate the commitment we have to better serving our guests at Dusit Thani Manila.


Yours in service,

Alex Willats
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed there a couple of weeks ago and my friend told me I need to write about the experience here. The room was fine, but nothing special. We had a two bed room. In the morning I had many bug bites. The person in the other bed had none. No hotel with this high of a reputation should ever have this kind of problem. And I really don't understand why they wanted 2500p extra for two breakfasts when the room was aboup 5000p.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora O, Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. G M,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel and for bringing to our attention the concerns regarding the red bites which appeared following the stay and it is most alarming that any of guests are affected by these.

Following this we have taken steps to bring in an international pest control company to assess the situation and I am pleased to inform you that their findings were negative. However despite this we would like to express our true disappointment regarding the experience you had in our hotel and do most sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and any discomfort caused. As we currently in the midst of our rainy season there is an increase in many airborne insects which can cause bites such as these.

In reference to the other charges you had made mention of, these were in fact for the upgrade to the Club and Executive Lounge facilities which affords you those additional many benefits, such as complimentary afternoon snacks, evening cocktails and the private breakfast buffet all with access to the luxurious lounge facility.

We would sincerely hope that you allow us an opportunity to regain your trust and loyalty in our hotel and I ask that for your future booking please do this through the office of the General Manager, Mr. Alex Willats. We will be certain that your next visit will be an unforgettable one for the right reason and we look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.


Kap Khun Ka,

Shariza Relova
Director of Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had a very short stop over coming from Dubai to one of the Philippine Islands. Service was friendly as always, room was nicely prepared as always: But the breakfast buffet which at least in my memory was remarkably good in the past years turned out to be just one of those very ordinary filipino breakfast services. The choice of dishes was down to a minimum. I came a bit late at 9.30: Salad for example was empty, other dishes waited to be refilled. All in all: Not really encouraging...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shariza R, Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr. JoggiDumaguete

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Philippines.

It is a regret to know that your breakfast experience was not to your expectations. Rest assured that this has been duly noted and shared with our culinary team to help us improve the quality of our service.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in your next visit.


Warm regards,

Shariza Relova
Director of Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location, fantastic Ambassador Suite(very stylish, lots of space, very comfortable and clean) and friendly, helpful staff. It was the ideal base from which to explore Manila and yet have some privacy and space to relax when we wanted. It was a very reasonable price - we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora O, Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr. KLM26

What a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful feedback from you here on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate you for taking notice of the design elements of our Ambassador Suite and our helpful staff. Rest assured that your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team.

We’d love to have the pleasure of having you as our regular guest as we have more facilities and services we would like you to experience.


Warm regards,

Shariza Relova
Director of Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel has a very impressive lobby. The new club lounge on the 17th floor is nice and comfortable. But the guest rooms are very old and even thought I paid for a club room rate, I think it is really not worth it. There is really no difference between a club and the standard room except for the access to the club lounge. I dined at the Benjarong, serving Royal Thai cuisine and was not impressed. If the cooks are non-Thai, I would have accepted the standard but if it is Thai cook, the standard is pretty low. The staff were efficient, courteous and attentive to your needs. The best of this hotel is the location. Walking distance to the few shopping malls like the Glorietta, Greenbelt, SM Department store and the many restaurants. I wish that the owner would spend to renovate the rooms. It is long overdue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shariza R, Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Ctsim,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Dusit Thani Manila. Since we aim at serving you to the best of our abilities, we are always interested in your feedback.

Your kind words regarding our lobby and Club Lounge are highly appreciated. However, it is a regret to know that we have not met your expectations on some areas.

With regard to your comments regarding the condition of our guestrooms, we are happy to share with you that we are currently undergoing extensive renovations, which will include the guestrooms, our All Day Dining restaurant as well as a new Lobby Lounge and Bar.

Indeed, we take great pride in the excellent service and warmth of our staff as well as our location, which gives our guests easy access to shopping and entertainment centers, and MRT, among others.

We hope for the opportunity to serve you again and win your trust and patronage back to Dusit Thani Manila.


Kindest regards,

Shariza Relova
Director of Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Manila Dusit
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila
Address: Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is situated in the heart of the Philippines’ premiere financial district located 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country’s major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 538 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, seven bars and restaurants – Basix, Benjarong, Dusit Gourmet, Pool Bar, Lobby Lounge, Tosca and Umu; DFiT Fitness Center and Devarana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.