We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, NOISY, pool closes Early!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Hotel Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Garden Hotel Makati to your Saves list
City Garden Hotel Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, Makati, Luzon 7870, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Makati
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, NOISY, pool closes Early!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed here 2 nights and there are several noisy construction projects ongoing which make sleeping difficult if you happen to be facing them. This was August, 08, but the projects seemed a long way to go before finish. I had a "noisy" room the first night and they moved me to a quiet room for the second which happened to be an upgrade (and at no extra charge - nice, and also unusual for Philippines lodging).

The rooms are clean and comfortable and have an in-room safe : ). The price seemed to match the level of accommodations appropriately.

The big dissappointment was the roof-top pool and jacuzzi closing at 6 p.m.!! which they strictly enforce. The elevated location offers a great view, which would be a romantic one at night -- what a waste! Also, the area is located away from any rooms, so it's not a disturbance factor. I asked several employees why they have this policy and none had a substantial response. One of the staff said this was becoming standard practice for hotels which is not true. I will not stay at this place again until this policy changes.

Also, on the down side is the billing exchange rate. I reserved the room and paid the deposit in U.S. $, but when checking out, the amount is converted to the local currency with the hotel taking a commission for itself. I wish hotels would just stick with their own currency during the whole process or at least allow the guests to prepay the entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    123
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
55
84
99
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

This is not bad for a 3 star hotel, if you're on a budget and have to be in the Makati district. The hotel is very clean and well maintained right throughout, from the lobby, the public areas and even the rooms.

The rooms have adequate space, with space for a desk, coffee table and queen sized bed. You will find that the bathroom is also ample in size. Amenities in the bathroom is quite simple. Complimentary bottled water is provided daily. The in-room safe is a little small for a laptop, so bear this in mind when travelling with a laptop and needing to leave it in the room.

The restaurant has a basic breakfast buffet. The waiters are a little overzealous in cleaning up your table, one time finding my half eaten plate missing after I had gone to get some juice. There is also a rooftop bar where you can have some food and drinks. A decent view of the surrounding area can be had at the top. The swimming pool is just around the corner from here.

The other hotel services are quite good. The hotel has many PCs available to use the internet. The hotel also offers 3 hours of free wireless internet everyday, via a voucher card, which is really handy. The hotel gym is located at the second highest floor, allowing a great view of the Makati district as well. Anyone needing to use an adapter will find that they will need to purchase one from the hotel at 100pesos, or about $2.50 US.

Overall service at the hotel is very good. The room service is quite prompt, housekeeping is even faster to bring you what you need. I must warn you that when checking out, this can be a long process taking about 15 minutes, whilst housekeeping check the minibar and confirm no extra charges are to be made.

The hotel is not located in the most wholesome neighbourhood of Makati. There are several girly bars in the vicinity, so it may not be appropriate for families if you're the type that like to just take a stroll from the hotel. Cabs are cheap though, so if you need to go anywhere away from the girly bar scene, then it won't cost you too much.

Overall, the hotel is ok. It provides a decent night's sleep and place for you to stash your luggage. Good for those on a budget, as you get great value for what you pay.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Location in sleazy district
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

So we turned up at Manila Airport without having a hotel booked as our usual option was full.
We actually had a shortlist of two substitutes hotels The Makati Palace and The City Garden.
Both in the Makati part of town and P. Burgos.
At the airport I spied a lady with a City Garden Sign and asked her if we could get a ride and if she could check the hotel for availability.
That done we hopped in the vehicle (which we had to pay for) and headed for the City Garden.

Everything at reception was very efficient and soon we were on our way to what we were told at the airport was a two bed suite.
The guy at the reception seemed happy that five people (including four adults) could all fit into the suite.
So imagine my surprise when we got to the suite and it was actually one room with a double bed and a single bed!
How the hell they thought that would work for five people I don’t know.

I went back to reception quite annoyed because I thought it was agreed with the lady at the airport that we needed two rooms one with a twin and a single and the other with a twin.
If we had those rooms then the cost which for a three star hotel in the Philippines is very high would have seemed slightly fairer.
The problem which we know from past experience is the hotels in the Manila area of the Philippines seem to forget they are in a third world country and they charge prices that would compare with New York or London.

Nothing could be done – I walked around to the Makati Palace but the price for two, rooms would have been even more.
So, I went back and had to swallow the almost double expected cost to add another room.

