We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant with welcoming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Thani Manila to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Makati
Maui
Level Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Elegant with welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a big, grand hotel, with spacious lobby and impressive numbers of staff. You are greeted at the door by an array of staff and a hostess will chat with you while you approach the check in reception counter. They are very attentive and want to please, they escort you to the elevator too and press the button! Our rooms were very clean, modern and quiet. We had city style view. In the worlds most congested and largest city of 28 million, it is nice to have a quiet and peaceful hotel. The breakfast buffet is absolutely amazing and will rival any fine cruise ship for array of items and appeal. The Thai speciality restaurant located inside the hotel is very good and we enjoyed a nice lunch there. I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival from Bali and they were efficient in arranging a private van to shuttle us to and from the airport. There were 3 couples and it was very convenient plus we did not have to negotiate a rate with cab drivers late at night. The local highschool was having a prom the night we stayed and it was absolutely charming to see all the students and their parents all dressed up and enjoying the evening. This hotel is in a great location. It is right next to the largest shopping center I have ever seen and we enjoyed our walks there to see the local markets and all the kinds of shops.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor but assume they all would be as quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    500
    196
    76
    51
See reviews for
211
240
130
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night and liked the location, close enough to the airport but in a nicer location with lots of good shopping malls close by. There is visible security around the hotel and on arrival we had a sniffer dog check our luggage. We had a late check in which was efficiently handled with friendly Thai styled service. The front office staff were also very helpful in facilitating a later check out at no extra charge. This hotel is reasonably priced if booked on line, but everything extra is very expensive, with a 750ml bottle of water costing 500php!

Our room, although non smoking, smelt of old smoke but otherwise was perfectly adequate. The breakfast buffet is extravagant with a huge variety of choices. The service was pretty poor at breakfast though and it was a major struggle to get a table for 5 people even though the restaurant was not full. After check out we waited in the bar area of the lobby for our airport transfer and ordered some drinks and something to eat. Again the service was extremely slow and we had to approach the bar to get anyone to come and give us a menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After 25 years on the road this hotel deserves my first review. I phoned a couple of hours in advance and asked them if my room was ready and they said yes. Upon arriving I was told room was not ready but for 2000 pesos per night (8000 total) I could have a suite. I was tired and took the suite. Dirty filthy, bed bugs and old beat up furniture made up this suite. When I complained nicely at end they agreed that they had other complaints on this suite but still offered very nicely to do nothing. My legs are still cover it bed bug bites and it makes no sense. Nice looking hotel, great staff, great gym and good breakfast. Not sure how rating system works but this is not a 45 star hotel and management agreeing with me and then refusing to do anything really is bad.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. The lied about my room being ready and upsold me into total disaster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms was older and needed a bit more care. Common spaces were sub-standard. Breakfast room has not been remodeled in ages and is showing signs of heavy use. Location is good. If you get it at a discount it can be a good value for that part of Makati.

I confess I selected the hotel because of the pictures of a big pool which turned out to be a major disappointment. The hotel pool is located alongside a freeway and the traffic noise is so loud that it is impossible to enjoy the pool in peace. If using the pool is a priority look elsewhere. I did not have problems with traffic noise in my room as it faced the other direction. Request a room that does not face the freeway.

Room rates were heavily discounted to $130 per night on the internet. I called the hotel and they said they would match this rate and they said they would using a special offer of paying for 2 nights and getting the 3rd free. In the end the bill arrived and it was more like $150 per night. So my advice is do not trust the booking department at the hotel and book on-line only.

All in all it was a pleasant, but not noteworthy, stay and the location in Makati is very good. I was very disappointed with the pool, a personal priority, and the booking department's false claims.

Under no circumstances would I book directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

3 nights at the Dusit Thani in Makati.

The good parts :

1) Great location : A stones throw from the taxi stand and nearby malls.
2) Good speedy check in.
3) Efficient and courteous staff.
4) Decent breakfast spread. Room service dining tasted good.
5) Lowest price amongst the upper end hotels in the area.

The bad parts :

1) Its understandable if a hotel and its structure gets old. But when you have bed linen with holes on it placed repeatedly on your bed... you gotta wonder. Please Dusit, its time to get new sheets. I have NEVER seen torn sheets even in low end hotels.
2) Really tiny TV in the room.
3) Really tiny safe in the room, with a broken LED display. Not big enough to place a 15" laptop inside it.
4) Lack of bedside central control to turn off the lights in the room. You will have to turn them off individually. You have to unplug the lamp to turn it off (no switch).


Despite the bad, its hard not to like the hotel. One would wish the management would do some minor modifications to the room to make it more modern. It would be a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 15 friends on our way to Truk Lagoon. Great hotel, lovely staff - can't do enough for you. We had to wait an hour for our rooms to be made ready - we where given a voucher for drinks to make up for this. Bar staff very good service. Rooms where excellent, spacious, good aircon, nice beds. Newspapers hung on doors next morning. Nice swimming pool and surrounding areas. Great buffet breakfast with vast variety of goodies to choose from. We chose the Japanese restaurant for our main meal, was cooked before us and was reasonably priced, not so good for vegetarians ask for meal other than meat, they are happy to oblige. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Very close to various shopping malls. Short trip to airport. Vast difference between the outside world of hotel - very poor - to the ambience of hotel itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location. It is surrounded by the malls in the Makati area and has easy access to the airport under 30 mins

I enjoyed my stay there. THe breakfast was the typical american styled ones and as the place is geared towards the Japanese guests, there is papers and TV channels and fod at the buffet lines as well

I tried the Umu restarant on site and the experience was great. Hotel was discreet with visitors and security was tight.

The thai hospitality is evident with the wais and the ladies at the lobbies greeting you at the start and end of the day.

I would stay there again and they even have the thais regular channels on their tv lineup

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 74 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 74 in Makati
4.5 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Manila
InterContinental Manila
#21 of 74 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is situated in the heart of the Philippines’ premiere financial district located 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country’s major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 538 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, seven bars and restaurants – Basix, Benjarong, Dusit Gourmet, Pool Bar, Lobby Lounge, Tosca and Umu; DFiT Fitness Center and Devarana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.