We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over the top Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Peninsula Manila remains a masterpiece from its appearance down to the service aspect. But there's this one experience that made me wanna write here in Tripadvisor. We have stayed in the Executive Lounge of the hotel, it is cozy and nice (thou rooms are not part of the renovated areas) just as nice and cozy of other executive lounge in other hotels, but what makes it different are the staff. I came a little bit earlier than my foreign partner, my features is purely filipina, i do not dress like an executive so i would understand if there are some staff as I have observed, treats me differently when i'm alone and also different when i'm with my partner. There's this one lady who no matter how early in the morning, i am alone or with someone, will genuinely smile and greet me as i visit the lounge, she would sometimes go around in the dining area to ask if we need anything else, and with those gestures, this lady named Venice caught my attention. But just when we thought that everything will turn out to be just one of those successful business trips of my partner, series of incidents happened that made me realized that this girl is extraordinary. One lazy morning we were in a hurry as we are late for a meeting and we still need to look for a cab coz we don't have a service since our car's plate is banned to drive for that day and hotel cars are really expensive. We dropped by the lounge to print some documents, we were having a hard time figuring out how to print the files we needed and when Venice noticed us she asked if there's anything she can be of help? i didn't hesitated to tell her what's going on and immediately she suggested if we can send the files to her email so she 'll be the one to print while we're fixing ourselves , maybe she noticed that we aren't dressed up yet, so i gladly accepted her offer. When we are about to go, all the documents we asked her to print are neatly arranged in a brown envelope, she made a quick phone call, and as she handed the envelope to us, she mentioned that a metered cab is already waiting for us outside, which left us both saying, she's amazing. It doesn't end in that incident.The following day,we went to the lounge to have our usual breakfast and once again Venice greeted us, she asked if everything went well with the meeting we had, we had a short talk and I mentioned that my partner had an upset stomach after the meeting until that previous night, Venice then recommended some food that he should and should not eat like as if she's a medical staff, we appreciated her concern but declined her offer to call a nurse since my partner said he's feeling better, later in the afternoon we were surprised to have received a get well soon letter from the Peninsula and some fruits and crackers that is fit for his condition which i believe was initiated by this sweet young lady. You might find this review a little long but i just think that this kind of service from a staff needs to be shouted out. These kind of staff are the reason why Peninsula remains a masterpiece of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    323
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
160
234
89
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ok, I will confess that the exchange rate with the U.S. dollar making this hotel about the same cost as a regular Marriott may have made me a little giddy. But I'm willing to testify in a court of law that this place is AWESOME!! The buffet is great but be careful....the overly eager staff will take your food even it you aren't ready to give it up. The fitness facilities are great but the massage required a little bit more micro-management than I would have liked. Apparently my massage therapist is a LOT more comfortable going toward normal 'hands off' territories on a woman's body than my usual U.S. massage therapists. But after a few corrections I think she finally got that I'm not looking for THAT type of massage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Pen in the most unpretentious hotel in Manila for me, it speaks quietly of elegance and sophistication. Well appointed rooms, food is superb. I think the lobby is even more grand than that of Hong Kong Peninsula (less the RR parked at the drive way). The entire team of the hotel are very mindful of the guests needs for vomfort and secirity unlike the Duty Manager Kevin Santos of Shangrila Makati who is very rude and arrogant. Overall, The Pen is indeed majestic and yet hospitable to every one who wants a good nights rest.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is a master piece combining quality, superior service and taste. Their success lies in the attention to details, the room amenities are formidable and the food offered are supreme. The only item I could find that may be of interest for other travelers is the TV service. It's via satellite which I believe is a miss as 90% of the time is cloudy, therefore you keep having issues with the connection

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a great hotel! The lobby really sets the tone for the hotel. The strains of music from the orchestra really relax. The staff were fantastic, helpful, polite and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. This is a fantastic hotel. 11 nights of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for 16 years and stay on average in 45 hotels worldwide per year. This hotel continues to be my favourite hotel worldwide for sheer class and quality of service. The standard of the hotel and services continue to be consistently excellent whether you are on business or a leisure stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay on the Club Floor for Club Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I spent 7 days on this hotel on a business trip to Manila, it was my first time in Manila and for sure the staff at this hotel make my trip much easier. Great customer service for sure. As I was working night shift for a couple of days I need it to have my dinner at 1 AM in the morning at the room and the room service was great, good food, fast service. They have an awesome SPA with a great variety of services that are perfect to help you to recover from the Jet Lag. Swimming pool is nice and restaurants in general are really good. The only opportunity is the Bar where they allow to smoke inside and even for smokers like me it was too much to tolerate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.