We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location - not too bad hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   518 P. Burgos Corner Durban Street, Makati, Luzon 1210 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad location - not too bad hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked this hotel based on average reviews - it was for a business trip and I expected a business environment. The hotel itself is clean and although quite run down, not bad. I found the staff to be very friendly and pleasant. The problem with this hotel, and the reason it is one of the cheapest 3 star hotels in Makati is that it is located right in the heart of the red light district. I was approached at least five time when entering of leaving the hotel and it is surrounded by adult clubs. DO NOT bring your family to this hotel. This also makes it quite un-safe compared to any other hotels in the area. Hotel lists that it has a gym, well it does, but it was covered in dust and did not look like it had been used in years. Their business center was also a joke I would not use it if forced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    77
    56
    15
    18
See reviews for
6
28
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights back in April when our friends came into town. I dont have a problem with the hotel overall, but as noted its in dire need of upkeep. Our problem is that many nights while there, we ordered delivery from local places we know of. Places we frequent often. In the hotel, the delivery people are not allowed up, the guards will come up and give the food and collect the cash. We tipped the guard, but left a tip for the deliver guys as well with the guard. This was clearly stated every night. We later learned that the guards were pocketing the money. Stealing the delivery tips. When we approached one guard in particular an argument ensued and the manager asked us to not discuss this problem in a public area. We were not loud though. The manager, a short stubby guy, was rude in the main lobby and no matter what we said, the guard was protected. The delivery guy would not come forward after he told us the story as he has to deliver there again. We actually had this happen to us in the past, so checked it with the delivery people at Angels. Oxford guards can NOT be trusted, the night manager is rude and the hotel overall will be a pass for us. They also allow the local prostitutes to congregate on their outside wall and stairs to pester the walk by guests.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Without doubt one of the wosrt 3 star hotels I have stayed in anywhere, The service was non-exitistant and the quality of the rooms poor. The toilet leaked and despite asking for it to be looked at it still leaked. The bathroom basin did not work (and that wasn't fixed either). It took 30 minutes to check out.

Room Tip: Give it a miss,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Noisy Oxford Hotel.

I have stayed 126 days at Oxford hotel, and though it was time to write a little review of this hotel.

Being located in Makati, Manila, the rooms are fairly expensive.

The location, if you are on a holiday which including a lot of bar hopping, is perfect, as the hotel is located smack in the middle of one of the so called red light districts in Manila (P. Burgos street, Makati).

The check in procedures are fast.
The staff is extremely polite, and speak fluently English.

The elevators represent a problem, since there is no assigned service elevator in this hotel. Thus the staff (room service, housekeeping, etc) use the same elevators as the guests.
This is of course ridicules.

The noise in the corridors is immense.
This is mainly from housekeeping staff, starting early in the morning.
They seem to totally ignore the fact that inside each room with a Do Not Disturb sign, a guest is trying to sleep (or don’t want to be disturbed).
High volume on walkie talkies, mobile phone ringing, and the yelling to each other through the corridor.
Again, the staff is very friendly and polite, but totally ignorant to this issue.
Making a complaint helps only for one day.

There seem to be a serious communications issue between the reception and Housekeeping. Numerous of times I have asked for something (from HK), and called the reception, nothing has happened at all.
This have happened so many times, it lead me to think there is friction between these two departments within the hotel.

Food delivered with room service is normally fast, and tastes ok. No issues there.

The air condition is very efficient, but extremely noisy, and sometimes wake you up, since the main unit is located just outside the window, by your bed.


Amazingly enough, the hotel has not offered me one single day discount, or any upgrades whatsoever, after I have stayed there regularly (2-3 times a year), and have passed 120 nights at that hotel.
I never bothered to ask about this.

Conclusion is I will probably NOT RETURN.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed in Oxford Suites Makati a couple of times from 2007 - 2011. My Latest was June 2011 for 2 weeks. It's been consistent at least with me. Most of my review is in the form of hints.

It is a three star hotel in Makati, Small lobby with two restaurants, three elevators and 26 Floors. Better than average rooms for a similar level hotel in Manila.

Restaurants and Food:

They have 2 Restos. and Room Service. Food is average and they have a breakfast buffet for 10$ Approx. I tried it couple of times its OK with hot and cold food. They offer free water and two types of juice. The restaurant is located on third floor with a good view of Makati Ave. Nothing much to see except the overwhelming traffic but its a view. There is something entertaining about watching traffic in an airconditioned room.
Room service is the same quality as third floor resto. When ordering make sure you ask them to repeat your order. They always confuse the orders.

Note: When checking in, ask to get the breakfast buffet as complementary. Don't take no for an answer they will eventually give in for at least couple of days.

Location:

The location is great, Its few minutes by taxi from most of the malls and shopping centers of Makati. Location is also great for single men up to no good. There are 20+ go-go style bars just outside.
The location also is safe. Security men and police are plenty outside. Never had a problem or even saw one except the occasional beggers.

Rooms:

The rooms are ok. Its an old hotel but surprisingly ok furniture. TV is good with 30 plus channels. Cnn, BBC and the usual plus plenty of flippino and asian channels. Many channels have English programs undubbed. There is a comedy channel called Jack TV which plays American sitcoms and programs like American Idol etc.
Hint: Try to get on the upper floors, 20 and above, you'll avoid cockroaches and less noise.

Staff:

Excellent staff. Very polite and helpful. Sometimes clueless though.
Hint: Be generous, you'll be rewarded. And by generous I mean 100 Peso tip to housekeeping, bell captain etc. 100 Peso is 2 Dollars. Don't tip every time, but every couple of days.
If you want to tip the front desk people,

Internet:

Wifi available for purchase, decent quality. Reach 200 KB/s download.
Take the month deal if you are staying more than a week. It was 50 Dollars for a week, 80 for a month.

HINT: Big Net Cafe available outside and very cheap. One plus for the cafe is the dancers from the clubs keep coming in and out checking their FB and whatever, Whether you like that or not is up to you. They are good looking.


Overall:

Good hotel good location and reasonably priced In a safe area. Not a location for families with kids.

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor. 20 and above. Less noise less insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We always stay here bec of the perfect location close to malls, airport, easy transport, variety of nightlife, accommodating & trustworthy staff, good inexpensive meal plus free bfast, what more can you ask for? Price is right! Highly recommend this place especially with kids requiring larger rooms and beds.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've stayed at the Oxford 3 times and never had a bad experience there.
1st visit water heater in bathroom not working, resolved at once with an up graded room.
2nd visit a tiny ant on bed side table whilst unpacking, resolved at once with an up graded room.
3 visit up graded at check in as a frequent guest. Nice

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati

Address: 518 P. Burgos Corner Durban Street, Makati, Luzon 1210 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati is a 27-storey, 232-room property located at the heart of Makati's Business & Entertainment district. The hotel is ideally located 30 minutes from the international & domestic airports and just minutes away from the commercial center and shopping malls such as Greenbelt and Rockwell.Patterned after the emerging trend of boutique lodging found in Los Angeles and London, BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites hotel rooms and amenities are designed to meet the needs of the world traveler.BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati is located at 518 P. Burgos Street, Makati City 1210, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Makati Hotel Makati
Oxford Hotel Makati
Makati Oxford Hotel
BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oxford Suites Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.