We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Jessie Rockwell Club

Chef Jessie Rockwell Club
G/F Amorsolo Place | Amorsolo Drive, Rockwell Center, Makati, Luzon 1400, Philippines
+6328907630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 914 Restaurants in Makati
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French, International, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rockwell's premiere fine dining establishment, Chef Jessie at Rockwell Club never fails to deliver international cuisines at its finest. Dining at Chef Jessie at Rockwell Club provides you with an unforgettable sensory experience that starts the minute you enter the elegantly decorated restaurant and ends long after you take your last bite of dessert. Chef Jessie at Rockwell Club's Main Dining Area is a 228.4 square meter space that is large enough to accommodate 150 pax at a sit-down event, and 200 pax for cocktails. Its mezzanine level is perfect for more intimate affairs—the 43.28 square meter space allows for 30 pax for a sit-down event, and 70 pax for cocktails. For more private functions, the venue also has a Private Dining Room. The 67.4 square meter area is large enough to accommodate 50 pax for sit-down events, and 40 pax for cocktails.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A must visit restaurant for any visitor to the Philippines. Quality of food without question; not to mention flavorful. Their soufflé selection is unbelievable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great service, food, and they can "read" situations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went here for a date since we haven't dined out anywhere fancy for months being busy with other things. I called for a reservation 1.5 weeks ahead, asked for a nice table - they confirmed the reservation 2 days before.

Went for the set menu for the day which was salad, then soup, then sorbet, the main course before dessert. This was about USD25, but for the quality of the food - it could have been priced so much more. The seabass with the salpicao was great!

When you dine in a Chef Jessie Restaurant, you have to order the souffle! We ordered the regular souffle and the dessert souffle and both were amazingly moist, tasteful and smooth.

The surprise came when we were about to leave, they gave us a chocolate mousse cake slice with lighted candles saying "happy anniversary!" - it wasn't our anniversary but we guess that the waiter/s overheard us talking about our soon to be anniversary!

Certainly made our visit very memorable, will definitely be back!

Side note, since it was a Saturday dinner - I expected the crowd to be more of couples but instead it was full of families. I guess this is expected being in the lobby of one of the Rockwell Towers, but this kind of made the ambiance less romantic because of the kids running around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food with impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've been to Manila 4 times and I've made it a point to stop by and dine at Chef Jessie. I ordered the rack of lamb and the tiger prawns and I must say that there is no place I have tried that can compare to the way this place prepares it. Ordering dessert here is always challenging. You will be amazed at their souffle selection; there are tons of options to choose from. They are all delicious!!!! This place has the BEST souffle ever! Even the ones I've tried in France cannot compare!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Chef. More work on the service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

To be fair, I arrived laste-ish in the evening and after a large function. However, having been left sitting alone and at a not-very-nice-table near the door, Mole took things into his own hands and, grudgingly, things began to happen. And, to be particularly fair, Chef Jessie herself came out of the kitchen (very quiet by this time, introduced herself, chatted, berated (nicely) her staff and produced an excellent steak tartare. As we have said before, it's all in the 'save' and I will be going back regularly because it is very clear that this charming lady REALLY CAN COOK and I am sure the service was just a bad hair night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I tried to eat this mix vegetable , ew it was over cooked and very salty it is like the chef was drunk before he cook....but the other food called grilled chicken was nice so maybe they just have a bad day , i mean the chef it cost Php350 next time i will refund my money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Jessie Rockwell Club also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Chef Jessie Rockwell Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Jessie Rockwell Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.