We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Old place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Olympia Makati

Save Saved
You added Somerset Olympia Makati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Olympia Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Makati
Pune, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Old place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a very old place, requires serious renovation.

I booked this hotel for 9 nights but had to check out just in 2 night as the hotel was not as per my taste.

Following are the highlights-:

1. Room- Stayed in Studio, Decent size, but very small window, very old furniture, sad bathroom, improper lighting.

2. Hotel building- I think its a mix of residential and hotel building, very very old, time has taken it's toll. lobby is virtually non- existent.

3. Location- Very Very Very Good.

4. Staff- Very friendly and helpful.

5. Food- Don't take a room with breakfast, you will be left hungry, virtually no choice there.

5. Facilities- All very old.

They are undergoing renovation I think it will be much better after that from it's current state.

Room Tip: Wait for Renovation call them before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    80
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
26
15
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My family & I stayed there for 3 days during our first visit to Manila on Febuary 2013. It is a great value. For $150/night, we stayed in a very spacious 2-story condo hotel with 2 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, full kitchen, dining room, living room, washer, large flat screen satellite TVs in bedroom & living room, air conditioning & free wi-fi. It had parquet floors & very nice furnishings. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Twice we called to ask how to turn on the satellite TV & how to hook up to the internet. Each time a staff immediately came up to our room & showed us how to do the connections. We got free breakfast everyday from an adjacent restaurant. There is, also, a 24 hour restaurant/ bar next door. It is close to a lot of stores, restaurants, bars, metro rail & supermarket. Entertainment is from the large hotels nearby. The area is safe. We, often, went out till 2am & walked back to our hotel. I highly recommend this place & plan to stay there, again, when we go back to Manila.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location is great! Right across the Ayala triangle so you can simply cross the street to have al fresco dinner and walk around the park without any worries. Walking a bit further brings you to landmark or greenbelt 5 though you will have to take the underpass.
Room is spacious enough with a vestibule when you enter which allows for privacy when you're letting people in. It has a good design, a sitting area and a vanity table with more than sufficient sockets. Not much toilietries. View is Makati avenue. Flat screen is small but with a good number of channels. Pool, jacuzzi, gym and restaurants are small and uneventful. What I dont like is that there is really no access from the street level - you will have to go downstairs to access reception or the entrance. Service is nice though and you are really paying for the location which is fabulous. It's really good value for money considering everything else. Will go back.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with a group, ask for the bigger rooms as they come in different sizes even if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It is highly illegal for hotels not to advise paying customers when checking or even before booking that major constructions work is being carried out on their hotel and the noise will effect the peace and quiet of the guest. It is deceptive and misleading conduct. In the case of the Somerset Olympia Makati the renovation works start at 7.00am and continue throughout the day it is serious work too with scaffolding upon and down an eight story tower and major hammering all day

Do not go near this place for a least six months until the work is finished

In fact avoid it then too its an older property tired run down and is expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister and some relatives from abroad stayed in Somerset Olympia for two nights. We stayed in a two bedroom deluxe suite, with free breakfast for four. The location here in Makati Avenue is accessible to the offices around Makati City and walking distance to the Ayala Malls, Shoemart, and Landmark. You are really paying for the location, because there is nothing outstanding with the room. It is clean though. It has a kitchenette that we did not use, since the Ayala Triangle with plenty good restaurants is just a few minutes walk away. It is safe to walk around in this area.
We like Somerset Olympia Makati because of its location.

Room Tip: One has to reserve really early because they only have a few two bedroom deluxe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I gave a review of my last stay at Somerset Olympia, Makati from 26 - 29 Oct 2013 expressing my pleasure at staying in this well managed property. Naturally on my return visit to Manila from 13 - 17 March 2013, I checked into Somerset Olympia, Makati again and enjoyed the comfort and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. I must also mention that security was good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Traveling with relatives, we booked a 2 bedroom suite for 4 and a studio for 2. This hotel would be a good option for longer stays, as there's a stove and fridge. However for the 1 night we were here, we did not use the kitchen facilities.

The positives of this hotel were:
-Location: it's a great, safe area within walking distance to the greenbelt. There are lots of food options.
-The staff was pretty attentive and gave us a free upgrade from the studio to 1 bedroom.

Cons:
-The rooms were pretty old and needs updating.
-The breakfast was terrible and had very limited choices (maybe 5 or so items in the buffet).
-Given the condition of the rooms and amenities, the value isn't that great as each room was quite pricey. I think the location commanded the price..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Olympia Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Olympia Makati

Address: No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Olympia Makati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Makati City's central business district, Somerset Olympia Makati is ideal for executives and their families looking for work-life balance and an enriching lifestyle. The newly refurbished serviced residence is infused with warm hospitality and allows convenient proximity to major corporate offices, parks, lifestyle venues and cultural centres. It is right across the lush Ayala Triangle Park and situated within walking distance to Greenbelt Mall, Glorietta Mall and Ayala Museum. There's always a warm welcome awaiting you and your family - including your furry, four-legged companions at Somerset Olympia Makati. Our friendly staff are always on hand to extend assistance with local knowledge to help you settle in quickly. Somerset Olympia Makati is one of a premier collection of The Ascott Limited's serviced residences in over 80 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you 30 years' experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. Because life is about living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Somerset Olympia Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Olympia Makati Hotel Makati
Somerset Olympia Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Olympia Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.