We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Hotel Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Garden Hotel Makati to your Saves list
City Garden Hotel Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, Makati, Luzon 7870, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Koeniz, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's my first choice when I have to stay in Makati. Friendly staff and good value. Since I arrive with my car I appreciate the available and quick car park service. There's a pool and restaurant on the top with great view over Makati. If you like an extensive breakfast you are at the right address.

Room Tip: There are rooms without view. If you don't like such make that clear at the reservation. Trust i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to know when guests take their time for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    129
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
57
89
102
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked a deluxe double room for 4 nights, based mainly on the location, cost and the fact that it had a pool.

My room was clean and big and there was lots of space to put my bags, etc.
There is free WiFi, but it was painfully slow. Another slight annoyance, was that even though I was on a high floor, I could hear the hum of the traffic at night.

The breakfast is served on the top floor, offering great views of the city, but the breakfast itself was below par from a European perspective.

The hotel is in a fairly good location, and the staff were friendly and professional. The pool is on the top floor, but is very small for a hotel of this size, and in the end because of the number of people using it, I never got to use it.
Also, for a hotel of its size, there was only 2 lifts, so it takes a while to move between the floors, and most of the people using it were the staff themselves.

All in all, the hotel was average, and at over $100 a night, not a great bargain (though hotels in the Philippines are more expensive than elsewhere in Asia).
On the plus side is it's location (yes there is better, - but you pay) and the room size.

Also, one hint, - when you are leaving in a taxi for the airport, make sure the meter is switched on before you get in and move off.

Room Tip: The higher the better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. We have noted your concerns and just to let you know that we are in the process of improving our WIFI network.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We still hope that you would consider us in the future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was nice, the rooms were clean, the staff is friendly, they have hot showers with a tub and pool. The hotel was fine really but I didn't like the location. It's off a very busy street so its hard to cross the street and getting to there and leaving from there in a cab will take extra time. The cabs make maneuvers to get out of the hotel that you would never see in US. It's also close to the night district, so when your outside getting a cab you get solicited by night girls, which isn't for me. I found other hotels in Makati that were cheaper, had the same quality rooms and were in a better location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. We have noted your concerns but we do hope that you would still consider us on your next visit in the future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed three nights in this hotel. Hotel is New. Rooms are very clean and neat. excellent linen and extra towels. B'fast is really good. Staff is extreamly helpful. I can say this hotel is value for money. everything what you want in makati is in short distance. close to Airport, Shopping etc.,

Room Tip: if you are booking non view room (inner room) ask room number ending zero. its a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked direct with the hotel via their site and had no problems on arrival. I did ask for the smoking rooms, and a whole floor is dedicated for smokers. Breakfast was a wide range including Filipino food and western. Located 10 mins to the business district and a bit further The Greenbelts.

Room Tip: If your a smoker let them know, they have a whole floor of smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. The room was average but loved the roof top swimming pool! The kids enjoyed it while me and my husband drank cocktails!! The view from our room (we were on the pent house floor) were just breathtaking... The breakfast were yummy!! The staffs really accommodated my request for dangit (fried fish) and bacon!! Each morning were different types of breakfast and everything were fresh. I just wish the rooms were a little larger. Location wasn't bad either. You get what you paid for.

I would definitely come back!!!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor.. Views, views, views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you gave us during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know where we have done well and where we need improve on. Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights. very clean and tidy . the staff was wonderful could not have been more helpful in everything we asked about or needed. The breakfast was good but was suited for the locals and not foreiners the rooftop bar and resto was awesome never seen better veiw of the city.but the higher you stay the better cause of the road noise. its one block away from the red light area but thats no major worry .. will we stat here again .. YES loved the rooms the staff the service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGHGM, General Manager at City Garden Hotel Makati, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time and giving us feedback during your recent stay in our Hotel. It's always good to hear from guests for us to know what we have done well and what we need improve on. We also took note of your comment regarding variety of breakfast catering to locals.

Your valuable comments will be shared with the rest of the Team.

We also look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Yours truly,

Johnny G. Rios
General Manager
City Garden Hotel Makati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Garden Hotel Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel Makati

Address: Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, Makati, Luzon 7870, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#12 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for expats, short or long term stay.Facilities includes swimming pool & gym plus full security surveillance camera.Nearby establishments:BDO bank, Makati Medical Center, Mercury drug, Mc donalds, Tropical hut, KFC, Chow-King, 7-11, Gasoline stations, Walter-Mart, Makati Square, Ayala Malls, Post office, Makati Police and Makati Fire station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Garden Hotel Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Makati
Makati City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Garden Hotel Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.