We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One -Night Lay-over with a pool on the side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Makati
washington dc
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One -Night Lay-over with a pool on the side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a late night arrival (10pm) into Manilla & then were heading out the following afternoon to Iloilo so wanted a nice place to be pampered for a night. The Pen met the test! I found a fairly reasonable discounted room on Agoda - so I think got stuck on a lower level (3rd floor) facing the road. My wife heard some street noise, but I was fine....

Service & room were superb, made use of the gym & pool the following morning - best service I had ever experienced - maybe should stay 5-star more often! Had the bfast included, main buffet in the restaurant looked scrumptious, but had a 30 minute wait, so we opted for the mini-buffet in the grand lobby lounge which was plenty good! Made the coffee to order, which took a little time, but was delicioso.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    323
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
160
234
89
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Been a PEN card member for two years now. Also a member of the gym. Along with four other friends we always renew the pen card membership, book rooms for weekend stay-cations instead of driving out of Makati. Food in Escolta and the lobby is always consistent. Service at the lobby could be better, during busy nights they are not in the game. On call housekeeping staff and room service is excellent! Front office staff and service is better in 2013 (so far) than 2012-2011. Marie Mangalili is excellent!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

even though this hotel has been around for years, the surroundings, the rooms, lobby have been well maintained. the breakfast buffet at the escolta was excelent, the staff were all pleasant and polite, from the food server to the managers. the salon de ning had a good band, the lobby was always entertaining (even saw madam imelda having midnight chow). i just love everything about this classy place. i know we will be back here next year cause i missed the halo-halo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Manila Pen has the reputation of a 5 star hotel located in the heart of Makati. Shout out to Cheska Bernache who definitely made sure that our stay at Manila Pen was a lovely experience. We had trouble with the shuttle service from the mall and Cheska made sure that our concern was heard by upper management and was definitely taken care off.

The team of Manila Pen from concierge to front desk was outstanding. Everyone was very hospitable. To tally the pros of Manila Pen:

Complimentary shuttle service to surrounding shopping areas.
Great variety of breakfast/ brunch buffet even served with customized juice recipes to your liking.
Clean Rooms, Beautiful grand lobby and fitness center w/ outdoor pool and gym.
Airport car service for $50

Manila Pen is worth it for its competitive pricing. The ambiance and excellent clientele care will make up for it. Can't wait for my next stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is a great hotel with Peninsula standard in Makati areas. We stayed for the conference which was conducted in the hotel last week.

We booked two rooms, for me and my colleague, and we got a good rate. Half price for the second room.

The flight Jakarta~Manila was a pretty bad mid night flight even though with business class, but the swift airport picked up by Peninsula was remedied the pain.

We arrived at 6 am, surprisingly, we got early checked in for our rooms. We really appreciate for the early check in.

We took the breakfast, it was a full of choice breakfast. The lobby was busy, seem it is the one of place to have a meeting in Makati areas where by, most of guess having meeting in the lobby cafe, or take a high tea there. It was superb experience, with beautiful ambient and live music in the lobby.

Room was ok, not as daunted as reported by several guess. Not new, but decent, with good amenities. I tried the gym, it was full but it was a perfect gym, but not as big as Grand/Park Hyatt standard. I wish I had more time to use it.

The hotel was close by to several malls. It was 10 minute walk to Glorietta Mall and Greenbelt malls. And also close to Philippine Stock Exchange Bld at Ayala Avenue. There was a shuttle to this mall, but walking not too bad.

Overall experience was perfect.

Room Tip: The higher room the better Makati's view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Definitely one of the best hotels in metro manila. Stayed here back in December with my family. It has a very good location. Just few minutes away from all the big malls and restaurants in Makati. The staff are very accommodating and always glad to help you. The lobby is fabulous. The rooms were good size. However the food at The Lobby restaurant was not good at all. It is 5 star hotel price but the taste was horrible. We didn't even finished it,
The buffet breakfast at Escolta (one of the hotel's restaurant) was very good. They had big selection but the the place was small that guests were lined waiting for some guest to finish eating.
Overall my family and i had a wonderful stay. A truly 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Top quality hotel. stayed here on business, facilities were great, location good for easy access to the business districts. Staff very professional and rooms extremely comfortable and well appointed. Food on offer was excellent, buffet breakfast had plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.