We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Floor Experience at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Manila

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Manila
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makati Avenue | Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 hotels in Makati
manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Club Floor Experience at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my husband and kids. Fortunately, we used our Privilege Card to book ourselves in the Club Floor...and our stay was excellent.
While Mandarin Oriental is not as modern as other hotels, having been around for decades, it can still pride itself for subdued luxury (appropriate for business hotels) and exceptional customer service.
Our room in the club floor was spacious, bright and clean with a very comfortable bed topped with crisp, soft and hygienic linen. Room decor was simple and quite dated...nothing special to rave about...but the amenities are complete and the airy, tidy and comfy over-all feel of the place more than makes up for the lack of artistic detail. The bathroom was huge and spotless though the corners of the bath tub and glass enclosure showed signs of aging; and the shower faucet was quite difficult to manage. The airconditioning was quite inconsistent....the night was a little too warm while the morning felt very chilly. Internet access was free for this type of room; and the speed of the wi-fi connections did not disappoint.
In the midst of the pros and cons of the room, what won us over really was the club lounge privilege attached to the room. In the lounge, there were free early afternoon snacks for club floor guests from noontime up to around 4 pm, consisting of a rich spread of tasty pastries, coffee, and soft beverages. My kids loved the different flavored muffins and chocolates while my husband and I indulged in the danish pastries and cookies. We enjoyed just bonding in the lounge before taking a dip in the pool. At around 6 pm, my husband and I were back at the club lounge for the free cocktails --- a delightful offering of various sushi, chips and cheese with your choice of wine. This is indeed a great way to end the day and prepare for a pleasant evening with the family! The next morning, my whole family had our complimentary breakfast again at the lounge where we were served a buffet of continental breakfast items and one choice each from the ala carte menu. The choice, quantity and quality of food was just right...not too little or too heavy; and was good enough to start a great day. Throughout these perks, what we considered extra special was the customer service. The staff at the club lounge were very courteous and helpful and gave us personal attention in every visit to the lounge. An extra was always added to every request,without hesitation. This hotel really knows how to make their club floor guests feel pampered, and it was worth every peso we spent.
Bottomline, I would recommend this hotel even for a short staycation over the weekend; and really suggest that you book at the club floor. The hotel now belongs to my list of examples of establishments with Great Customer Service.

Room Tip: Get a room at the club floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    233
    127
    57
    19
See reviews for
73
103
79
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a travel blogger, i am very keen in choosing the hotels i book. Mandarin oriental was a good choice, not the most modern but it still defines luxury at its finest, i love the free mandarin oranges at the hotel and I love the Paseo restaurant set up, food was superb as well. Bed layout are kinda odd but I like the entire experience. I blogged it at http://www.thewanderdan.com/2013/03/luxury-beyond-compare-mandarin-oriental.html :) would be happy to stay again here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny philippines
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Maybe I was just unlucky with my room but there are a lot of things I was disappointed about. Considering the money paid ($200 USD / night) I was expecting something decent and not some inconvenient accommodations. We were on a business trip to Manila and stayed here last May 26-29. Here are my Pros and Cons for Mandarin Oriental:
Pros:
1.) Great spread of Breakfast food. Delicious. Though there was one day they didn't have Maple syrup for their pancakes? Huh? aren't you guys supposed to have bottles of those. Anyways it only happened 1 day out of our entire stay.
2.) Comfy Beds and Pillows
3.) Large Room and Bathroom
4.) Complete Amenities in the room. Fridge, hotpot, TV etc. Morning Paper.
5.) Great location. Everything you need in Makati is walking distance. Glorietta, Greenbelt, Ayala Triangle and Jupiter St. are all within 5-20 mins. walk
6.) Free shuttle to the Malls
Cons:
1.) No electrical outlet near the bed. What gives? You have to charge your phone or gadgets on the Desk. this is so inconvenient.
2.) Our TV had several issues, first the volume wont work and then it won't turn off.
3.) NO WIFI. you have to pay Php 250 or $6 USD an Hour! absurd! considering the amount you are already paying. Good thing my Mobile Phone had a data plan for internet.
4.) High Price for an old Hotel Room.
5.) Inattentive staff. We requested the staff to inform us when the shuttle to the mall will leave. But they forgot to inform us and good thing I was able to look outside and rushed to call out the shuttle.
6.) Shower. It wasn't relaxing at all. Water pressure was too hard. They should upgrade to those Waterfall - Type showers.
I really think Mandarin can improve themselves. Those Cons I've listed are easy to fix and will go a long way in delighting a guest. They may be small but they made my stay a bit unpleasant . With the amount they were charging, I would have expected them to provide me a 4 dots rating review here. To other travelers, if you seek a cheaper alternative there are lots to choose from and for those who are paying about the same, look for better hotels around Makati.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was here for just one night - nothing impressive at all.
Rooms are not so great, carpets give off a light odor ( did not want to use the word stink).... Directions in the corridors to reach the room could be better, Lighting in the rooms could be a bit brighter
Breakfast spread is just about ok - nothing to get up for. Interestingly , though not sure how, I got an Indian item on the menu unexpectedly - "poha" which was quite good actually.
Location from my office perspective was great, which is why I was there in the first place.

100%, not the place I will stay during my next visit if any to Manila.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Service is great but location is far from the mall and other shopping area. You have to walk about 10 minutes to get to the nearest mall. Hotel lobby is small. Restaurant is a little bit pricey but good quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I think the Mandarin Oriental needs to be re-classified as a four-start hotel. It's starting to show it's age and barely up to par with the Mandarin Oriental brand in the rest of the world. Great service though.

Breakfast is great, and the lunch buffet at Paseo Uno is one of the best in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

As a couple, we stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in Dec 2007. First, the room is spacious, with king size bed, and bathtub. Also, have a big swimming pool.

We loved their BREAKFAST, a lot of good varities of food...superbly delicious (very western food). Location is very good as it is in the heart of Makati. And, a lot of restaurants nearby.

Definitely we had a good stay!!! Definitely we will visit this hotel again.

Tip: Avoid smoking rooms as when we first bring there, we totally didn't like and ask them to give us non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Manila

Address: Makati Avenue | Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Makati
#10 Spa Hotel in Makati
#11 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Manila 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet address in the heart of Makati's Central Business District, Mandarin Oriental, Manila is within walking distance of stylish malls and shops in the Ayala Commercial Center. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine, the hotel features three restaurants, two popular bars, and a lounge. Four exclusive and highly rated Club floors with a private lounge provide utmost guest satisfaction, as do a cosy luxury spa, a fully equipped business centre, and a health club with advanced fitness equipment. Banquet and meeting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Manila Hotel Makati
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Manila
Mandarin Oriental Makati
Mandarin Makati
Makati Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel Manila
Mandarin Hotel Makati
Mandarin Oriental, Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.