We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Save Saved
You added Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 64 hotels in Makati
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel as we had to travel to the North mid-way. We got the refurbished room on our first visit. The room was spacious and the bed was big. The bathroom was nicely decorated too. There were built-in universal adaptor plug, near the desk, for use too. However, we got the older room on our second visit. It was decent but there were some minor problems - the TV reception was not as good, the hairdryer was rusty, etc.

There are free in-room WiFi but we have problems connecting on our second visit. It could be that the hotel was full house then.

The reception service is okay in general. The porters were very prompt and helpful in assisting with the luggage because of the flight of steps, from the drop-off point to the hotel entrance.

The breakfast is average and variety can be improved. You can have your dinner at the restaurants and fast food outlets nearby. I was told to take a cab to the closest train/rail system as it is not easy to walk. The traffic in Makati is very heavy too, but the good thing is that it is less than 30-mins car ride to the NAIA airport (if the traffic is smooth).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
March 20, 2013


Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay here in our hotel.

The minor problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. We are committed to you our valued guests and are taking immediate corrective steps.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our staff that made your stay memorable.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    240
    163
    62
    22
See reviews for
25
60
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Makati district which is handy to the airport. We had booked via a travel agent. We did get the king bed and non smoking room as requested but there was definitely and air of old cigarette smoke. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, hard as a rock and left us with a terrible nights sleep. The bar was comfortable but again the indoor smoking at the bar was extremely difficult to deal with and we had to leave. The menu in the restaurant was extensive. The meal we ate were was quite acceptable. The most disappointing thing was that our agent had booked breakfast which was of no use, as one must leave very early for a morning flights due to the traffic density at all hours in Manila. The hotel offered an alternative breakfast to take to the airport. After carrying the package all the way through all the security, baggage check in etc we found a single plastic take away container containing what we believe to be a cheese and 'Ham' sandwich which was totally inedible. It was horrible. No drink was provided. We were hungry and so so disappointed with what we faced. They certainly made money out of this effort. We would not bother even contemplating this option for breakfast again. During the day there is the option to get transport via the transport officer out the front of the hotel who quoted us 600 pesos. The trip we took to Greenhills in a metered taxi which we hailed in the street cost 180peso!!!! We would think twice about staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Check the room out before taking the keys to ensure it is truly smoke free!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
March 19, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about our hotel here in the trip advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department and the management. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it has caused you.

As for the indoor smoking at the bar, we do provide a non smoking area at the lobby with daily band performance every evening

Our Hotel do provide transport facility to guest from the transport counter at the Hotel but option being given to the guest to get the hotel transport or metered taxi

We are committed to you our valued guests and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a very bad stay at Berjaya Makati Hotel and caution everyone to think twice before planning to stay there. We made an online reservation for one non-smoking room with a king bed. When we got to the hotel, we were ushered to a room with 2 twin beds. We advised the Reception Desk of the apparent error, and were told that hotel records showed that we had reserved a 2-twin bed room. Good thing we carried a copy of our online reservation confirmation for a king-bed room which we showed to the reception manager (she wasn’t very pleasant to talk to; we felt that we were in fact inconveniencing her with our “request”). We were eventually moved by the rude reception manager to what was a non-smoking room with a king bed, which reeked heavily of cigarette smoke. We contacted the Reception Desk to request for a transfer to another room. Their solution was to send someone with an air freshener- totally unacceptable to us since masking the odor does not remove the carcinogens and the odor was too strong we didn’t think the freshener would work anyway. We politely but strongly suggested that they move us to another room, to which we were told that no other king-bed room was available. We said we’d be fine with a non-smoking queen-bed room if one was available. They found us one. The room was decent, smelled freshly cleaned, and appeared to have been refurbished recently. We happily settled in, only to find out later that one of the two lights in the washroom did not work and the fridge trays were full of water. It took two follow-ups throughout two days to get staff to come over and fix the light. We cleaned the fridge ourselves. The wifi periodically dropped the connection every few minutes too. Staff had to reset the router once to fix the connection, but the connection continued to get dropped even after that. If you’re a business traveler and need internet connectivity, this could be a big problem. Overall, the poor quality of the customer service and the malfunctioning facilities ruined our stay. We had stayed at this hotel when it was a Best Western Hotel, and had a great time. We were wrong to assume that we would get the same high quality service with the change in branding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
March 18, 2013


Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your stay in our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department and management. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you.

We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again for your honest feedback. Our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice place at the downscale End of Makati Ave. I like the Location between Greenbelt und Rockwell. Many nice Restaurants and Bars (not only Girlibars) around the corner. Hotel is well managed and the staff is friendly. never had a problem there. Prices are reasonable for this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
March 18, 2013


Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here at trip advisor regarding your wonderful stay here in our hotel.

