We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Manila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Makati
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Manila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hotel. Huge room, great pool (lap pool for swimmers ~25m) and a nice gym.

Upgraded me and my colleagues to apartment like rooms on the 11th floor. Really nice all around. Service and bar was great. Hotel is not brand new but well maintained.

There didn't seem to be much one could walk to from the hotel, but admittedly I didn't try too hard.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    295
    78
    23
    15
See reviews for
155
212
83
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very good traditional classi Grand Hotel, wityh all bells & whistles. Bit slow on checkin (queue), The Loby, with live classic music quintet every evening, is breathtaking. Rooms are very good (though can hear elevator in room close to it, and weird beeping sound all night). Pool looks good from distance. Very central location. Free wifi. Friendly and overall fast staff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

from the second i stepped into the hotel i knew I was going to enjoy my stay.

This is really a great hotel the staff really go the extra mile to put a smile on your face, from the early chek in to the late check out they what ever you need they will deliver to make you feel at home.

The rooms are really nice the location is excellent the staff is amazing what more can you ask for. The hotel rates are not bad for what you get.

My stay was short but I really enjoyed it and will go there again for sure.

Room Tip: High floor away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The last time i was in Manila is some 20 years ago. I used to enjoy staying at The Peninsula prior to that. This time i decided to re-visit the hotel with my wife as this is her first trip to Manila.
I was not disappointed. The hotel had obviously went through a major upgrade. New, grand, spacious, clean, impressive. The breakfast spread is fantastic! Sushi and shashimi as much as you want!
Room is spacious and bathroom generous.
The only thing i missed is the singing lobby with talented Philippines singers. Now its a small orchestral of 5-6 people. No singing of Philippines songs, just beautiful music. That's a loss!

Room Tip: Have a wine at the lobby in the evening. It's a wonderful experience, though my previous experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed three times at the peninsula Manila: before our trip to the north (Luzon), between our trip to Palawan and before returning back home.

The check- in was very efficient and very kind, at all times when we arrived, at 2 am, 1 pm an 4 pm.

It was great how we could store our excess luggage during our trips, since we have had always luggage limitation (size and/or weight). It was always sent to our room upon our arrival. Our daughter loved the pool and the goodies in the room for her (cookies, DVD and drawing material).

The room size was good, even for 2 adults and our daughter 5 and well equipped.

As a world traveler I can really recommend this hotel.

We didn't use the spa, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent six nights there. It had been a great stay. Room is clean and very well maintained. Bed is comfortable, giving good sleep. Staff are very polite. Wifi is good throughout.

Breakfast is spoilt for choices. Fresh fruit juices, good coffee and wide selection of food and fruits. Mainly high quality and healthy one plus some unhealthy food. The choices are there.

Location is ideal. For those who love to have a run or walk at the park, Ayala Triangle Garden is just a stone throw away. For shoppers, Glorietta and Green Belt are pretty near too.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep till late morning, try avoid low floors and those room facing the main roads I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Receptionist was very gracious to allow us early check-in into our room as we arrived at the hotel around 6am. Most hotel would have charged us for an extra night but we were allowed to settle in free of charge. Truly appreciate above & beyond customer service as such.

Room was compact but comfortable. Appreciated the quality bathroom amenities provided. Although a little farther from the shopping areas, we took the shuttles everyday to the greenbelt area and so was happy with the location.

Breakfast was varied and tasted good. First hotel breakfast with ice cream to boast for breakfast! Staff were courteous and friendly in an unobtrusive way. Would definitely stay at this and other Peninsula Hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.