To be fair the Ciy Garden is in a good position, has a nice reception area, restaurant and pool area.
There are only two lifts serving a 20+ floor hotel so although they are quite fast, you can wait a log time for one to turn up at busy periods and usually you will have to squeeze in.
The rooms themselves are very nicely done, very modern and clean, with nice bathrooms, in-room safes and aircon.
But the reality is Manila is not New York or London and the rooms are simply to expensive n this town.
The hotel placed in somewhere like London would be a solid three star hotel with sensible pricing, in the Philippines frankly the rooms are crazy expensive.
If travelers had more time and information and wanted better value there are better options.
The place we would normally stay was full it’s just yards away from the City Garden.
I have done a review elsewhere on this site.
You don’t get the flash reception, the restaurants, or swimming pool, but you don’t sleep in the reception, there are restaurants all around and that just leaves the pool, If you can do without it call and save your money for the many exciting opportunities that this area of town offer! Whether you want to shop, eat, drink or party Makati offers lots of opportunity, you won’t want to miss.

  • Liked — Close to Rockwell
  • Disliked — Too Expensive
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

12 yrs of trraveling to Manila and I don't even think of booking elsewhere. Friendly staff, great rate for the room. Mind you the rooms are not big , but comfortable enough and clean. Wall safes are in ever room, air con always worked and great location. If you want big rooms book the Dusit ( my second chioce if CG is booked up) If you need travel via taxi to hotel make sure you SPECIFY City Garden in MAKATI, there are 2 city garden hotels in Manila. One negative comment is the pool for some idiotic reason closes at 6pm....but then I still jump in and ignore the staff ! Skip the hotel food ( i never eat at anyhotel) and go to Tainamien square or North Park (same side of street 2 buildings down towards greenbelt...good places to eat.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool closes at 6pm
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Makati is one of the nicer, upscale districts of Manila and the City Garden Hotel, without a doubt, reflects this atmosphere. I stayed in a single occupancy room with a queen size bed, beautifully appointed with contemporary wood furnishings, hardwood flooring, and granite bathroom amenities.

Even more impressive were the features of the hotel outside the room itself. The fitness facilities were first class (with the exception of the bench press, which needs to be updated) and offered a full circuit of strength training machines, free weights and aerobic treadmills and stair-climbers. The men's locker room (probably the women's also) was amazing- private wood sauna, showers, massage baths, and massage rooms. All of this with a view of the city through floor to ceiling windows from the 15th(?) floor!

The pool? It's on the top roof of the hotel, along with a full bar and outside restaurant! The view of the city is almost 360 degrees around!

The staff was always accommodating- even when I had trouble connecting to the wireless internet, they set an appointment for me to meet with the hotel's computer technician, who was both knowledgeable and helpful.

I couldn't have asked for more, even from a 5 star resort hotel! Anyone who rates this hotel less than 3 stars are themselves a problem, not the hotel! I plan to return to the Philippines next year and will not hesitate to stay here again! It would be difficult to convince me otherwise...

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

The staff is very well meaning but disorganized. Unfortunately, while this appears like a quality hotel, it does not deliver on that promise. I had to wait for 3 hours to get my room -- evidently, it had some "maintenance issues." The staff later admitted to overbooking. The room was hardly worth waiting for. The room was cramped, dark, noisy, and dank. The air-conditioner would sputter water on me while in bed. You hear the constant ringing of the elevator as well as the noise from other rooms (and they are noisy) all night long --- making it impossible to sleep.

Not worth it even with the seemingly "reasonable" cost.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

the hotel elevator is cramped and slow, the hotel has no noise proof walling, u can hear people coming and going. we stayed on the 12th floor. online booking not advisable. they would not give u complimentary breakfast.front desk arent smiling either!

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — most
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Garden Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Makati

Address: Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, Makati, Luzon 7870, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for expats, short or long term stay.Facilities includes swimming pool & gym plus full security surveillance camera.Nearby establishments:BDO bank, Makati Medical Center, Mercury drug, Mc donalds, Tropical hut, KFC, Chow-King, 7-11, Gasoline stations, Walter-Mart, Makati Square, Ayala Malls, Post office, Makati Police and Makati Fire station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Garden Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Makati
Makati City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden Hotel Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.