We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Save Saved
You added Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PHP2066.00++
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Makati
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during CNY and found it to be a good choice. The room we had, on the fifteenth floor, was quiet with no outside noise. The large bed was very comfortable and the room itself was very clean. The room looks a bit dated with the shower in a bath tub, but was perfectly adequate. We would choose this hotel again.

Staff were mostly fine although one guy came rushing up to us when we were checking out and said he would get us a taxi (there are lots on the street). When we told him we were ok, he insisted and then got rather angry and was still trying to usher us into a particular taxi as we exited the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    240
    164
    62
    23
See reviews for
25
62
65
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We chose Berjaya Manila because the price was cheap and it looked snazzy in pictures. We followed the tips and booked a room that was on a higher floor so there is less noise and got a non-smoking room too since one TripAdvisor said those are the newer rooms. Thus we ended up with room 1601. problem is elevator took forever!!
One of the things I want in a hotel is the pool even though we never got to see it in Berjaya since we didn't get the time. I like berjaya because it's carpeted--i adore carpeted hotel rooms because it feels so nice on the feet. Sucks though because our room did not have a comfy chair and small coffee table, as seen in the Berjaya website picture of their deluxe room. Because Berjaya does not face the main road and because we stayed during the Christmas shopping bonanza, getting a taxi cab would take twice as long. Hence, I would advise to call the front desk and have them call a cab ahead of time or get numbers of taxi drivers that you know so that it is easier. But location-wise, it is near the girly bars (which I wanted to check out) and many nice restaurants.
Our room was measly decorated, bland, but atleast it had a big full-length mirror that I really loved. The TV was a flat screen, new, I guess since the hotel website shows a box-type tv in it. There was wifi connection which was good since we only brought our Iphone and Ipod. The bathroom was clean and their toiletries were cute and was appropriate for a 3-star hotel.

check out my blog for more pictures!
http://regineabby.blogspot.com/2012/01/hotel-berjaya.html

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

From the security guard,Bellman,Front desk are great very polite and helpful. Stayed for 10 days and have pleasant stay.I've stay in fifteenth floor non smoking room is nice and clean. Bottled water replaced daily. Different band playing daily.

Do not take any private service from the airport to the hotel,they are charging 750 pesos to 950 pesos and because it was a day before New Years day when I arrived, when I gave him thousand peso and he gave me 100 peso change, boss it is Christmas and I said is this what you do all the time,this is BS.I don't want to argue with this guy. I said to the driver take me to the hotel. From the hotel just take metered taxi to the airport and will cost less than 300 peso.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stay there last October 2011, but i don't want to stay there anymore, the hotel are old and dirty. Their staff are not nice, plus the place very crowded. So i won't recommend that hotel.

Room Tip: High floor have less of noise unit/
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Because of a system error, they made a double check-in, which meant someone was already occupying the same deluxe room they assigned to us. To make up for their error, they upgraded us to their premiere deluxe room.

It definitely turned into a blessing because their deluxe rooms looked worn out while their premiere deluxe rooms just got renovated. From the amenities (like LCD TV), to the furniture, down to the carpet, everything looks clean and new.

Location-wise, Berjaya Manila is very accessible. There are restaurants, convenience stores, and a grocery all around.

However, Berjaya is a little pricey if you get it based on their published rates. I personally think they have nothing unique to offer that makes it worth that price. But if you can get it at a promo rate like us, Berjaya is a good bet!

Room Tip: Get a premiere deluxe room or a higher type of room, nothing less
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I booked this hotel through Agoda,i found the hotel one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in ,now i have stayed in hotels in most of Asian countries ,i could not fault this place and the service was tops ,the room was cleaned every day to perfection, i had meals in the hotel and i found them to be top quality ,i will be back to stay in this hotel for sure,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Property seemed to be old, Not well manitained. Food was just ok. Service was ok. Ambience was ok. Location was good...walkable distance from the business district. Should improve the service quality

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Address: 7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently tucked away in the verdant city of Makati, Berjaya Makati Hotel sets in the hub of urban wealth showcasing abundance of West and East culture. Setting itself apart from the others, the hotel not only gives easy accessibility to shopping malls but also to business trading in Manila. BERJAYA MAKATI HOTEL OPENS 3 NEW EXECUTIVE FLOORS. Berjaya Makati Hotel continues to offer its guests only the best hotel experience with the opening of three more floors boasting of 33 deluxe-level rooms.From having 179 rooms, the hotel will now have a total of 212 rooms with the opening of three new floors in July. Berjaya Makati Hotel, one of the recent players in Makati City’s bustling hotel industry which is currently enjoying robust growth and a steady influx of guests, now gives more options to visitors who are more discriminating with their choices.The new rooms, located on the 23rd, 24th and 25th floors of Berjaya Makati Hotel, have complete amenities at par with accommodations in pricier hotels. With the recent addition of 33 premium accommodation options, Berjaya Makati Hotel intensifies its mission of providing only the best to its guests, in line with the global hotel chain’s tradition of giving memorable experiences worth coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western
Best Western Makati
Makati Best Western
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.