We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Makati
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pure excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is a master piece combining quality, superior service and taste. Their success lies in the attention to details, the room amenities are formidable and the food offered are supreme. The only item I could find that may be of interest for other travelers is the TV service. It's via satellite which I believe is a miss as 90% of the time is cloudy, therefore you keep having issues with the connection

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    365
    86
    26
    16
See reviews for
177
270
100
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a great hotel! The lobby really sets the tone for the hotel. The strains of music from the orchestra really relax. The staff were fantastic, helpful, polite and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. This is a fantastic hotel. 11 nights of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for 16 years and stay on average in 45 hotels worldwide per year. This hotel continues to be my favourite hotel worldwide for sheer class and quality of service. The standard of the hotel and services continue to be consistently excellent whether you are on business or a leisure stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay on the Club Floor for Club Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I spent 7 days on this hotel on a business trip to Manila, it was my first time in Manila and for sure the staff at this hotel make my trip much easier. Great customer service for sure. As I was working night shift for a couple of days I need it to have my dinner at 1 AM in the morning at the room and the room service was great, good food, fast service. They have an awesome SPA with a great variety of services that are perfect to help you to recover from the Jet Lag. Swimming pool is nice and restaurants in general are really good. The only opportunity is the Bar where they allow to smoke inside and even for smokers like me it was too much to tolerate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Peninsula Manila is supremely the most elegant, classic yet modern hotels in the Philippines. Have stayed here more than 5 times already and each stay is always something i look forward to. Requested for a room on the higher floors and they gave a room on the 10th floor in the corner so it was quiet and offered fab views of the Makati skyline. The service is as always impeccable from the Front Office check in staff to the housekeeping and pool attendants. Buffet at Escolta was also great with the selection and the quality of food they serve. And the vibe at Salon De Ning was great that Saturday night. The Shangri-la Makati is in the same category but with too many people in and out of their extremely busy lobby, The Peninsula stands out and is my preference as it is more elegant as a whole.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of course of the city skyline. The swimming pool was such a plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have stayed here several times. Always first class service. Good choice of restaurants. Beautiful lobby area - great for holding lunch meetings. Easy to reach business district from the hotel but do allow time to get through the terrible manila traffic.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I made my reservation using American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts package.

My reservation was all in order, and my reservation was for a room on the executive floor, which was kindly upgraded, as per the benefits of the package.

Pleasant room, well-appointed with a view over the Makati cityscape. Good ambiance in keeping with the elegance theme which dominates its website. I used the ‘Spices’ Asian fine dining restaurant which was a very enjoyable experience with good food and attentive service. A good selection of signature dishes, representative of various Asian countries. Great choice of meals, wines and beers.

My stay was short, just overnight and packed with meetings, so not too much time to enjoy.

The second benefit of the Fine Hotels and Resorts package is a one way transfer to the airport. I utilised that at check out. You can imagine my disappointment when they provide a ‘hotel taxi’ – far out of keeping with the ‘elegance theme’ that dominates their website. The taxi played radio music throughout the journey. For certain you don’t see a picture of a hotel taxi on their web site!!!! The expectation of being provided with a hotel taxi was somewhat akin to how I would have felt had the fine dining restaurant, Spices used plastic cutlery. Very tacky Peninsula. If you can’t afford a limo, better not to offer anything at all. For sure the Peninsula in Hong Kong wouldn’t provide you with a taxi transfer!!! Maybe an exchange of staff would be beneficial so they can learn in this respect.

I'm back in Manila this week - not at the Peninsula I would add.

Room Tip: Just avoid the transportation service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.