We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than good for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Millennium Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Millennium Makati to your Saves list
Somerset Millennium Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 104 Aguirre Street | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than good for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent staff - providing quick and top service. This makes a big difference in the quality of my overall first visit of Philippines. We stayed here for over a week out of the 2 weeks travelling through the country. I also liked their lounge and swimming pool facility etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
22
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in serviced apartment type hotels in the Makati area before.This one was not nearly as nice or up to date in furnishings as others for the money. In fact I thought the web site pictures were a bit deceiving as they made the rooms look larger and the furnishings better.

The staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast buffet was not great....not even close.

The location close to Geenbelt is very nice....probably the biggest plus.

The internet was extra and a bit pricey.

I will go back to where I stayed last time for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What immediately struck me about this hotel was the service. The front desk staff was universally and incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were large and well appointed. Bedding was excellent. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

In a backstreet behind Greenbelt 1, the location isn't too bad if you want access to the restaurant and shopping options of the Greenbelt and Glorietta complexes.

The rooms themselves aren't too bad - got all you need for a short home away from home.

What lets them down is their service and their fitness facilities.

I took one look at the pool and decided the water looked as if it was harbouring all sorts of things I wouldn't want to come into contact with. There were a couple of sun loungers but the setting was so grim I chose not to use them.
The gym was slightly better but still not exactly a selling point for the property.

My main gripe though was the service I received. I advised reception there was a problem with my Sky connection early on the Friday morning. 5 calls later, two visits from the engineer and by Sunday evening it still wasn't fixed. It was only when I asked if I could be transferred to one of their sister properties that they gave anything like customer service - ie they moved me to a different room. Initially I thought this was a strange solution given that they had been telling me all along the problem was with the satellite dish on the roof but went to check the room anyway. Lo and behold, the digiboxes in both the living room and bedroom worked fine, giving me all the channels I should have had.

I also thought it a bit odd that they had their security dog sniff my bags before letting me enter the property (every single time) and then also wanted a security person inside the entrance also inspect the contents of my bag. Overkill?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was sufficiently well equipped and the shower was hot. There is a good gym which got this review the third dot, and it is withing walking distance of greenbelt.

But the service is very, very slow. It took me 20 minutes to check out. The internet is very slow, and on one day it did not work at all. The breakfast is very limited and tastes cheap, served in a tiny room, which only just fits in the guests and staff.

Not a great hotel and very expensive for what you get, but compared to others that I have stayed in Makati it is not the worst by a long way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A friend of mine recommended one of the biggest rooms found in Somerset Millennium in Makati city, its pretty spacious for a 1 bedroom unit since it has a separate bedroom, living room, dining, and kitchen. Stayed here for a week with two of my college buddies and it really has great interiors! the kitchen was just okay but the living room had great space to relax in. The internet connection was fast and gives value for your money. The guards and other security personnel we're friendly as well. Had a good swim before we left, I am thinking of coming back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The guards are agressive and rude. It is astounding that this is part of the Ascott Hotels Group. Whereas the guard at The Ascott in Makati (at Glorietta 3) will gently wave a security wand by your bags, this guard would not let me check a room (with a hotel employee and my two-year old) without going through my bag with a stick. When I tried to get his name to report his behavior to the Ascott Group, I was stonewalled by 4 guards all lined up for full intimidation. It was dumbfounding. There is so much more to this situation, but there isn't enough character allowance to go into it.
Suffice it to say, because of work I have travelled almost all of the world. I have never been moved to write on Trip Advisor before this experience. That should say something about how bad this experience was. There are plenty of great places at this price range in charming neighborhoods- I know this. I have lived here for two years. I was doing my homework on the best place for my family to live while we have to stay in temporary quarters as it will take 2 months for our household items to be moved to our next destination.
For the record- I love and have loved my time in Manila.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Millennium Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Millennium Makati

Address: No 104 Aguirre Street | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon 1229, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Millennium Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 30 stories over the vibrant business and commercial district of Makati City is the relaxing haven of Somerset Millennium Makati. Conveniently located in the heart of Legaspi Village, it offers a panoramic view of the bustling metropolis and the tranquil bay area. Its welcome proximity to the luxurious Greenbelt Malls where a variety of restaurants and entertainment venues are available presents a wealth of lifestyle options for the discerning traveler.Featuring a selection of spacious and comfortable serviced residences, comprehensive living facilities and modern amenities, Somerset Millennium is the ideal venue for a comfortable cosmopolitan lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Millennium Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Millennium Hotel Makati
Somerset Millenium Makati
Somerset Millenium Hotel Makati
Somerset Millennium Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Millennium Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.