We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value for money, good facilties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Millennium Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Millennium Makati to your Saves list
Somerset Millennium Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 104 Aguirre Street | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, good value for money, good facilties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel every month on business. It is well priced with a functional gym, decent pool, quiet clean and good sized rooms. Hotel staff are professional and well trained. Not 5 star but worth more than what you pay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    109
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
22
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel for a week, on the second day we noticed some interesting items in the room , mushrooms were growing out of the carpet. This was definitely a surprise to find this. When we mentioned this to cleaning staff they said it was due to the humidity. This was pretty amusing compared to the other things that happened.
On check in the porter offered to get our bags out of the taxi, which the next morning we discovered that they had left a bag in the boot of the taxi. When we addressed this with the staff, they said that it happens all the time and its not their responsibility.
The noise from the lift in the rooms is ridiculous, all night this was being used.
Staff in the restaurant were extremely lazy and did not want to know you, breakfast was also not worth the trouble as I only eat cold Chinese takeaway after a big night on the town.
Internet is ridiculously slow, if it worked at all. Not amused with the price of this either.
It takes two or three phones over an extended period to get reception staff to do anything.
This hotel is extremely overpriced and if you have the option look else where.

Room Tip: Look else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was in Manila unexpectedly for a weekend and booked a hotel at the last moment – I needed somewhere near the airport and the Somerset Millennium seemed reasonably priced with four stars on TripAdvisor. I don’t think it deserves that rating, certainly my experience did not.

Online I booked an Executive Studio, which turned out to be just a standard room when I checked in. There was an empty refrigerator and an electric kettle but no tea or coffee supplies. Internet was an extra 620php per day and not included with an online reservation - apparently it is included if you book through the hotel, in which case the total room rate is very close to the online rate. Breakfast was included and is reasonable. There are no frills in the bathroom, simply a soap dispenser and no slippers, gown, shampoo, toothpaste or other amenities are provided. But the major disappointment was that although the hotel web page advertises an “airport shuttle” this turned out to be a private car for which the hotel charges 1800php or about ten times the taxi fare.

The reception staff are charming but very slow. The room carpet was dirty, the bed was comfortable and the shower worked, but for US$120 per night I think one can do much better in Manila.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was here for about 6 weeks, on a company rate, escaping the grittiness of Malate for the innocuous safety of Makati. It was not a good start in that the room quoted was not what I had expected, and I was eventually given what I had expected at a higher price. Having to sign a contract also meant that I had to pay the full amount even if my work was completed earlier. The front desk was courteous but were clearly working to a limited set of direction.
I did have a nicely renovated studio. It was open and light, unlike the studio I was initially assigned which was no different from a regular hotel room. The best part was that I overlooked the swimming pool, so the sound of the water jets was soothing, like being in a spa. Room size was good, with efficient and functional layout. The kitchenette was limited, however, and you wouldn't try to do any serious food preparation. Breakfast is available and quite a decent and somewhat varied spread.
The street is bland and boring, with a convenience store across the way. You wouldn't bother with it, as around the corner, a block away, is Rustans supermarket. And 2 blocks the other way, on Sunday mornings, is the legaspi community market. Beyond the supermarket is shopping centre galore, Greenberg 1-5, connected to glorietta 1-5, plus 3 major department stores. Restaurants galore.
The service staff is helpful when asked. The sniffer dog is very cute. The swimming pool is good for laps, and in a very peaceful setting. The gym is quite well equipped. The is a small spa, run as a separate business, but you wouldn't go out of your way for it. In all, a reasonable sanctuary for the craziness of Manila.

Room Tip: Level 11 renovated studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First, the good things. Excellent property and location. Near Greenbelt Mall which is a must for exchanging money, shopping for travel items. Rooms and suites are huge and nicely furnished. Facilities excellent, staff generally helpful.

I have a problem with hotels that quote a firm rate prior to taxes, communicates that VAT taxes may and will apply, but then apply an additional 10% "Service Charge" on top of their bill under guise of it being a tax. Communicated this issue at check in and at check out, we had a firm quote, why not honor it, why under quote then make up through a service charge? Complaints met with ambivalence. Really left a bad taste given how expensive rooms are at this place, despite how nice a place it is. Major buyer's remorse!

Free brunch - one would think that if you rent a suite, they could offer their complimentary breakfast to more than just 2 people sharing the suite? Not alot of money to charge 300P per person for additional breakfasts, but come on, after spending $250 US a night, I think you could give 4 complimentary breakfasts.

One last warning -- be aware that Sommerset Millennium Makati shares a name with Sommerset Olympus and other hotels in the Astor Hotel Group. Any calls I made to confirm my reservation were routed to a different hotel (i.e. "we cannot find your reservation Sir") and contact with Sommerset Millenium Makati was very difficult prior to being in-country. Phone numbers on their website are not accurate. Taxi from the airport even had difficulty finding this place as other sister hotels with similar name are nearby.

Room Tip: Get a firm quote on your room, insist that you are aware of all charges that will apply. Negotiate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent service apartment in Makati with good location. It's close to Greenbelt and Glorietta shopping mall, only a few minutes walk. The place is quiet and the street does not have too much traffic. We stayed in 2 apartment units which were massive, tidy and elegant. Each unit is fully furnished ideal for family with kids. The swimming pool is nice. The staff were very helpful, polite and accommodating. This hotel is definitely good value for money. Overall, this place is amazing would highly recommend to everyone looking for a luxury place on a reasonable hotel rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Major malls are just around the corner. Few hiccups when we checked in, room smelt musty and cupboards in one of the rooms were not clean but, these were addressed immediately. We booked a 2 bedroom de luxe and it was big enough for a family of 4 and a kid. We requested (months in advance) a room with a view but was told that there's only few available on the higher floor and there's none available - seems like only the selected few gets the view or maybe you have to pay extra. Beddings were great. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped. On our last night, I noticed a foul smell coming from our en-suite which I did not bother complaining as we were checking out the next day. Overall, good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Millennium Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Millennium Makati

Address: No 104 Aguirre Street | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Millennium Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 30 stories over the vibrant business and commercial district of Makati City is the relaxing haven of Somerset Millennium Makati. Conveniently located in the heart of Legaspi Village, it offers a panoramic view of the bustling metropolis and the tranquil bay area. Its welcome proximity to the luxurious Greenbelt Malls where a variety of restaurants and entertainment venues are available presents a wealth of lifestyle options for the discerning traveler.Featuring a selection of spacious and comfortable serviced residences, comprehensive living facilities and modern amenities, Somerset Millennium is the ideal venue for a comfortable cosmopolitan lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Millennium Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Millennium Hotel Makati
Somerset Millenium Makati
Somerset Millenium Hotel Makati
Somerset Millennium Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Millennium Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.