We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard in quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Makati
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A standard in quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was the 2nd time we've stayed here and let me tell you, the service seems to get better each time. The suite we had was fantastic with all standard 5-star amenities. The staff are professional, friendly and most importantly, very helpful. The western food is great also if you aren't up to trying the local cuisine. This is one of my favourite hotels so far in Asia.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    329
    80
    25
    16
See reviews for
165
244
91
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I used the Peninsula twice as my layover hotel during a recent trip. Service to and from the Airport was very convenient. I used their transportation serves. My flight was delayed 2 hours but they were there waiting for me. I believe hotel security also called my driver to insure I was okay.
The staff and hotel are all consistent with Peninsula standards. The lobby always had lovely live music. For a tired traveler, the Peninsula was a nice break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A very elegant hotel, with a grand lobby makes you feel very relaxed in staying at this hotel. The room was spacious, the bed was very nice to sleep to, i love the pillows. I like the big mirror in the room, i love the bathroom, it's simple but elegant. The toiletries are nice as well. The staff are very attentive and helpful and always greet you with a smile. I tried their fitness center and their sauna, i would say it is really good! The breakfast is delicious! The only thing that i had problem here is their carpeted floor in the room which i find it a bit dusty as i can smell the dust of the carpet and keep sneezing but other than that i like my staycation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice pretty hotel in the business and shopping center of Makati. Big room, very nice breakfast. Nice pool with sauna. Elegant lobby, efficient and friendly staff. Get the Philippines' most famous dessert the halo halo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Peninsula Manila remains a masterpiece from its appearance down to the service aspect. But there's this one experience that made me wanna write here in Tripadvisor. We have stayed in the Executive Lounge of the hotel, it is cozy and nice (thou rooms are not part of the renovated areas) just as nice and cozy of other executive lounge in other hotels, but what makes it different are the staff. I came a little bit earlier than my foreign partner, my features is purely filipina, i do not dress like an executive so i would understand if there are some staff as I have observed, treats me differently when i'm alone and also different when i'm with my partner. There's this one lady who no matter how early in the morning, i am alone or with someone, will genuinely smile and greet me as i visit the lounge, she would sometimes go around in the dining area to ask if we need anything else, and with those gestures, this lady named Venice caught my attention. But just when we thought that everything will turn out to be just one of those successful business trips of my partner, series of incidents happened that made me realized that this girl is extraordinary. One lazy morning we were in a hurry as we are late for a meeting and we still need to look for a cab coz we don't have a service since our car's plate is banned to drive for that day and hotel cars are really expensive. We dropped by the lounge to print some documents, we were having a hard time figuring out how to print the files we needed and when Venice noticed us she asked if there's anything she can be of help? i didn't hesitated to tell her what's going on and immediately she suggested if we can send the files to her email so she 'll be the one to print while we're fixing ourselves , maybe she noticed that we aren't dressed up yet, so i gladly accepted her offer. When we are about to go, all the documents we asked her to print are neatly arranged in a brown envelope, she made a quick phone call, and as she handed the envelope to us, she mentioned that a metered cab is already waiting for us outside, which left us both saying, she's amazing. It doesn't end in that incident.The following day,we went to the lounge to have our usual breakfast and once again Venice greeted us, she asked if everything went well with the meeting we had, we had a short talk and I mentioned that my partner had an upset stomach after the meeting until that previous night, Venice then recommended some food that he should and should not eat like as if she's a medical staff, we appreciated her concern but declined her offer to call a nurse since my partner said he's feeling better, later in the afternoon we were surprised to have received a get well soon letter from the Peninsula and some fruits and crackers that is fit for his condition which i believe was initiated by this sweet young lady. You might find this review a little long but i just think that this kind of service from a staff needs to be shouted out. These kind of staff are the reason why Peninsula remains a masterpiece of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ok, I will confess that the exchange rate with the U.S. dollar making this hotel about the same cost as a regular Marriott may have made me a little giddy. But I'm willing to testify in a court of law that this place is AWESOME!! The buffet is great but be careful....the overly eager staff will take your food even it you aren't ready to give it up. The fitness facilities are great but the massage required a little bit more micro-management than I would have liked. Apparently my massage therapist is a LOT more comfortable going toward normal 'hands off' territories on a woman's body than my usual U.S. massage therapists. But after a few corrections I think she finally got that I'm not looking for THAT type of massage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Pen in the most unpretentious hotel in Manila for me, it speaks quietly of elegance and sophistication. Well appointed rooms, food is superb. I think the lobby is even more grand than that of Hong Kong Peninsula (less the RR parked at the drive way). The entire team of the hotel are very mindful of the guests needs for vomfort and secirity unlike the Duty Manager Kevin Santos of Shangrila Makati who is very rude and arrogant. Overall, The Pen is indeed majestic and yet hospitable to every one who wants a good nights rest.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.