We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Makati to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glorietta 1, Palm Drive | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Newish hotel with clean and quite modern rooms.
Rooms were quiet and the hotel is in a great location near to all the best malls.
Check in was fast but the waiting time to get a lift up to the floors was sometimes a bit long.
Nice rooms, good quality beds / pillows. Spacious too if you go for the one above standard.
Free wifi, well equipped rooms, powerful showers, big windows, reasonable view, blackout curtains, nice furniture, big TV.
Didn't try the food as the choice nearby is vast.
Friendly and more importantly efficient staff.
In Manila (Makati), I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing East. West faces building sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    254
    72
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
125
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was very disappointed with the service at this hotel. I booked an executive club room which meant access to the executive club lounge. Upon booking I was definitely advised this would be a great idea as its good value for money but upon arrival I was then informed that kids are not allowed in the lounge during 6-8 when it's cocktail hour, which they conveniently forgot to inform me during booking knowing I'm booking with two kids with me, they then offered us to go to the bar in the rooftop but upon getting there we were informed that there is a private party happening and that we had to go downstairs after being passed up and down the lift we finally got our drinks. The next night we went to the same bar to get our drinks to be then informed that we're not allowed to have anymore in that bar, even tho the previous night that's where we where sent, my husband apparently had to go to the club lounge and just bring food and drinks to myself and our kids, they must be so inconsiderate to think we went on holiday across the world just to be separated by incompetent staff that can't communicate properly with each other. I've been conned into paying for an upgrade when it doesn't even benefit me at all. Its also hard to relax when the doors kept slamming and you can hear people coming in and out of their rooms. During breakfast I was asked if I would like tea or coffee which I replied yes to which I never got and when I informed them that I'm still waiting for my beverage they just ignored me like I didn't even exist how rude. Staying here was complete waste of my money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMakati, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Makati, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your experiences in our hotel. I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for our lapses and shortfalls. We strive to provide our guests the highest standard of accommodation and we are very sorry to hear that we were not able to cater to your family's needs. I have discussed your feedback to the responsible departments and have strictly noted that such vital information should be shared and explained to guests upon reservation, and I have reminded our associates to ensure that all of our guest's needs are attended to promptly.

We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to provide you with a better lodging experience.

Sincerely,

Karim K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We had our family staycation in Holiday Inn Suites last November. It was a last minute decision and we made an excellent choice of booking a room here. The person i spoke with over the phone was very nice and polite. He willingly addressed each query and even suggested that i take advantage of an offer directly from them instead of doing it online through one of the online booking sites since it would actually be a little cheaper. So after my shift, i went directly and paid our hotel a day in advance. When we got there, we were attended to promptly and my daughter was evem given a halloween lootbag eventhough their halloween event was over. They were so nice! They allowed us to check in early(12nn$ and to check out late (1pm). The room was soooo nice! And the bed was so comfy.. I love the fact that they have different pillows to suit each one's tastes. My hubby and i chose the firm one, while my daughter took the soft pillows. What i love about this hotel, is its very near the malls. So we had time to roam around without having to take the car out again and worry abt parking. We loved the fact that kids eat free here. They even have plastic kiddie plates, bowls and utensils. So u wouldnt have to worry about any broken plates or kids not being able to carry their own when they go to the buffet table. My daughter had a great time choosing cereals and having differnt toppings for her waffle. She loved the bacon and donuts too! The array of food is just right for the price of the hotel. They were very attentive and we didnt have to call them to get our coffee cup refilled as they would immediately go to your table and offer u some.. They are so nice. :)

My daughter wanted to swim so i accompanied her to the roofdeck and i was immediately given a towel. If theres one thing id comment here, i hope they would add umbrellas near the swimming area. It was too hot during that time and the seats that had umbrellas were all occupied.

We had so much fun there and would definitely go back for another staycation. thank u Holiday Inn Makati! We enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
147 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The good - newest hotel on the block in a great location connected to the Glorietta mall. Has great service staff who are very eager to greet and serv. IHG guests are acknowledged and you can expect complimentary drinks and other privileges to be thrown in with your stay. Concierge was helpful and efficient in making local transport arrangements.

The bad - Lobby was small and elevators cannot cope with the crowd during the busy hours. Staff responsible for airport pick-up was not at the arrival area and only showed up after a call was made to the hotel.