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments about our staff that made your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

No frills to be expected here. A simple hotel with nice pleasant staff. Did not have time to check out the food or the pool. Room was clean and tidy. Bed could be more comfortable though.

Easy access to convenience store and pharmacy, just walk out of the hotel and go to the left. Plenty of night life to be found in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
March 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Berjaya Makati Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our group was at the Berjaya Hotel on Saturday, February 9 for an overnight stay before heading back to San Francisco on February 10. Our group has utilized the Berjaya Hotel for 2 years straight and has brought much business to this hotel. That evening around 10 PM, I requested to utilize a function room for just 15 minutes to meet with about 6 people as the lobby area was noisy and loud due to the live band playing. Berjaya wanted to charge P3000 for 15 minutes which was ridiculous. When I informed them of the business that we bring - they still refused; when I indicated that I would no longer bring our group to Berjaya in 2014, the person suddenly said that we could use the room.....wait, one minute you want to charge me and the next minute you were willing to allow us the meager 15 minutes for free....sounds like the person wanted to "squeeze our group" for another P3000. The person that I spoke to was a dark-skinned, short Filipino man for management's information. As a result of this incident, our group will no longer be coming to the Berjaya due to the poor customer relations service, especially to a group which has brought over P100,000 to that facility in 2 years! Other than that incident, the facilities are just average. Not a very convenient location if you want to be in the heart of Makati. I will never recommend the Berjaya to anyone based upon their unwillingness to accommodate a former repeat business customer. On a positive note, the doormen were very good and polite...too bad the Saturday evening people connected to the Facilities Department are not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager_Berjaya, General Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
March 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel here in trip advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it has caused you.

For info our function rooms are located at the 3rd and 4th floor of the Hotel and are with centralize air condition. As for your request to use a function room at that evening around 10pm we have to reopen our one floor function room.

We are committed to you our valued guests and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Thank you.


Sincerely yours,

Norazman Chung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at the Berjaya Makati Hotel for 2 nights Feb 2013. I paid all up 90 usd per night. There was no mention of breakfast or not and when I saw the buffet and someone inviting me in I assumed it was free. I have been a serious business traveler for 35 years and have stayed all over the world in thousands of hotels. So when they say what is your room number and invite you to sit down, then well it must be free. No menu was given, no price listed anywhere. So I wasn't hungry and the breakfast was low class and after about 50 cents of food I left, but they QUICKLY chased me down and gave me a bill for 11.25 cents.
Agast, we then had an argument that lasted for two days with the manager trying to bust my balls for the cost of this food. An insulting Deejay Castillio.
Also no hot water, only warm, no plug in the bath, the lifts are confusing and the staff gets into your space too much with over-friendly “Hello Sir” gestures that don't mean anything except give me a tip. Room was dirty.. Internet lousy. Definitely not worth 90 usd for a night.
The feeling outside on the street with everyone trying to squeeze a few pesos out of you carries on right inside this hotel. The manager was happy to force some money out of me and other reviews state similar things.

Not recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerjayaMakatiHotel, Manager at Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel here in trip advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.


The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department.

However, booking through online is beyond our control. You have an option to choose whether you want rooms with breakfast or without. In your case sir you reserved a room without breakfast. In any hotel sir we have to follow whats written in your booking order. And upon check in, you were also advised by our Front office staff that breakfast is not included.

"Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies."

The staff were trained to greet and to be friendly to our guests without expecting anything in return. and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you for being too friendly.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.


Sincerely yours,

Maria Aurora Rementilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Address: 7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently tucked away in the verdant city of Makati, Berjaya Makati Hotel sets in the hub of urban wealth showcasing abundance of West and East culture. Setting itself apart from the others, the hotel not only gives easy accessibility to shopping malls but also to business trading in Manila. BERJAYA MAKATI HOTEL OPENS 3 NEW EXECUTIVE FLOORS. Berjaya Makati Hotel continues to offer its guests only the best hotel experience with the opening of three more floors boasting of 33 deluxe-level rooms.From having 179 rooms, the hotel will now have a total of 212 rooms with the opening of three new floors in July. Berjaya Makati Hotel, one of the recent players in Makati City’s bustling hotel industry which is currently enjoying robust growth and a steady influx of guests, now gives more options to visitors who are more discriminating with their choices.The new rooms, located on the 23rd, 24th and 25th floors of Berjaya Makati Hotel, have complete amenities at par with accommodations in pricier hotels. With the recent addition of 33 premium accommodation options, Berjaya Makati Hotel intensifies its mission of providing only the best to its guests, in line with the global hotel chain’s tradition of giving memorable experiences worth coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western
Best Western Makati
Makati Best Western
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.