We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Manila to your Saves list
The Peninsula Manila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Makati
Mississauga, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impeccable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed only for two nights but those were the best two nights I've spent in Metro Manila. The location was great,close to the malls and our room faced the quiet side of Urdaneta Village. The Fort was near and accessible. The lobby was spectacular; especially loved the music, the atmosphere and the food - try the ice cream bowl!. Service was impeccable. The breakfast buffet was not that varied but sufficient and the quality of food was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    323
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
159
234
89
489
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We have stayed at the Shang for at least 1/2 dozen times, and decided to stay at the Pen a few days ago as the rate was less than 2,000 pesos per night. It's a Peninsula hotel, so how bad can it be, right?

We stayed for 2 nights and had a total of 6 deluxe rooms for our family and friends, and all of us were very happy with this hotel!

I'm assuming that the people complaining about renovation stayed at standard rooms because the deluxe rooms were absolutely gorgeous! Other than the fact that the Pen's gym is smaller than the Shang's and their buffet breakfast is not as extensive, there is absolutely no difference between the two 5-star hotels. Having said that, saving 4,000 pesos for 2 nights was absolutely worth it!!! Next time we're in Manila, we'll be staying at the Pen IF the price is lower than the Shang's. :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Been checking in for years; roughly six times a year for the past eight years.

Location is great, Shang is nearer tbemalls but to noisy and too much traffic; Mandarin is too far removed

Restaurants at the Shang are nicer though; but the services at the Peninsula; the warmth; the cozyness are much better at the Peninsula

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

For sure the Peninsula Manila is not as luxury as the Shanghai or the Tokyo ones but still is the best place to stay.
The location and the service are excellent but the rooms are a little old, they need some refurbishing.
The atmosphere of the lobby area is the same than in the Hong Kong Peninsula and just for that I will come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I have had the good fortune to stay in a good number of five star hotels and resorts. But of them all the Peninsula in Manila (known locally as the Pen) is always near the top of my favorites?

Why? It is not the fanciest hotel in which I have ever stayed. The lobby is elegant, in a old money sort of way, but I have been in more elegant establishments. The rooms? Again, beautiful, though not the most beautiful. I can go down the list.

But as a "total package" hotel? Simply amazing. The *people* are what makes the Pen such a special place, from welcoming you back to knowing your preferences after one order to service with an attention to detail unmatched by very few hotels anywhere. And yes, this is not the first Peninsula or the only Peninsula in which I have been a guest. No attention to detail goes unnoticed. Case in point: we were being served by some trainees who put a coffee cup in the not precise place or tried to serve us in an awkward manner. They were corrected, quietly but firmly. And the second time was perfect.

We can strongly recommend the club floor, which came with our suite. The club suite staff is just amazing and polished beyond belief.

Do you want me to nitpick? Okay. I wish the pool were a little shallower and warmer, with an outdoor jacuzzi, and that the spa and exercise facilities were upgraded a little, perhaps to the level of the Shangri-La across the street. But the people make up for that.

One last little detail may give you an idea of how special this place is. The Club concierge recommended two hotels to us in Baguio. We called one, and finally got through to a reservation person who, after identifying ourselves as guests of the Pen, nevertheless treated us rudely and curtly told us there was no vacancy. We mentioned this to the front desk at checkout, and the clerk told us she would inform management. Lo and behold three hours later the hotel in Baguio called to advise us of a "last minute cancelation." Maybe there really was, but I have a feeling a call was made. Alas, we had already booked another room.

If you want a spotless hotel and want to be served by an attentive staff in luxury, the Pen is your place. And it costs a fraction of its sister hotels, making it one of the best dollar for dollar values anywhere.

Room Tip: watch for packages or balikbayan rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed in Room 1120 with two young children and had access to the Club Level on 4 for light meals and breakfast all-included. Always ask for rooms on this floor, 20% larger than lower floors due to the design of the building -- ours was at least 1200 sf. Expensive ($450/nite plus taxes), but a bargain when you consider eating out in Makati and half the cost and twice the room of the JW in Hong Kong we were at the nite before we checked in.

Room was a corner with a LR /DR twice the size of the Bedroom, extra bath came in handy when you have kids along. View was perfect, on one side was Shangri-La/Glorietta and the other was Greenbelt, Ayala Museum, Stock Exchange and Ayala Triangle Park. Pool and service was top notch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Our overall experience was nice, although the noise from the hallway from the room was quite noisy and you could hear the opening and closing of doors which sometimes made you jump if you were caught off guard; we stayed in a Deluxe Suite which I thought would have avoided such noises.
The breakfast was to kill for and the selection was great and the staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Manila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.