We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, No praises either !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines to your Saves list
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK EARLY, SAVE MORE!
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No complaints, No praises either !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I usually stay in stay in either one of the two similarly-priced neighbouring hotels across the road and therefore in a position to compare this 3 hotels. In terms of overall value, I would place Berjaya as 2nd. Service at Berjaya was good & friendly and I did not have to wait long for the lift - unlike the other two hotels - which is important if you are on a business trip. The lobby lounge has a different live band every night - a good meeting place. Hotel location is excellent - a 5-min walk to a supermarket , pubs and several restaurants inside a small Mall.

My only disappointment was the( limited ) view from my room - Room 1112. This was a more expensive ( spacious ) room and you would expect a decent view. But 80% of the view was blocked by a condo . The Wi-Fi was non-existent and the Breakfast was below average -unlike the other two hotels nearby.

In conclusion, I would still stay in Berjaya again on my next trip IF the price is competitive with the other two nearby hotels - because you can't have everything unless you stay in a 5-star hotel. But only if I can get a room with a decent view - ie facing the Avenue Mall and on a higher floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay here in our hotel. I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our friendly service and excellent location.

We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Berjaya Makati Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    258
    179
    70
    25
See reviews for
38
68
69
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A very tired hotel which needs an upgrade. Bed very hard. Carpet worn, stained, dirty. Light in the wardrobe never turned off on all night. Bathroom needed bleach badly. Tiles under the sink not attached.
Service was very good from behind the front desk to the bar and restaurant. Very central to everything.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel here in trip advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you.

We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Ah, home away from home... Having been a regular guest, by now I know by heart that the right lift will be under preventive maintenance (since March), one will need ear plugs to cross the lobby from 8pm onwards as there is deafening live music, and anticipate the little touches of discovering the original colour of the rather dark carpet in the particular room where little square replacement patches fill the burn patches made by the cigarettes of previous visitors (oh yes, on the non-smoking floor...)

This being said, some efforts are being made to improve the place, the renovated upper floors are much nicer. Wireless internet is dismal, but in the renovated rooms there is a cable connection, which works perfectly.

Overall it is a very good value in central Makati, with rates being half or less of the more recognised brands further up Makati Avenue.

Room Tip: Floors 20 & 21 have refurbished rooms and cable internet connection which is much faster than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay here in our hotel.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. We are committed to you our valued guests and are taking immediate corrective steps.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments complimenting the location and good value for money of our Hotel

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice hotel in a central location. The rooms are Ok, like what you expect from a major hotel chain. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of foods. Wifi did not work when we tried it. The best thing about this hotel is its central location. Also, it was relatively affordable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our Hotel during your recent stay. Appreciate your kind words and good comments about the good location with affordable price of our hotel, nice room and breakfast with wide variety of food

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,
Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is my first on my maiden voyage to Asia and has contributed to an unforgettable time. Stayed here 5 nights. Very friendly staff being customer satisfaction oriented and good services for a very reasonable price.
Great location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at tripadvisor regarding your unforgettable stay here in our hotel

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about customer satisfaction oriented of our staff, very reasonable price and great location of our hotel.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Berjaya Makati for 12 days and the experience was really awful. The front desk staff are very inefficient especially the lady Marichu. They promised WiFi but it was non existent on the 16th floor. They tried to attend to the problem but it constantly lost the signal. The room was without a fridge, the carpet was dirty and patched, the bathroom tiles were broken and there was no hot water or pressure in the bathroom. The room is so dimly lit and there are no plug outlets to charge any phone or computer. Asked for a weighing scale and they have just one in the whole hotel which they reluctantly lent to me for 10 minutes. I was so frustrated with my stay there, I asked to see the manager on 3 occasions but sadly he was not able to meet me as I guess he was too busy or more likely he just did not care about the guests that stay there. The front desk even charged me 15 pesos for a phone call that I did not request. Sounds like desperation on the part of the hotel to collect every centavo from guests. The rooms need overhaul, the towels were frayed and stained and so were the sheets I got. Would not stay in this hotel again as the standard has gone down from the last time i stayed in it in 2011. Mr. Manager please look into the complaints if you can spare some time from your busy schedule.

Room Tip: Complain about it and they will give you a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the hotel, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused and any upset you.

Rest assured that we take your dissatisfaction very seriously and I have personally brought your comments to the attention of all relevant Department Heads.

The lack of service you have experienced is in no way indicative of the usual standards of our hotel and I regret that we not able to meet so we would have done everything to minimize your disappointment with regard to the problems.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and I personally hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Berjaya was awesome with reasonable prices .. free breakfast and the food is delicious.. pool is clean .. gym is there.. beautiful views but dont get too late coming back because traffic will hit you for an hour.. staffs were great and smiles all the way to your stay.. bath is clean and services are packaged :) very well secured place.. though tubs are there the color of it is very much used needs a little cleaning but over all everything is great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at tripadvisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments that made your stay memorable and enjoyable. Comments like this continue to inspire us to do better in servicing our guests and clients.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Address: 7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently tucked away in the verdant city of Makati, Berjaya Makati Hotel sets in the hub of urban wealth showcasing abundance of West and East culture. Setting itself apart from the others, the hotel not only gives easy accessibility to shopping malls but also to business trading in Manila. BERJAYA MAKATI HOTEL OPENS 3 NEW EXECUTIVE FLOORS. Berjaya Makati Hotel continues to offer its guests only the best hotel experience with the opening of three more floors boasting of 33 deluxe-level rooms.From having 179 rooms, the hotel will now have a total of 212 rooms with the opening of three new floors in July. Berjaya Makati Hotel, one of the recent players in Makati City’s bustling hotel industry which is currently enjoying robust growth and a steady influx of guests, now gives more options to visitors who are more discriminating with their choices.The new rooms, located on the 23rd, 24th and 25th floors of Berjaya Makati Hotel, have complete amenities at par with accommodations in pricier hotels. With the recent addition of 33 premium accommodation options, Berjaya Makati Hotel intensifies its mission of providing only the best to its guests, in line with the global hotel chain’s tradition of giving memorable experiences worth coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western
Best Western Makati
Makati Best Western
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.