We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging Out at Dusit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Thani Manila to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hanging Out at Dusit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is our second Hotel this summer. Hubby got a courtesy overnight stay with breakfast for two being a patron of their wine and dine promo. We brought the kids and asked for 2 queen sized beds.

The hotel lobby was impressive with pretty orchids and bandas on display. We were entertained by a very kind young lady at the reception area and were in our room in no time. Room smelled and looked very tidy and well kept. Bathroom and the design of the room however seem outdated. There was a mini bar that had tiny bottles of liquors that were so cute I wanted to bring them home....until I saw how much they cost. Are those stuff really that expensive?

Dusit is in very close proximity to shopping malls and the cinemas so we went to get some school stuff for the kids and ate dinner as well. We intended to watch a movie but it was getting late and the kids wanted an early start at the pool the next day so we opted to watch some tv before calling it a night.

Woke up to the beaming morning light thru a peep i left at the window....we rushed to Basix for our buffet breakfast. Bread spread smelled and looked great. And indeed the pastries were wonderful. Hubby ate rice and the kids had pancakes. The staff were welcoming and very attentive to our needs.

We went straight to the pool and loved the set-up. It felt a bit unusual though. Maybe because of the sorrounding buildings and the sound of busy streets. Pool was not deep and just right for the kids. Water temp was just right. I recall this awful smell coming from somewhere...like a whiff off a rotting dumpster....well you can't have it all can you?

The stay was relaxing. The lobby was my favorite place...Extra poses near the central flower set-up and we were out!

Room Tip: If you're bringing kids, get a suite...so they can have some space to move around a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Jopot_128,

Being a Dusit Wine and Dine member is really advantageous as the membership comes with exclusive perks and privileges that the cardholder can enjoy, even his family. Such is true in this occasion. Nothing beats spending bonding moments with the entire family. That is one thing that Dusit Thani Manila supports - quality family bonding. Hence, we continuously provide room promotions and dining offerings that will surely be enjoyed by the whole family! Easy Weekeends Room Package and the Sunday Family Crossover Brunch are just some of them. We hope you can try them out on your next visit.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    466
    177
    71
    46
See reviews for
191
225
127
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We breezed through the check-in process and were promptly led to our room on a higher floor as requested, because we are light sleepers. The room with modern trimmings and all the necessary amenities did not disappoint, but the small bathroom needs upgrading. There was a musty smell in the corridor that was still evident in spite of the scent diffuser present.

Since this was only an overnight stay, we did not get a chance to try the F&B outlets, although being a regular diner at Basix (the coffee shop) I can attest to it being great value for its reasonably priced buffet spread at lunch, especially the Indian grilled specialties that are prepared right before you.

The hotel's location is top notch whether you're here on business, but more so if shopping is your thing, with SM Mall adjacent to the hotel and the Glorietta Mall, a few steps away.

Greetings with warm smiles were the norm by most staff particularly those at the lobby.

My wife and I have been regulars of Dusit for many years and will continue to be because it offers great value for your money considering the high level of service, location and food quality.

Overall, a great stay. Just wish they would renovate the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Park Square Mall if you want some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Miketri722,

Consistency in our service and offerings is our continuous thrust. And it gives us joy knowing that you have taken notice of these efforts and have great appreciation of them in your recent stay with us.

Basix, along with our other food and beverage outlets, takes great pride in the quality and array of its international dishes. It has also been home to various cultural and food festivals. The most recent one was the 10-day Singaporean Food Festival held in August where a guest chef flew in from Singapore and delighted our diners with his famed Hainanese Chicken Rice, amongst his other Singaporean favorites. We look forward to having you in our next food festival.

Thank you once again. It will be our pleasure to welcome you once more with our 'smiles' at Dusit Thani Manila in the near future.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from 23 to 28 August. This seems to be a Thai chain hotels since the greeting girls dress in Thai traditional customs.

The girls attending the lobby or hotel guesses are pretty but not problem solver. Once I asked one of them what was the best meeting spot in the lobby since my husband was supposed to meet visa agent whom he didn't how she look like. However after explaining extensively to this girl just to be directed to the concierge, and I was the one to repeat all over again. Either she was lazy or she didn't have a clue what was being explained.

The taxi standing by in front of the hotel was a rip off. Costing 450 pesos from the hotel to the airport. We didn't expect for the taxi to charge without any meter and we were stupid not to ask before entering. It seems that the driver was familiar with the people in the hotel. We just thought that the taxi would be professional one. We just found out that the real cost was 150 pesos.

