We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in the Heart of Makati's Red Light District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   518 P. Burgos Corner Durban Street, Makati, Luzon 1210 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Hong Kong SAR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in the Heart of Makati's Red Light District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Manila and Makati are suprisingly ill-equipped for the budget traveler... ie, the one that doesnt want to pay the price to stay at the Shangri La or the Peninsula, but the also the one that doesnt want to stay in what basically amounts to a Hostel. That's where the Oxford Suites comes in. The price is very reasonable for all amenities, ie. something comparable to a top business hotel like the Shangri-La's Traders Hotel for example. The suites (and yes, they are suites), are equipped with everything. It's spacious, designed tastefully, the lighting is nice and varied, TV has plenty of channels. Staff is very nice and there is a bar and restaurant downstairs. The only thing that sucks is that the water heater didnt really work (ie. warm instead of hot water) and that the breakfast was pretty dry and tasteless. But the staff were very helpful and parking is free (if you have a car and driver.) All in all, the neighborhood may be dodgy, but this hotel sure is a great alternative... of course until Manila or Makati figures out how to open its first real "boutique hotel".

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Amazing Rooms.
  • Disliked — The Neighborhood was not so good.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    81
    63
    18
    22
See reviews for
8
32
52
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

We wanted a nice clean safe hotel for use in transit on the way t beautiful Boracay.
Okay - its not far from the airport, and the facilities are okay, but
#1) The "concierge" directed us to the WRONG AIRPORT. That is just not something i expect from a hotel that deems itself a "business hotel"
#2) EVERY time we had them call us a taxi, it was a shady taxi which would demand we bargain and not use the meter (PS - we didnt have that trouble outside shopping malls etc)
#3) The room service food is terrible, avoid
#4) If you are uncomfortable about staying across the road from "Club Bottom" and other classy establishments then think again.

  • Liked — Relative proximity to airport, clean facillities, Makati City is pretty safe
  • Disliked — A concierge who misdirected us to wrong airport, shady deals between staff and taxis
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jake5148
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

The place is clean and the people are friendly enough, I would say it is a 3 star hotel with internet, cable tv, air conditioning, 24 hour room service, a gym, The rooms are clean, etc. The main attaction to this place I think is its location. It is literally in the middle of P. Butro in Makati. There are "Bars" as far as the eye can see in every direction when you walk out side the lobby, I am actually sitting in the lobby writing this at the moment and a girl just came and sat next to me, waiting for her "boyfriend". I will be honest the price is relatively cheap and the hotels it self is quite nice but the relentless amount of Bars and seedy locals kind of get to you after a day or so, you just want to walk down the street with out having 12 hookers and 5 pedlers approach you offering you sex or watches. You can stay here and enjoy your self but it will get old after a couple of days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — too many hookers and people selling things
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

The hotel rooms are great, as is the lobby and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The only problem is that you have to walk down a street full of seedy bars to get to it! Once you're off that street in fact you are in quite a good location, near to the main shopping area. For me, though, I dreaded walking through that area each time I had to go back to my room. It's a shame because the hotel itself was lovely and the price was reasonable, but because of its location I would not go back there.

  • Liked — typical 4 to 5 star accommodation
  • Disliked — the area it was in
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

A well appointed hotel with friendly staff.

The rooms are spacious and very clean with Cable TV, good air conditioning and decent bathrooms

The staff cannot do enough to help and are very cheerful

There are some downsides

The elevators are glacially slow and, if you are on the top floors, expect a 20min wait to get to the lobby.

The location is right on Burgos st with its go-go bars and all that entails. The people selling dodgy DVD's and the women offering massages are not in the slightest aggressive, but it will not be to everyone's taste.

The hotel seems to turn a blind eye to "lady visitors" and you get frequent sights of plump, middle aged Europeans with frighteningly young Filipino women in the elevators and the lobby.

The laundry and internet charges in the hotel are very high, use the many net cafes locally and the "Let's Talk Dirty" Laundry next door which is cheap and efficient

I would definitely stay here again for its friendly staff and ammenities. But, its location means it is not suitable for everyone

  • Liked — Staff, Cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Wait for elevators
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Had a lovely stay at the oxford from 24/12/07 to 02/01/08 had great company with my fiancee Angel llauderes i realy love you with all my heart can't wait till april when we marry. Opp's sorry the hoterl is in the red light district not my cup of tea but was ok. Staff in the hotel were all friendly, food was ok great room service would i stay there again yes but the only thing putting me off was the road noise could here it from room 2101 thats on the 21st floor. Apart from that great hotel plus great company.

  • Liked — Room was cosy but a little dated
  • Disliked — traffic noise from room 2101 on the 21st floor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

I recently stayed in the Oxford Suites Hotel, (not for the first time), which is situated slap bang in the middle of P. Burgos St, Makati, Manila. For those that don't know, this is the bar area - and, by extension, the "red-light" area.

This is not a cheap hotel, but it is clean and very centrally located for those who are enjoying the unique "culture" for which P. Burgos St is famous!

Rooms are large, clean (as mentioned) and the bathroom was good. Cable TV was excellent but the buffet breakfast I would only describe as adequate. Staff very helpful and friendly, although do be careful to check your bill when you check out. I found that I had been charged for items from the well-stocked room mini-bar which I had not consumed - unfortunately too late to do anything about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati

Address: 518 P. Burgos Corner Durban Street, Makati, Luzon 1210 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati is a 27-storey, 232-room property located at the heart of Makati's Business & Entertainment district. The hotel is ideally located 30 minutes from the international & domestic airports and just minutes away from the commercial center and shopping malls such as Greenbelt and Rockwell.Patterned after the emerging trend of boutique lodging found in Los Angeles and London, BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites hotel rooms and amenities are designed to meet the needs of the world traveler.BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati is located at 518 P. Burgos Street, Makati City 1210, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Makati Hotel Makati
Oxford Hotel Makati
Makati Oxford Hotel
BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.