We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Makati
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for 16 years and stay on average in 45 hotels worldwide per year. This hotel continues to be my favourite hotel worldwide for sheer class and quality of service. The standard of the hotel and services continue to be consistently excellent whether you are on business or a leisure stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay on the Club Floor for Club Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    374
    90
    27
    17
See reviews for
185
279
102
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I spent 7 days on this hotel on a business trip to Manila, it was my first time in Manila and for sure the staff at this hotel make my trip much easier. Great customer service for sure. As I was working night shift for a couple of days I need it to have my dinner at 1 AM in the morning at the room and the room service was great, good food, fast service. They have an awesome SPA with a great variety of services that are perfect to help you to recover from the Jet Lag. Swimming pool is nice and restaurants in general are really good. The only opportunity is the Bar where they allow to smoke inside and even for smokers like me it was too much to tolerate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Peninsula Manila is supremely the most elegant, classic yet modern hotels in the Philippines. Have stayed here more than 5 times already and each stay is always something i look forward to. Requested for a room on the higher floors and they gave a room on the 10th floor in the corner so it was quiet and offered fab views of the Makati skyline. The service is as always impeccable from the Front Office check in staff to the housekeeping and pool attendants. Buffet at Escolta was also great with the selection and the quality of food they serve. And the vibe at Salon De Ning was great that Saturday night. The Shangri-la Makati is in the same category but with too many people in and out of their extremely busy lobby, The Peninsula stands out and is my preference as it is more elegant as a whole.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of course of the city skyline. The swimming pool was such a plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have stayed here several times. Always first class service. Good choice of restaurants. Beautiful lobby area - great for holding lunch meetings. Easy to reach business district from the hotel but do allow time to get through the terrible manila traffic.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I made my reservation using American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts package.

My reservation was all in order, and my reservation was for a room on the executive floor, which was kindly upgraded, as per the benefits of the package.

Pleasant room, well-appointed with a view over the Makati cityscape. Good ambiance in keeping with the elegance theme which dominates its website. I used the ‘Spices’ Asian fine dining restaurant which was a very enjoyable experience with good food and attentive service. A good selection of signature dishes, representative of various Asian countries. Great choice of meals, wines and beers.

My stay was short, just overnight and packed with meetings, so not too much time to enjoy.

The second benefit of the Fine Hotels and Resorts package is a one way transfer to the airport. I utilised that at check out. You can imagine my disappointment when they provide a ‘hotel taxi’ – far out of keeping with the ‘elegance theme’ that dominates their website. The taxi played radio music throughout the journey. For certain you don’t see a picture of a hotel taxi on their web site!!!! The expectation of being provided with a hotel taxi was somewhat akin to how I would have felt had the fine dining restaurant, Spices used plastic cutlery. Very tacky Peninsula. If you can’t afford a limo, better not to offer anything at all. For sure the Peninsula in Hong Kong wouldn’t provide you with a taxi transfer!!! Maybe an exchange of staff would be beneficial so they can learn in this respect.

I'm back in Manila this week - not at the Peninsula I would add.

Room Tip: Just avoid the transportation service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Sadly, the service and quality of this establishment has deteriorated. Dirty carpets, busted lightbulb, no wastebasket in both my room and the toilet (I had to request), a few clueless hotel staff and a general unpreparedness dealing with foreign card transactions made for a disappointing and underwhelming business trip. I have always loved the old world style and charm of this hotel, but now sadly I think it's just old, and needs to look at upgrading both its facilities and quality of service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for the last leg of our trip to Manila, hotel is exclusive and is visited mostly by business people.

Pleasant customer service and Room's big enough for 3 people.

Amenities are very close too!

Room Tip: if you're not fussed about the walking distance from the hotel to the shops, this is hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.