We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Olympia Makati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Olympia Makati to your Saves list
Somerset Olympia Makati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Where to start...I travel a lot as part of my job so I am very familiar with hotels - the good the bad and the ugly. Somerset Olympia is most certainly bad!

I arrived late afternoon and had to wait because my room was not available. They said that they would have to replace the fridge and the safe deposit box, I said that I didn't need them but they insisted and kept me waiting.

The executive suite that I stayed in was spacious but that was about the olny good point. It was noisy and damp.the safe deposit box that they insisted I have did not work, nor did the Internet access.

Breakfast is a joke, a poor selection and terrible service. I had to wait 15 mins for scrambled eggs, they said that they could not make fresh juice from their juice bar because they were too busy clearing tables, they said I should come back in a few hours. It's not like it was busy, there were 9 people having breakfast and four staff

A real let down!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    85
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
16
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This property gives good value. The well located apartments are very nicely furnished and clean and without doubt very comfortable. I met the Resident Manager, Mr Philip Barnes who was exceptionally efficient and helpful. The upkeep of the property and the efficiency and friendliness of all the staff is testimony to Mr Barnes good management. Makati Olympia will no doubt be the choice of accommodation for me and my associates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lived here for 3 months in total before finding permanent digs.

Rooms were very good .... approx. 60 to 70 sq. metres for around GBP90 per night. They don't have a real bar but they have the Old Swiss Inn on site which has excellent food for reasonable (Makati reasonable) prices, and who also provide the room service.

As it's 10 minutes from all the best bars, restaurants and night life in the city it's an excellent location for both working and holiday trips, although for a holiday there aren't too many amenities.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, etc. You could easily spend more for less at many of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I have chance to stay here for four days. The location is very good but the the need improvement and renovation is the bath room. The gym is very tiny with very limited machine. Would be better that the kywalker is added.
The breakfast restaurant is so boring. There are very limited number of choices. The orange joice is made of the concentrated one. Need to give the guest more choice.

All the cabinet in the room seems to be from ten years ago plus with a bad smell.

The positive side is the internet speed is good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarnes83, Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. It is only through feedback from our valued guests that we can monitor and improve our operations.

I have noted your comment on the standards of the breakfast, facility and the apartment layout and these has been observed with care and will guide us in making and planning our decisions towards our future upgrading planning. You may be pleased to know that we are currently engaged in talks with the building management over the renovation required to better serve our guests and project a livelier home feeling.

Regardless of the explanation, we are truly sorry for the experiences you had with us and thank you for giving us the benefit to be of service to you. We hope this isolated incident will not deter you from coming back to stay with us and we look forward to be able to receive you on your next trip to Philippines and be of service for you again.

Meanwhile, if you require any further assistance, please feel free to email me.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After staying at hotels at both ends of the price scale (Ascott - expensive but excellent and close to amenities, Guijo Suites - cheap with lovely rooms, not so close to amenities) I pushed for us to book a mid range hotel, and on finding the Somerset thought I had hit on the best of both worlds, it's managed by Ascott after all, it must be good. Cheaper than Ascott but closer to the centre than Guijo, the rooms looked lovely online and on arrival we high fived thinking we'd found a belter. The reception is lovely, although in the basement, but from there it was all downhill. Stepping into the lift area there was a very strong smell of damp which permeated the whole of our area including our room. The corridors are shabby and narrow, we literally stepped out of the lift and our door was in front of us. On entering the room we looked at each other in dismay, small, tatty and smelly without the basics I expect in a Manila hotel, no shampoo or conditioner, no slippers, no free wifi, in fact a charge of over 600php for a nights internet (available free at both Ascott and Guijo), a tv that didn't work and a view of a wall. As we were only staying one night, were on business and had just had a 22hr journey we went out to eat and decided we could cope (not an attitude I expected to have to have paying close to Dusit prices). On our return I asked if someone could fix the t.v., a man arrived promptly but then stayed for god knows how long messing with screwdrivers etc., he was there so long we fell asleep in our clothes. When we woke, he had left, the t.v. wasn't fixed and we both just got changed and went to bed properly. Waking to a new day we looked forward to one of the beautiful breakfasts we are used to when staying in Manila, all i can say is 'yuck'. I chose noodles and soup as I normally love the local cuisine, my friend had to ask for scrambled eggs as it is only the local food that is out on the buffet. Neither of us had more than a mouthful before we looked at each other and shook our heads, we drank the juice and left. The noodles were awful and garlic laden (like seriously, I might as well have just eaten a clove), the soup was just boiled water and my friends scrambled eggs, slimy is the only word she could think of. We will therefore not be staying here ever again, rather I would pay the little extra to stay perhaps at the Dusit, or even go back to the cheap but delightful Guijo Suites.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, in any room, ever....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarnes83, General Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Warmest Greetings from Somerset Olympia, Makati!

