We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Millennium Makati

Save Saved
You added Somerset Millennium Makati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Millennium Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 104 Aguirre Street | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Makati
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“An expensive oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was here for about 6 weeks, on a company rate, escaping the grittiness of Malate for the innocuous safety of Makati. It was not a good start in that the room quoted was not what I had expected, and I was eventually given what I had expected at a higher price. Having to sign a contract also meant that I had to pay the full amount even if my work was completed earlier. The front desk was courteous but were clearly working to a limited set of direction.
I did have a nicely renovated studio. It was open and light, unlike the studio I was initially assigned which was no different from a regular hotel room. The best part was that I overlooked the swimming pool, so the sound of the water jets was soothing, like being in a spa. Room size was good, with efficient and functional layout. The kitchenette was limited, however, and you wouldn't try to do any serious food preparation. Breakfast is available and quite a decent and somewhat varied spread.
The street is bland and boring, with a convenience store across the way. You wouldn't bother with it, as around the corner, a block away, is Rustans supermarket. And 2 blocks the other way, on Sunday mornings, is the legaspi community market. Beyond the supermarket is shopping centre galore, Greenberg 1-5, connected to glorietta 1-5, plus 3 major department stores. Restaurants galore.
The service staff is helpful when asked. The sniffer dog is very cute. The swimming pool is good for laps, and in a very peaceful setting. The gym is quite well equipped. The is a small spa, run as a separate business, but you wouldn't go out of your way for it. In all, a reasonable sanctuary for the craziness of Manila.

Room Tip: Level 11 renovated studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    106
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
22
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First, the good things. Excellent property and location. Near Greenbelt Mall which is a must for exchanging money, shopping for travel items. Rooms and suites are huge and nicely furnished. Facilities excellent, staff generally helpful.

I have a problem with hotels that quote a firm rate prior to taxes, communicates that VAT taxes may and will apply, but then apply an additional 10% "Service Charge" on top of their bill under guise of it being a tax. Communicated this issue at check in and at check out, we had a firm quote, why not honor it, why under quote then make up through a service charge? Complaints met with ambivalence. Really left a bad taste given how expensive rooms are at this place, despite how nice a place it is. Major buyer's remorse!

Free brunch - one would think that if you rent a suite, they could offer their complimentary breakfast to more than just 2 people sharing the suite? Not alot of money to charge 300P per person for additional breakfasts, but come on, after spending $250 US a night, I think you could give 4 complimentary breakfasts.

One last warning -- be aware that Sommerset Millennium Makati shares a name with Sommerset Olympus and other hotels in the Astor Hotel Group. Any calls I made to confirm my reservation were routed to a different hotel (i.e. "we cannot find your reservation Sir") and contact with Sommerset Millenium Makati was very difficult prior to being in-country. Phone numbers on their website are not accurate. Taxi from the airport even had difficulty finding this place as other sister hotels with similar name are nearby.

Room Tip: Get a firm quote on your room, insist that you are aware of all charges that will apply. Negotiate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent service apartment in Makati with good location. It's close to Greenbelt and Glorietta shopping mall, only a few minutes walk. The place is quiet and the street does not have too much traffic. We stayed in 2 apartment units which were massive, tidy and elegant. Each unit is fully furnished ideal for family with kids. The swimming pool is nice. The staff were very helpful, polite and accommodating. This hotel is definitely good value for money. Overall, this place is amazing would highly recommend to everyone looking for a luxury place on a reasonable hotel rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Major malls are just around the corner. Few hiccups when we checked in, room smelt musty and cupboards in one of the rooms were not clean but, these were addressed immediately. We booked a 2 bedroom de luxe and it was big enough for a family of 4 and a kid. We requested (months in advance) a room with a view but was told that there's only few available on the higher floor and there's none available - seems like only the selected few gets the view or maybe you have to pay extra. Beddings were great. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped. On our last night, I noticed a foul smell coming from our en-suite which I did not bother complaining as we were checking out the next day. Overall, good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent staff - providing quick and top service. This makes a big difference in the quality of my overall first visit of Philippines. We stayed here for over a week out of the 2 weeks travelling through the country. I also liked their lounge and swimming pool facility etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in serviced apartment type hotels in the Makati area before.This one was not nearly as nice or up to date in furnishings as others for the money. In fact I thought the web site pictures were a bit deceiving as they made the rooms look larger and the furnishings better.

The staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast buffet was not great....not even close.

The location close to Geenbelt is very nice....probably the biggest plus.

The internet was extra and a bit pricey.

I will go back to where I stayed last time for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What immediately struck me about this hotel was the service. The front desk staff was universally and incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were large and well appointed. Bedding was excellent. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Millennium Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Millennium Makati

Address: No 104 Aguirre Street | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Millennium Makati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 30 stories over the vibrant business and commercial district of Makati City is the relaxing haven of Somerset Millennium Makati. Conveniently located in the heart of Legaspi Village, it offers a panoramic view of the bustling metropolis and the tranquil bay area. Its welcome proximity to the luxurious Greenbelt Malls where a variety of restaurants and entertainment venues are available presents a wealth of lifestyle options for the discerning traveler.Featuring a selection of spacious and comfortable serviced residences, comprehensive living facilities and modern amenities, Somerset Millennium is the ideal venue for a comfortable cosmopolitan lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Somerset Millennium Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Millennium Hotel Makati
Somerset Millenium Makati
Somerset Millenium Hotel Makati
Somerset Millennium Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Millennium Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.