We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and service but bad pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines to your Saves list
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE NIGHT OFFER
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and service but bad pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Okay hotel. Nice rooms, service. The pool was horridly cold and not scenic. Was never brave enough to enter the pool again. City Garden has a really nice pool on the roof just down the street. Spa was closed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay here in our hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

Very much appreciate your comments about the nice rooms and service of our hotel

For info our swimming pool do not equip with hot water facilities and the hotel never have any Spa operation in Hotel before

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it has caused you and we are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    245
    165
    64
    24
See reviews for
28
62
66
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
givaatiim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

stayed twice at this hotel, each stay for 1 night. The hotel has great location, it's very clean and provides good atmosphere. We liked it's bar and resturant and the rooms were big enough and very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorazmanC, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your great stay with us.
Very much appreciate your comments about the great location of our hotel and you like our bar, restaurant and room.
Looking forward to meeting you when you are back to stay with us for the third time.

Thank you.

Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Berjaya for 10 days ( starting 11th march 2013) at the excustive room at 23rd club floor... It was a good, clean and spacious room... Bathroom is clean but the hot water need a little time to get warm...

The staff are so so friendly , i never felt they are haztating to do my requists... Check in was so fast and as i requist throw my booking online at berjaya.com...

The resturant is good ... Many choices at the menu and the life band is amazing...

The saftey is high inside and around the hotel...

The location is great for buisness trip.... Near to every thing you need and also near to a lot of nightlife places....

I recomendthe the hotel... And for sure gonna stay there next time...

Thank you berjaya hotel staff... Thanks mr. Andrew ( bell boy) night shift... Thanks mr. Tall guy( i caaled like this) at side door night shift... Thanks mr. Gerry the driver of hotel taxi... Thanks me. John And mark at returant

Thanks and Regards...
Engr. Turki althubaity
Saudi Arabia

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerjayaMakatiHotel, Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Engineer Turki Althubaity

Greetings from Berjaya Makati Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our staff that made your stay memorable and enjoyable.

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Berjaya Makati Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Maria Aurora Rementilla
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel as we had to travel to the North mid-way. We got the refurbished room on our first visit. The room was spacious and the bed was big. The bathroom was nicely decorated too. There were built-in universal adaptor plug, near the desk, for use too. However, we got the older room on our second visit. It was decent but there were some minor problems - the TV reception was not as good, the hairdryer was rusty, etc.

There are free in-room WiFi but we have problems connecting on our second visit. It could be that the hotel was full house then.

The reception service is okay in general. The porters were very prompt and helpful in assisting with the luggage because of the flight of steps, from the drop-off point to the hotel entrance.

The breakfast is average and variety can be improved. You can have your dinner at the restaurants and fast food outlets nearby. I was told to take a cab to the closest train/rail system as it is not easy to walk. The traffic in Makati is very heavy too, but the good thing is that it is less than 30-mins car ride to the NAIA airport (if the traffic is smooth).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
March 20, 2013


Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay here in our hotel.

The minor problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. We are committed to you our valued guests and are taking immediate corrective steps.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our staff that made your stay memorable.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Makati district which is handy to the airport. We had booked via a travel agent. We did get the king bed and non smoking room as requested but there was definitely and air of old cigarette smoke. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, hard as a rock and left us with a terrible nights sleep. The bar was comfortable but again the indoor smoking at the bar was extremely difficult to deal with and we had to leave. The menu in the restaurant was extensive. The meal we ate were was quite acceptable. The most disappointing thing was that our agent had booked breakfast which was of no use, as one must leave very early for a morning flights due to the traffic density at all hours in Manila. The hotel offered an alternative breakfast to take to the airport. After carrying the package all the way through all the security, baggage check in etc we found a single plastic take away container containing what we believe to be a cheese and 'Ham' sandwich which was totally inedible. It was horrible. No drink was provided. We were hungry and so so disappointed with what we faced. They certainly made money out of this effort. We would not bother even contemplating this option for breakfast again. During the day there is the option to get transport via the transport officer out the front of the hotel who quoted us 600 pesos. The trip we took to Greenhills in a metered taxi which we hailed in the street cost 180peso!!!! We would think twice about staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Check the room out before taking the keys to ensure it is truly smoke free!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
March 19, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our hotel here in the trip advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department and the management. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it has caused you.

As for the indoor smoking at the bar, we do provide a non smoking area at the lobby with daily band performance every evening

Our Hotel do provide transport facility to guest from the transport counter at the Hotel but option being given to the guest to get the hotel transport or metered taxi

We are committed to you our valued guests and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a very bad stay at Berjaya Makati Hotel and caution everyone to think twice before planning to stay there. We made an online reservation for one non-smoking room with a king bed. When we got to the hotel, we were ushered to a room with 2 twin beds. We advised the Reception Desk of the apparent error, and were told that hotel records showed that we had reserved a 2-twin bed room. Good thing we carried a copy of our online reservation confirmation for a king-bed room which we showed to the reception manager (she wasn’t very pleasant to talk to; we felt that we were in fact inconveniencing her with our “request”). We were eventually moved by the rude reception manager to what was a non-smoking room with a king bed, which reeked heavily of cigarette smoke. We contacted the Reception Desk to request for a transfer to another room. Their solution was to send someone with an air freshener- totally unacceptable to us since masking the odor does not remove the carcinogens and the odor was too strong we didn’t think the freshener would work anyway. We politely but strongly suggested that they move us to another room, to which we were told that no other king-bed room was available. We said we’d be fine with a non-smoking queen-bed room if one was available. They found us one. The room was decent, smelled freshly cleaned, and appeared to have been refurbished recently. We happily settled in, only to find out later that one of the two lights in the washroom did not work and the fridge trays were full of water. It took two follow-ups throughout two days to get staff to come over and fix the light. We cleaned the fridge ourselves. The wifi periodically dropped the connection every few minutes too. Staff had to reset the router once to fix the connection, but the connection continued to get dropped even after that. If you’re a business traveler and need internet connectivity, this could be a big problem. Overall, the poor quality of the customer service and the malfunctioning facilities ruined our stay. We had stayed at this hotel when it was a Best Western Hotel, and had a great time. We were wrong to assume that we would get the same high quality service with the change in branding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
March 18, 2013


Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay in our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department and management. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you.

We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again for your honest feedback. Our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice place at the downscale End of Makati Ave. I like the Location between Greenbelt und Rockwell. Many nice Restaurants and Bars (not only Girlibars) around the corner. Hotel is well managed and the staff is friendly. never had a problem there. Prices are reasonable for this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
March 18, 2013


Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our staff that made your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Address: 7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently tucked away in the verdant city of Makati, Berjaya Makati Hotel sets in the hub of urban wealth showcasing abundance of West and East culture. Setting itself apart from the others, the hotel not only gives easy accessibility to shopping malls but also to business trading in Manila. BERJAYA MAKATI HOTEL OPENS 3 NEW EXECUTIVE FLOORS. Berjaya Makati Hotel continues to offer its guests only the best hotel experience with the opening of three more floors boasting of 33 deluxe-level rooms.From having 179 rooms, the hotel will now have a total of 212 rooms with the opening of three new floors in July. Berjaya Makati Hotel, one of the recent players in Makati City’s bustling hotel industry which is currently enjoying robust growth and a steady influx of guests, now gives more options to visitors who are more discriminating with their choices.The new rooms, located on the 23rd, 24th and 25th floors of Berjaya Makati Hotel, have complete amenities at par with accommodations in pricier hotels. With the recent addition of 33 premium accommodation options, Berjaya Makati Hotel intensifies its mission of providing only the best to its guests, in line with the global hotel chain’s tradition of giving memorable experiences worth coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western
Best Western Makati
Makati Best Western
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.