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for choosing Somerset Serviced Residence and for taking the time to share your invaluable comments.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences and shortcomings you experienced during your last stay with us. The comfort and convenience of our guests is of our utmost priority. However, in this instance, we have fallen short in meeting your expectations and needs.

I have noted particularly your comment on the standards of the interior designs and furnishing of the apartments and these has been observed with care and will guide us in making and planning our decisions towards our future upgrading planning. You may be pleased to know that we are currently engaged in talks with the building management over the renovation required to better serve our guests and project a livelier home feeling.

For amenities, all rooms are set up with basic amenities particularly the shampoo and conditioner upon arrival. For the slippers, they are readily available upon your request. We have also discussed extensively among our team and we recognized the need to perform efficiency and consistently with our housekeeping service.

I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience we caused with regards to the TV set in your apartment that was not fixed by our staff. Though may be a bit too late, I will have this checked by our Maintenance Manager to ensure that the problem is rectified at once.

Also, I have noted particularly your comment on the standards of our breakfast and we will reinstate the observations to our concessionaire management and monitor the outcome.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome feedbacks such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. Please accept our deepest apologies once again.

We fervently hope that you will give us another chance to recover your trust on us and our services.

Meanwhile, if you require any further assistance, please feel free to email me.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The location was great but everything else... well okay, the service was nice too. The reception guy was real helpful and he tried to complete the booking as fast as he could while being polite and courteous the whole time. But the property itself needs some revamping as it is a bit old. i am a non smoker but I got a smoking room so maybe its also one the reasons why i was less happy.Small tv. The rooms are quiet and the aircon does its job for good sleep quality. If you just need a place to sleep in at Makati while you are out all day and will come home late at night, this will be okay. Breakfast was okay too (friendly servers), but I guess I wont be back until significant improvement has been done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was scheduled to spend 6 nights at the Somerset Olympia.
The Pics and details on the web were promising and it's location to work was ideal.....

Until I arrived at saturday night.... Lobby is in the basement.... checked in ok...
Taken to a room which at best can only be referred to as an ashtray and would not put my dog in it..
Asked for another room... gave the 9th floor... lift went to the 8th and had to carry my bags up one flight.... the room was clean... furniture was OLD...
The aircon was an old fashioned window unit that kept me up all night with it clunking in and out.
Turning it off was not an option as the room became to hot....

I called the Ascott and arranged a room there and was checked and checked back in by 8am.

The management should be ashamed of themselves for offering such bad rooms and having
deceptive pics on the web..

Never again

Steve F.

Room Tip: Just stay away from this place... it's a dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Somerset Olympia Makati, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. It is only through feedback from our valued guests that we can monitor and improve our operations.

I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience caused concerning the noise from your air-condition unit. Though may be a bit too late, I will have this checked by our Maintenance personnel to ensure that any unusual sound is rectified at once.

Also, I have noted particularly your comment on the standards of our amenities and facilities and these have been observed with care and will guide us in making and planning our decisions towards our future upgrading planning. You may be pleased to know that we are currently engaged in talks with the building management over the renovation required to better serve our guests and project a livelier home feeling.

Once again, I am very sorry for the inconveniences caused and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Olympia Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Olympia Makati

Address: No 7912 Makati Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Olympia Makati 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Makati City's central business district, Somerset Olympia Makati is ideal for executives and their families looking for work-life balance and an enriching lifestyle. The newly refurbished serviced residence is infused with warm hospitality and allows convenient proximity to major corporate offices, parks, lifestyle venues and cultural centres. It is right across the lush Ayala Triangle Park and situated within walking distance to Greenbelt Mall, Glorietta Mall and Ayala Museum. There's always a warm welcome awaiting you and your family - including your furry, four-legged companions at Somerset Olympia Makati. Our friendly staff are always on hand to extend assistance with local knowledge to help you settle in quickly. Somerset Olympia Makati is one of a premier collection of The Ascott Limited's serviced residences in over 80 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you 30 years' experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. Because life is about living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Olympia Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Olympia Makati Hotel Makati
Somerset Olympia Makati Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Olympia Makati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.