We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best beds around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Makati

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Makati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Makati
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Sts., Makati Corner Kalayaan Ave, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 64 hotels in Makati
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best beds around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

By far and away for a short term stay this hotel is hands down the best in its class and price.

rates change daily so book online for the best possible rate.

Rooms are smaller then the norm but what sets this hotel aside from other is you pay for what

you use ie.... so if you want wifi in your room extra cost on top of your basic room charge, if

you want t.v with cable again an added cost, aircon also an extra cost... so you can actually pic

what you want and don't want and save money

beds are awesome and super comfy however my only down side is if your staying long term

your back may not appreciate the softness of the mattress(pillows are super fluffy (soft)

showers simple with hot water.

At the bottom of this tune hotel there is a bar called "Team Insider Sports Bar" which is a great

place to have

a drink and use the free wifi..... they have an excellent happy hour here with all you can drink

local beer or draft beer daily from 5pm to 8pm for only 295p!!! awesome atmosphere with

sports on the big screens all day or you can request whatever sport you wish

(take note on Sundays at howzatt sports bar, 2blocks away 595p all you can eat/drink roast

lunch with all the fix-ens... roast lamb/pork/beef all yorkies gravies, salad bar/ soup veggies

etc!!! its a great deal for a backpacker or anyone that just wants a good full lunch with a few

beers)

Room Tip: try get room above first 3 floors and at back of the building... 800s like 813 to 818 are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    113
    72
    20
    12
See reviews for
18
78
67
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days last May and I'm satisfied with my choice. Well, it's a you-get-what-you-pay-for hotel. I had 3 different rooms (923,405,417) because I had to stay here in different dates so I think rooms have the same sizes. I loved the night view in room 923. What I liked about the room: comfy bed, simple but clean bathroom with bidet and hot water and the safety box. Wi-fi is okay but you have to pay for it daily. If you're going in Manila and you just need a room to sleep, well this hotel's okay for you. It is well-situated in Makati: easy to get a taxi and it's near Glorietta and Greenbelt (malls). You can get there in 10mins! If you're looking for nightlife, well P.Burgos St. (clubs,discos,etc.) is just across the street! After reading some reviews I should say that NOT ALL the staff is rude. There are some friendly, nice and helpful personel too so please don't generalize.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms are very tiny but clean. The bed was comfy. The bed made up for some of the other shortcomings of the hotel. I had a very pleasant stay. The shower was adequate with a decent water pressure. The hotel staff for the most part was pleasant. The immediate surrounding areas was a little to be desired but I didn't feel threatened. PS, don't trust the laundry that is in the same driveway adjacent to the hotel, they lost some of my clothes and didn't press a shirt that I paid to have pressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

advantages:
1. The hotel is located near the airport.
2.In the hotel everything is computerized: key card, wall-mounted remote control air-conditioning, the button does not disturb button, fan, wifi in the room 3.In the lobby on the first floor there are full-fledged computers with free internet - very handy when you want to see a map of the city or check e-mail
4.chekaut of Hotel momentary - all well done computerize - give a card key to the Reception, the staff leans card to the reader, and if all the systems in a strand you say goodbye. The maid did not check.
5.In the 10-minute walk from the triangular park which is very pleasant to spend time in the evening
limitations:
1. There are the street's night life around which hanging contingent compulsively offering "massage"
2.Small area in rooms
3. breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. But it's not free, but at reduced prices - 199 pesos per person

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location is good. Accessible thru jeepneys. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Area is not in the main red district of Makati. Check-in is easy, just present the e-voucher and a valid id then the counter attendant will give your key card. Room is small but clean. No enough space for luggage but perhaps branches in the Philippines are a bit spacious compared to their branches abroad. Other amenities are with extra charge. We did not pay extra for an A/C since ceiling fan is just ok with us. Though, I felt that A/C is still working at a low temp. because it is still cold inside. Shower is great. Good water pressure. The only thing negative was that, we did not avail of their Television facility. However, it opened automatically at about 3:00 in the morning. It woke us up. We tried to locate the remote to turn it off but we could not find it. Also, at about 7AM, the A/C automatically turned on. Perhaps the girl at the counter mistakenly loaded our key card with those credits. Check-out is fast. No question asked, just hand the key card and leave. Just as fast as that. By the way, I only paid P12.30 per night. Booked those nights during their promo period.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been to go hotel and they have a similar concept with Tune Hotels so I tried it on my visit to Manila for a change and have similar expectations of a low budget hotel. I was disappointed about the following:

1. Room - the interiors have paints already peeling off!
2. Bathroom - It has no shower door which meant that the water will be spilled if you shower, also quite tacky as well and the floorings, the hotel used substandard flooring materials so you can see the dirt on the tiles.

I got confused about the add-ons as I thought the package that I bought with wifi/aircon/towel is a one off addition and I realized it is valid for 24 hours only and you have to get another one should you run out. Go hotel has this all-inclusive package with add-ons only of toiletries and breakfast. It can be stressful thinking that your airconditioning might be gone in the middle of the night because you forgot to top-up! I have to double check if water is included! Plus fresh towels are already included in the room!

I stayed there for 3 nights and they never changed my linens. I know because the pillow that I was using has this stain(?) on it and it was the same pillow throughout my stay.

My bed was made but it was never really cleaned in a way that the dust particles inside were still there.

The rooms are also not soundproof and I was unfortunate to stay in the 4th floor that I got woken up early in the morning (around 3-4am) by the sound of people cheering loudly because there is a sportsbar downstairs and there must be some game on. So pick a higher floor if you have the chance.

In the end, the room was around 1350 plus add-ons so if you would like to spend a little bit more and not worry about your wifi/cable/aircon running out then maybe go for gohotel. It's also not perfect but at least the room fixtures are slightly better and you don't have to deal with all the added stress.

The good thing about this place is the location as it is near A Venue if you want to grab something to eat although taxi drivers don't know the area too well.

I know this is not a 5-star hotel but I value cleanliness, sleep quality and better value for money and it's not so much to ask!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is an extremely mediocre hotel and not really worth the price.

This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that instead of artwork on the wall had a big poster of the menu for the restaurant and advertisement for other Tune hotels in the Philippines -----super tacky.

The room I had was very small. The airconditioner was one of those single unit ones, so it was super noisy. The hotel is in the run down section of Makati, but I did not find it particularly dangerous.

Overall this is just a mediocre impersonal hotel and an okay place to stay if you are not picky. I stayed one night and then moved to the Berjaya, where they were having a special for 2500 pesos ------- about $20 more than the Tune Hotel, but a huge room with all the amenities and a bit of personality.

Personally I will never stay in a Tune hotel ------ did not really like the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Makati

Address: E. Mercado Cor. F. Calderon Sts., Makati Corner Kalayaan Ave, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Makati 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.