We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business/leisure travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business/leisure travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is at an excellent location, located in the heart of the business district in Makati. The building is relatively older but is well maintained and beautifully decorated. The lobby is huge and is well set up. Check-in was quick and the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are very spacious and have all the amenities you would want. The bathroom/toilet is very spacious as well, is well lit and looks good. The rooms are quiet and comfortable although the lobby is mostly crowded and has a lot of visitors who prefer sitting in the coffee shop in the evenings. There is generally a live band playing instrumental music during the evenings and it feels more like a shopping mall than a hotel - nothing to complain about unless you want a quiet evening in the lobby sipping a coffee.

Food is extremely good with the hotel boasting of some good restaurants and a lovely bar. Room service was good as well.

Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    323
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
160
234
89
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed on a New Year Eve. We well understood guests should socially tolerate the noise of the party throughout the midnight. However, this event has been repeatedly held by this hotel, therefore, the hotel should have fully prepared for the event not to harm regular operation. The Peninsula seemed understaffed and mismanaged the services, which resulted in the deterioration of the regular operation, its reputation and our holiday. Here are are couple of examples:

Checked in around 15:00 with a reservation made in a couple of months ago. A room was not ready. I asked the reason. The answer was " Today is busy and understaffed"; unacceptable execuse.

Returned the hotel from Greenbelt assuming the room was ready. It was ready, but the card key did not work. I asked some passing staffs for help. They said " Somebody will come up shortly." But nobody came with a correct key for half an hour.

Entered into the room. Found out our luggaages were not brought in. We had to grab the phone again to bring the luggages. The response was again sluggish. It took more than 4 hours to finally be settled in after check-in.

Were not able sleep well due to the noise of the party. Took a breakfast at 07:00. Lobby and one restaurant were available for a package breakfast. There was a queue in front of the resutaurant, but there were many vacant tables available in the lobby. Asked a staff any difference between them. The answer was " The buffet at the restaurant is better". We queued in front of the restaurant till being guided to the second resturant where only tables were available. That means we took the food out of the first resturant to the table in the second restaurant. Why not letting us take the seat in the lobby and bring the food out of the first restaurant?

Again a long queue in check out desk where only 4-5 staff processed the settlement. Being guided to another check out desk temporarily set up in a ball room. Only one staff, apperantly not familiar with processing check-out, clumsily setteled my bill which was wrong!. Until redoing the settlement correctly, another long queue was formed in the ball room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephArias, The Peninsula Manila at The Peninsula Manila, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Freakish Friday,

We apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your recent stay. There are no excuses for service lapses and we are definitely addressing these issues. Thank you for bringing them to our attention and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. If there is anything that we can do for you at this point, please do get in touch with me through my e-mail: josepharias@peninsula.com.

Yours sincerely,
Joseph Arias
E-Commerce Manager
The Peninsula Manila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabuyao, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staying in Peninsula gives me peace of mind. It's my sanctuary, the place is great in ambience, the housekeeping people are courteous, . The front desk people are very accommodating, the food in Escoltaare great , mostly their ice cream are yummy with full of nuts , service also are good . For me Peninsula is a place to chill, relax and hang out .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Peninsula Manila for a week and by far it's the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Everything about it, the room, service, lobby, food, amenities were faultless. The car service picked up up from the airport, gave us bottled water to cool down before heading off to Makati. We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by the polite doorman who ushered us to the reception. The lobby at the Pen is majestic and obviously it was the place to be with politicians, celebrities were there having meetings and 'merienda' (afternoon tea). The room, bathroom were very good and bed was very comfortable. There was a security guard for each floor who greeted guests. The Escolta restaurant food was varied and included Filipino food. Room service, including laundry service was prompt. The location itself was a few minutes walk to the malls, Greenbelt, Glorietta etc. However, the hotel provided a shuttle bus to the malls for whoever would like to avoid melting in the 30degree + weather, and a small thing like that was definitely appreciated.
The food at the lobby was also lovely, after eating out we usually go back to the hotel with family/friends for dessert or coffee. The ambience is lovely during the night too because of the jazz band. I can't find a single fault with this hotel. It was a grand, charming, luxury hotel and I can't wait to be back in the Philippines to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is a luxury hotel in the heart of Makati. The room size is reasonable, good breakfast, very nice staff. We used the gym which is excellent, we also had dinner one night in the SPICES, great environment and excellent food. Of course it wasn't cheap, but every penny paid worths!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is one of the most top-end hotels in Manila. I highly recommend it, but it depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for luxury and to be pampered throughout your stay, this is the place. If you are a gym rat, or plan on being in and out of the hotel regularly, I would look elsewhere. Here's why: The hotel and its lobby is nice. Very nice. The type of environment you will find is everyone being dressed to impress. People will come to the Peninsula for food or drinks or business outings, even if they are not staying at the hotel. If you go through the lobby dressed casually (or worse), you WILL stand out. Also, in order to get to or from the gym and swimming pool, you must go through the lobby. It is a bit uncomfortable walking through that nice of a lobby after having been in the pool or at the gym.

With that said, it is an extremely nice hotel. The service throughout the hotel is superb. It doesn't matter if you are having tea in the lobby, having drinks by the pool, getting room service, checking in/out, or enjoying the bar. The employees are very friendly and understand English very well. They have several restaurants and they are all very good. Even getting food at the pool bar is outstanding. I also rather enjoy their bar and club. They are both a rather unique environment, worth checking out even if you don't intend on staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed a long weekend ending my 5 week posting to Manila, and could not have chosen better. Because it was a bank holiday, the special weekend rates extend back to Wednesday which was an added bonus.
The standard room I was in was so pleasant that I only left the hotel once during the 4 days stay before jetting out. The onsite restaurants in the lobby and beyond serve brilliant food (although the buffet was to much choice for my particular taste).
The poolside service was faultless and the check out was spot-on. I was catching a morning flight, so I ordered their airport security proof breakfast to take, and the concierge decided on the spot that this then constituted my included buffet breakfast so I wasn't charged.
The bathroom was a chapter onto itself - all amenities, including a phone by the 'throne' which my friend found hilarious.
All in all a place well recommended in Makati, since it has an outdoor pool with a garden unlike Shangri-La and Intercontinental as I understand,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.