Aside from that, the experience of staying in the hotel was ok. The double glassed windows guarantee your sleeping quality just beware the running balcony for workers to clean the windows, when you think that at 16 floor noboby's watching.

The standard of cleaning is ok except when the maid cleaned the kettle with dirty cloth.

Beside all the negative points, this hotel is very close to the malls, big supermalls were within walking distance and inter-connected from one to another.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Arizalbaby,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us at TripAdvisor.com. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We took particular note of your comments and have taken necessary action to ensure that the concerns you have raised will not happen again.

We pride ourselves on offering the highest standards of service and accommodation to our guests. We are truly sorry if on this occasion we failed to meet those standards. We thank you for your understanding in this matter and profoundly hope that we may have another opportunity to restore your confidence in Dusit Thani.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

location : it located by greenbelts and sm mall
so very convinience
price : not bad
service : really nice. very kind and speedly service
other : spa and restorang is very good. i recomand that

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Redherring2,

Your appreciation of our product and service is highly appreciated. Having you here at Dusit Thani Manila is truly our pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manila.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Dusit recently on business. The rate was great compared to the amenities included on our group code. Club level king room was comfortable and well furnished, Internet was fast and club level concierge service was outstanding. Laundry was included and was a key feature; six pieces daily left in room in the morning and returned in the evening. The restaurants were good; breakfast buffet had many options and the royal Thai restaurant was delicious. Gym was above expectations for a hotel and the proximity to the shopping and business districts excellent. Staff were courteous and helpful. All in all an excellent value for business travelers; will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear RockyTheDog,

With your kind words and appreciation of your stay at Dusit Thani Manila, thank you very much. We can't wait to welcome you again in your next visit, especially so that we are launching the new Dusit Club Lounge end of this year, which promises to provide a whole new dimension of luxury and convenience. Indeed, to have you back will be our pleasure.

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If there was a 3.5 rating, I would've selected that. I think 4 is too high already but 3 is quite unfair since it was a comfortable stay anyway. Although as the title says, there was not much to rave and be excited about. We booked a room since we had a private all-night event in one of the bars downstairs (RJ Bistro).

It used to be called Hotel Nikko Manila Garden but was renamed into Dusit Thani some years back. It seems as if only the name changed and no major renovation was done since obvious signs of wear and tear are visible all over, such as worn out tiles, scratches on furniture, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danelle P, Public Relations Manager at Dusit Thani Manila, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Khun JBarracuda,

There is nothing more important to us than our guest's feedback, whether good or bad. Thank you very much for your inputs. This allows us to see both the advantages and disadvantages of the hotel from our guests' perspective.

To mention a few of the recent developments here at Dusit Thani Manila, the hotel underwent a massive refurbishment including the lobby, guestrooms, ballroom, boardrooms and restaurants which ended in 2008. In 2010, the monochromatic repainting of the facade took place while this year, Dusit Thani Manila unveiled its Vertical Garden - the very first in the hospitality in Makati. This year, we will launch the new Dusit Club Lounge which promises a new horizon of luxury to all our Club guests. We look forward to have you again once this is unveiled.

Thank you so much and wishing you all the good things in life, like travels and luxe acommodations!

Kap Khun Ka,

Danelle Palang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Dusit Thani Manila in July 2012. We stayed in an Executive Suite and the room and furnishings were well done. The restaurants were another story. We gad a romantic dinner in Tosca as a part of the package I purchased. The food was really good, but the wait staff was slow. The next night we dined at the Japanese restaurant, and were greatly disappointed. The service was only OK, the food average, and the place had a rancid smell to it. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and appeared to be the be the best managed restaurant in the hotel. At check out, I was charged for the diner at Tosca even though it was included in the package purchased. The staff member attending me took the charge off, but it should never have been there to start with. This is a nice hotel located near the interesting places in Makati. They do need to pay more attention to detail for the hotel to live up to it's name.

Room Tip: Check the hotel web site for promos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Manila

Address: Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1223, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Family Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Manila 4.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Manila is situated in the heart of the Philippines’ premiere financial district located 25 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 15 minutes away from the country’s major convention centers, right-at-the-doorstep shopping malls and entertainment centers. With 538 guest rooms and suites, 11 meeting and banqueting rooms for up to 1,000 persons, seven bars and restaurants – Basix, Benjarong, Dusit Gourmet, Pool Bar, Lobby Lounge, Tosca and Umu; DFiT Fitness Center and Devarana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Dusit Thani Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Hotel Manila
Dusit Makati
Manila Dusit Thani Hotel
Dusit Hotel Makati
Dusit Thani Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.