We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the fine print!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Makati to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Makati
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Sts., Makati Corner Kalayaan Ave, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Makati
dubai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Watch out for the fine print!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have now more or less got used to the Tune Hotels formula of 'charged only for the basic room, everything else extra' formula. Fortunately, as we had booked through booking.com, in advance, online, the 'extras' like 'comfort kit' (basically a towel, a small soap and shampoo), wi fi and tv programmes were taken care of. If you book at the reception or through the hotel website, you will need to pay extra for these.

First the positives: the rooms, though small (some folks complain they are too small) are very clean, and the location is OK sort of. It does get a bit dodgy at night as the hotel entrance tends to get a tad dark and there are GROs (hookers) etc. hanging around the 'sports' restaurant located near to the entrance.

Once you have got over the 'everything extra' pricing formula, there are unfortunately a hole list of negatives with Tune Makati. Firstly, the Sports restaurant at the entrance is VERY expensive. I paid close to Php 1200 for dinner and about Php 750 for breakfast for two pax. -The staff there also seemed to care only one or two hand picked 'special' customers and we had to really fight for their attention at times. There are cheaper meal options listed at the hotel, both pasted on the counter and displayed in the room. However the cheap rates apply only if you buy the meal voucher at the reception before hand. This is not clearly indicated. We ended up going to the restaurant directly and paying a neat package for our meals. The wait staff refused to entertain us with out the vouchers. We did find some ladies of questionable repute sitting in the cafe but they did not bother us, so why comment?
- The 'Seat in Coach' tours offered at the reception are very expensive. The tours turned out to be private tours in a luxury car. We should have suspected, looking at the price, but the brochure clearly stated 'Seat in Coach tours'. Although it did work out to our advantage in the end, the 'seat in coach' mentioned on the brochure is rather misleading, to say the least.
- Taxi drop off from the hotel to the airport is a total rip off. When getting to the hotel, we took a 'coupon taxi' for Php 400 odd. Although they reception did inform us that the 'Europcar' counter in the lobby will charge too much and offered to call us a taxi, their taxi charged me Php 650 to Terminal 1. My companion was charged Php 750 the following day. That too by the ordinary white city taxi, which we understood are attached to the hotel.
- The wi fi code expires and has to be renewed on a daily basis.
- There is no telephone to call the reception and you need to go down whenever you need something.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    159
    105
    28
    16
See reviews for
23
99
98
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a pleasant stay here in December 2012. The room was clean and a decent size. We didn't bother paying for aircon and in the first room we were given the fan didn't work but we were quickly moved to an alternative room. We paid for wifi which was good. The shower was the best we had had in weeks! It was reasonably central to places we wanted to go and we stored our luggage here for a few days (which we paid extra for) while we visited the rice terraces. A good option if you are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

By far and away for a short term stay this hotel is hands down the best in its class and price.

rates change daily so book online for the best possible rate.

Rooms are smaller then the norm but what sets this hotel aside from other is you pay for what

you use ie.... so if you want wifi in your room extra cost on top of your basic room charge, if

you want t.v with cable again an added cost, aircon also an extra cost... so you can actually pic

what you want and don't want and save money

beds are awesome and super comfy however my only down side is if your staying long term

your back may not appreciate the softness of the mattress(pillows are super fluffy (soft)

showers simple with hot water.

At the bottom of this tune hotel there is a bar called "Team Insider Sports Bar" which is a great

place to have

a drink and use the free wifi..... they have an excellent happy hour here with all you can drink

local beer or draft beer daily from 5pm to 8pm for only 295p!!! awesome atmosphere with

sports on the big screens all day or you can request whatever sport you wish

(take note on Sundays at howzatt sports bar, 2blocks away 595p all you can eat/drink roast

lunch with all the fix-ens... roast lamb/pork/beef all yorkies gravies, salad bar/ soup veggies

etc!!! its a great deal for a backpacker or anyone that just wants a good full lunch with a few

beers)

Room Tip: try get room above first 3 floors and at back of the building... 800s like 813 to 818 are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days last May and I'm satisfied with my choice. Well, it's a you-get-what-you-pay-for hotel. I had 3 different rooms (923,405,417) because I had to stay here in different dates so I think rooms have the same sizes. I loved the night view in room 923. What I liked about the room: comfy bed, simple but clean bathroom with bidet and hot water and the safety box. Wi-fi is okay but you have to pay for it daily. If you're going in Manila and you just need a room to sleep, well this hotel's okay for you. It is well-situated in Makati: easy to get a taxi and it's near Glorietta and Greenbelt (malls). You can get there in 10mins! If you're looking for nightlife, well P.Burgos St. (clubs,discos,etc.) is just across the street! After reading some reviews I should say that NOT ALL the staff is rude. There are some friendly, nice and helpful personel too so please don't generalize.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are very tiny but clean. The bed was comfy. The bed made up for some of the other shortcomings of the hotel. I had a very pleasant stay. The shower was adequate with a decent water pressure. The hotel staff for the most part was pleasant. The immediate surrounding areas was a little to be desired but I didn't feel threatened. PS, don't trust the laundry that is in the same driveway adjacent to the hotel, they lost some of my clothes and didn't press a shirt that I paid to have pressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

advantages:
1. The hotel is located near the airport.
2.In the hotel everything is computerized: key card, wall-mounted remote control air-conditioning, the button does not disturb button, fan, wifi in the room 3.In the lobby on the first floor there are full-fledged computers with free internet - very handy when you want to see a map of the city or check e-mail
4.chekaut of Hotel momentary - all well done computerize - give a card key to the Reception, the staff leans card to the reader, and if all the systems in a strand you say goodbye. The maid did not check.
5.In the 10-minute walk from the triangular park which is very pleasant to spend time in the evening
limitations:
1. There are the street's night life around which hanging contingent compulsively offering "massage"
2.Small area in rooms
3. breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. But it's not free, but at reduced prices - 199 pesos per person

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location is good. Accessible thru jeepneys. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Area is not in the main red district of Makati. Check-in is easy, just present the e-voucher and a valid id then the counter attendant will give your key card. Room is small but clean. No enough space for luggage but perhaps branches in the Philippines are a bit spacious compared to their branches abroad. Other amenities are with extra charge. We did not pay extra for an A/C since ceiling fan is just ok with us. Though, I felt that A/C is still working at a low temp. because it is still cold inside. Shower is great. Good water pressure. The only thing negative was that, we did not avail of their Television facility. However, it opened automatically at about 3:00 in the morning. It woke us up. We tried to locate the remote to turn it off but we could not find it. Also, at about 7AM, the A/C automatically turned on. Perhaps the girl at the counter mistakenly loaded our key card with those credits. Check-out is fast. No question asked, just hand the key card and leave. Just as fast as that. By the way, I only paid P12.30 per night. Booked those nights during their promo period.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Makati

Address: E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Sts., Makati Corner Kalayaan Ave, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Makati 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Tune Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.