We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Rock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Rock to your Saves list
Palm Rock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6060 Palma corner Osias Sts | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Makati
cebu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“quiet and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for almost a week, and I can say that I was able to rest properly amidst the craziness that is Makati. The rooms are quite small but well arranged and clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful. This is a good place if you're only after a nice place to stay, minus all those frills fancy hotels offer. It is within a residential area so no traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi, Ivana! We're happy to know that you find our hotel quiet and cozy. We'll let our staff know what you think of them. We hope you stay with us again when you visit the Metro! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vancouver,Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The receptionist is very pleasant and patient and her name is Jaza. The guard outside Manong Edgar was very helpful. I love the area nice and quiet. I enjoyed my stay. There are two things that bugs me a little, 1. It's hard to find the place. 2. I wish you have a breakfast buffet. Other than that if I'm around the area I would want to stay here again..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for this review! We'll let our staff know what you think of them. We'll find ways to improve our breakfast. We'll be waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

After two weeks in rustic accommodations in the rural Philippines, this was just what the doctor ordered. The room was small but stylish, well-appointed and clean. We liked being in a residential neighborhood within walking distance of the Power Plant mall, which had all sorts of options for eating and shopping. (As a side note, we're not really into Shopping with a capital S, so we skipped all of the high fashion shops, but the National Book Store in the mall has a hilarious and quirky selection of postcards, books and stationery, which was fantastic.) The staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful. My only suggestion for improvement was breakfast; the breakfast and breakfast room were both somewhat bleak, and when we went downstairs at the agreed-upon time of 7, they were still working on getting things set up and asked us if we could wait for a while. Luckily, we had some wiggle room with respect to when we needed to leave for the airport, and they brought our breakfast (a plate of toast with scrambled eggs) to the room around 20 minutes later. It was really not a major problem, but it seems like the quality of the breakfast doesn't match the level of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baryongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for this review! Your comments about the breakfast are noted. We'll definitely do something about it. We hope you visit us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nice modern hotel in a safe residential area and close to the Powerplant Mall. Clean rooms and decent bed, the bathroom was a little small but acceptable. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerberus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for this review! We'll be happy to have you back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthEast Asia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Palm Rock Residences offered the best value of all the places we stayed in the Philippines. It's located around the corner from the Powerplant mall in a safe, residential neighborhood, but within walking distance to P. Burgos and a short taxi ride to the downtown malls (Greenbelt, Glorietta).

People have mentioned the school across the street being noisy - for us, it wasn't noisy at all during our short stay.

Our 5th floor room was small but very smarty designed. Clean sheets & bedding, nice bathroom amenities, good water pressure in the shower, and a large safe in the room. The flatscreen tv had a lot of international channels.

Breakfast options are Continental or Philippine-style, and you can chose to have breakfast in the dining room or delivered to your room.

The service was professional and friendly.

Bonus: The rooftop is great! There's a nice view of downtown, and it would be an excellent space for a private party.

Room Tip: If space is an issue, you may want to request a bigger room. For us, the space on the 5th floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CptWonderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for this nice review! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

friendly and accommodating staff. room is clean, neat and excellent. minimalist and i love the pieces of furniture. the location is safe and is near the Powerplant mall. i love the idea that it is actually situated inside the "village" so the place is really quieeettttt.....:) definitely a must for someone who just wants to rest and sleep all the time. Hahaha...i'll definitely go back to Palm Rock..you guys rock! blessings!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euniceantonioyanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for this review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Palm Rock. We're looking forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This wasn't a bad little place--especially for the money. It's a few blocks from the "party" area, and a few blocks from Powerplant Mall (Rockwell). There is a high school across the street which is busy and noisy. The windows in the rooms that face it do not cut down on ANY of the noise. People are out there honking, you can hear the school asemblies complete with blaring music. If you are thinking you would like to sleep late you better ask for a quiet room in the back of the hotel. For some reason I thought I was supposed to be a king but we ended up in something that felt smaller than a queen. A previous poster mentioned the hot water was hard to regulate and it is--so was the A/C. The breakfast is not bad, and it's free, so I'm not sure why people complain. If you like American food for breakfast, buy yourself some pastries or something and keep it in your room for the morning. The rooms are clean.

I didn't see any evidence that this hotel was a hotel for "lovers." It seemed to be your normal mix of people.

It is really really hard to get a taxi at this hotel during rush hour. We learned that the hard way when I was almost late for my doctor's appointment. The clerk the night before had told us to ask at the front desk about 10 minutes before we needed to leave. We asked even earlier than that. We waited 30 minutes and they were still "working on it." We ended up just walking over by the mall and were lucky enough to snag one that had just dropped someone off. The cab situation in Manila is almost ridiculous. Most also do not have a clue where this hotel is.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper. The ones in the front of the hotel are noisy when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingSuperMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmRockPH, Public Relations Manager at Palm Rock, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We'll use it to improve the services that we offer. We hope you'll still visit Palm Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.5 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#19 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aurum One Makati
Aurum One Makati
#15 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#24 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#20 of 79 in Makati
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
1.1 mi away
One Pacific Place Serviced Residences
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Rock

Address: 6060 Palma corner Osias Sts | Poblacion, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both of worlds. Days will never be dull in Palm Rock. Surrounded by the liveliness of the city, Palm Rock gives guests the convenience of living in the city while providing the comforts of home. Guests will enjoy the quiet neighborhood and can take advantage of its proximity to the fashionable shopping mall. Palm Rock is also 15 minutes away from the Makati's Central Business District and from three major shopping centers: Glorietta Center, Greenbelt and Bonifacio Global City. Guests who enjoy the night life will enjoy different boutiques and stores near Palm Rock like spas, bars, cinemas, karaoke/videoke bars, parks, and concert venues. Restaurants near Palm Rock can give guests a full range of choices to satisfy their cravings. Food options vary from Filipino, American, Asian, to European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Palm Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Rock Makati, Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing