We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Olympia Makati

Save Saved
You added Somerset Olympia Makati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Olympia Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Makati
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“old and tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

if you are traveling and just looking for the lowest price for a decent hotel than this is an ok choice. The hotel is moldy and tired and old. But ok, for my purpose: business and just for a night.

the bed was to small and no duvet.

the staff is friendly and competent. the breakfast at the old swiss in is good. i liked the milk and the yoghurt which were very fresh.

Room Tip: our room a52 had seriously a view on a wall just 5 meters away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear bertjanvanessen,

Thank you very much for your comments. We always appreciate the guests’ feedback of our property with an intention to continually improve our service. Thus, I am sorry to hear that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing and that the apartment did not live up to your expectations.

I do hope though that this has not marred your impression of Somerset Olympia Makati. Please do contact us in the future when you decide to visit us again and I will be more than happy to personally assure that your stay with us is a memorable one.

Yours sincerely,

Sue Ponnudurai
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    80
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
26
15
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawalli, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is one of the best choices you can ever have when you want to stay in Makati
Prime location with access from main street and back street, huge parking under the hotel and maximum security on it, you can feel home and welcomed from all people you see, the housekeeping guys are doing AMAZING job in everything.
The apartments are really big, with everything you need is available there, from a very new safety box, iron and iron board, microwave and mini ref, big TV and a huge variety of channels to satisfy all needs, and a very nice A/C to cool the room in no time.
The check in process was very easy and it took less than a minute to be escorted to my apartment, the same time was needed for check out.
The housekeeping will leave a note stating the moment they come to clean up your room if they find a DND sign on the door.
They use a wireless phone device in the apartment.
Bathroom amenities are AMAZING and satisfy all the needs, variety of towels and all the necessary items any traveler might need.
The down side was the small balcony i got, I believe they can redesign it in a better way.
The bed was very comfortable, which is somehow a problem as I had hard times leaving it in the morning lol
The laundry service is really effective, I sent more than 10 pieces after 8PM and got them around 12 hours later, the charges were less than 30 dollars in total.
The view from my apartment was really pleasant, quite during the night and busy during the day as it is located in Makati Ave.
Shopping areas, restaurants and bars are just few minutes walking distance from the hotel.
I have to say thank you very much for the great management of this place, they did a perfect job making it a very happy stay for me for 3 nights, the security concerned me much before reaching there but they made it really safe in and around the hotel.
I may have missed something there, but it is a really perfect place for the stay

Room Tip: Always ask for Tower A as it has the best view on Makati Ave Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Foad J,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Olympia Makati and for sharing your wonderful feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted with your comments about the location, apartment, check in/check out and staff. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and I will gladly share it with the team.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Somerset Olympia Makati.

Best regards,

Sue Ponnudurai
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Exceptional location, with well serviced rooms for all levels of accommodation and price.. Exceptional service with such friendly and courteous staff... Have stayed their nine times and love it... Is in the heart of Makati and close to all amenities.

Room Tip: Get the executive suit looking over Ayala Triangle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear steve f,

Thank you for your kind feedback and patronage at Somerset Olympia Makati during your visit to the Philippines. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and find that our facilities and services are to your high expectations.

On behalf of all the staff at Somerset Olympia Makati, we were honored to have you as our resident. We shall look forward to be of service to you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sue Ponnudurai
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very nice unit/residence. Spacious, very clean and well ventilated. The furnitures were in very good condition. Although we only stayed for 2 days/1 night, we enjoyed it. It was worth the money. I would love to come back. More promotion please :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Juris77,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback of Somerset Olympia Makati.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Olympia Makati, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Barnes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I recently stayed at Somerset Olympia Makati on two occasions. The service was fantastic from Janeth & Napza in reception to all the other staff I met. It is very well located close to large malls. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage and basic appliances for self catering. The 24 hour bar/restaurant is excellent with very friendly staff. I thoroughly recommend this place and will be returning whenever I'm in Manila. John Brisbane Australia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Jack48trav,

Thank you very much for your compliment. Your heartfelt words and special mention of Janeth & Napza will be shared with the team.

Your compliments inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at Somerset Olympia Makati.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Barnes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

NIce rooms and thats it. There was nothing on offer in terms of service. I note that another traveller described breakfast as a "bit hit and miss" - that was generous. The breakfast was so minimal and poor. A local Phillipino guest reassured me that there was certainly better culinary offerings in the Phillipines
When trying to purchase wi fi in the hotel room a connection could not be gained. In desperation l was told of free wi fi at the breakfast / dining area. This was another false lead - couldnt get wi fi to connect and despite approaching several staff , no one could provide anything but a benign grin. Unfortunatly the lack of any help continud when l went to the recommended travel agent around the corner.
Upon leaving it seemed very hard for the hotel staff to secure a taxi After a wait l decided to go out on the street to organise my own taxi. I needed to do this to irganise my own flight booking.

In summary, if furnishings are all that matters then this may be a good place for some. I would prefer something more human.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Kevin H,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Somerset Olympia Makati and for taking time to share your feedback.

I read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us. We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Manager On Duty at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that your concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making your stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

Please contact me at philip.barnes@the-ascott.com so that we can take remedial action
to ensure incident like this will not happen again.

On behalf of the Somerset Olympia Makati team, I apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We would have loved to be able to address your concerns while you were here and had the chance to make your stay more pleasant. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Barnes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The apartments were good for a short term stay.Breakfast was a total hit and miss was told one morning no butter was available instead was offered Jam.Breakfast choices were very sparse and had to eggs to order waited about 10 mins for 2 fried eggs.Meeting rooms were basic and no coffee offered during breaks between meeting.Locations was excellent.Friendly staff on reception but food was a let down....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Residence Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear gordonmac2014,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We, at Somerset Olympia Makati are happy to have met your expectations in service, apartment and location.

With regards to breakfast, please be assured that the menu for our breakfast is changed regularly as we want to meet the dining preferences of both our Western and Asian residents. While a wider selection in the breakfast spread is desirable, we are also careful about having too wide a spread as the cost will eventually be passed on to our residents. Your comments on the slow service of our concessionaire was relayed & rest assured this was addressed already.

Our meeting rooms are currently being refurbished & together with this, we are offering a better selection as we open in the the coming month. Coffee, on the other hand is upon request and should you prefer to have this in your meeting, our F&B would be happy to provide this in your meeting room.

Thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again at Somerset Olympia Makati.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Barnes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Olympia Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Olympia Makati

Address: No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Olympia Makati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Makati City's central business district, Somerset Olympia Makati is ideal for executives and their families looking for work-life balance and an enriching lifestyle. The newly refurbished serviced residence is infused with warm hospitality and allows convenient proximity to major corporate offices, parks, lifestyle venues and cultural centres. It is right across the lush Ayala Triangle Park and situated within walking distance to Greenbelt Mall, Glorietta Mall and Ayala Museum. There's always a warm welcome awaiting you and your family - including your furry, four-legged companions at Somerset Olympia Makati. Our friendly staff are always on hand to extend assistance with local knowledge to help you settle in quickly. Somerset Olympia Makati is one of a premier collection of The Ascott Limited's serviced residences in over 80 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you 30 years' experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. Because life is about living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Somerset Olympia Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Olympia Makati Hotel Makati
Somerset Olympia Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Olympia Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.