And the SMELLY - the room I got stunk of sewage, very likely from clogged pipes in the bathroom. At first I thought it was just me or whoever came to clean the room has a blocked nose as the housekeeping staff did not even bother to use any air freshener to get rid of the stench. It got so bad the last night that sleeping with bathroom door shut failed to keep out the smell of rotten trash. Unacceptable for a new hotel. No complaints were made as it was a short stay but I will not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMakati, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Makati, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Y880,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your thoughts following your stay at Holiday Inn & Suites Makati. We appreciate your willingness to share us your comments and feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations from the Holiday Inn brand. Your feedback allows us to look into the aspects of our hotel that needs to be improved. Rest assured that our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer are collaborating to address the issue that you have raised about the quality of our rooms. In addition, we have also shared your experience to our airport service provider to avoid recurring inconveniences to guests in the future.

Nonetheless, we are glad that our associates were able to provide you with efficient service and that you enjoyed your IHG Rewards Club privileges.

You are a valuable guest at Holiday Inn & Suites Makati. We hope to demonstrate the improvements that will be made by having another chance to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Karim K
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very nice location next to the mall... Very clean and big room. Highly recommend this to family....
Bed is very comfortable
Gym little bit small they limited in there gym machine and dumbbells
Swimming pool nice but sometimes very cold during early morning

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I used my points to stay at this hotel and here in the US I find Holiday Inns to be rather mediocre. I was pleasantly shocked to discover this really first class property. Fresh, crisp sheets, very modern room, extremely clean. The staff was very professional and experienced. It felt more like a Ritz than a Holiday Inn.

The restaurant buffet was also superb.

Although I used my points the advertised price was around a hundred bucks.

Also only about 15 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Two of my friends and I booked for an overnight stay in this hotel for our yearly bonding after our company Christmas party which was held just near the area. This hotel is just in the middle of the Makati mall chains like Greenbelt, Glorietta, Landmark and SM. And is walking distance from MRT Ayala station. But we had to go through heavy traffic getting to Makati coming from Manila..anyway..
The ambiance of the hotel lobby was surprisingly nice, and you can't find it in the hotel entrance at the ground floor. It is on the 2nd floor where "Flavors" restaurant is, this is where we had our delicious buffet breakfast the following day. Food was good, almost same with the other 5-star hotels' breakfast we had, and the staff are all-smile which made us feel we are having a great morning!
Their pool is at the roof deck, just a simple rectangular-shaped pool, not that big, but it's ok, we don't swim lapses anyway. Oh! By the way they have a separate small kiddie pool where they have a lifeguard strictly looking after the kids, so I'm pretty sure your kids are safe there, but of course kids should still be accompanied by adults.
I like the room, it feels relaxing, feels like a home away from home. Their twin bed is big so it can accomodate 2 pax and yet still sleep comfortably. I love the pillows! It's soooo..i dont know how to explain it..soft? I wish I can bring it home! :) The bathroom is just big enough though we didnt have a bathtub, but the shower room is nevertheless spacious :) at least I don't need to limit my movement while taking a bath.
We paid the room for around 8000+ pesos or $188 for 3 pax with buffet breakfast, free wifi and parking.
Maybe if there's anything I didn't like much here is that they only have 3 elevators, so it always took us a while to get a ride at their lift.
Other than that, everything is a-ok, love the ambiance, the friendly staff and the service, the hotel looks simple but it's nice in there! And we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Makati

Address: Glorietta 1, Palm Drive | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#6 Spa Hotel in Makati
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#7 Business Hotel in Makati
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth of the Filipino hospitality as you check-in at the Holiday Inn & Suites Makati, Metro Manila's newest international hotel which is situated at the heart of Ayala Center in the Central Business District of Makati City. The hotel is approximately 30 minutes away from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, a 10-minute ride to nearby Bonifacio Global City & a short walk to the Makati Philippine Stock Exchange. It has direct access to Glorietta Mall, Ayala Centers world-class hub for shopping, dining and entertainment.Be delighted with our genuine service when you stay in any of our 348 guest rooms which are all fully equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, high-definition 40" LED TV, IDD/NDD telephone, mini-bar, work desk with high-speed Internet access and a multimedia panel. Moreover, Holiday Inn & Suites Makati offers excellent dining and entertainment through its smart casual all day dining, a hip and happening bar and a sky lounge. For guests' business needs, other facilities include meeting & function rooms, a boardroom, a business center, and an executive lounge. Have a relaxing time and soak up the sun by the hotel's roof deck swimming pool overlooking the cityscape. Experience the warmth, wealth and wonders of the Philippines with our close proximity to local cultural attractions. Relax and feel at home in a family friendly environment where Kids Stay Free, Kids Eat Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.